We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non touristy, close to our hotel and Great service”
Review of The Pelican Grill

The Pelican Grill
Ranked #6 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Non touristy, close to our hotel and Great service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After spending 5 days in Negril we chose here for dinner after an afternoon at Dr Cave Beach. The restaurant was hopping with a bar on one side and full of locals. Our server Stanwick was a true professional. I had a delicious vegetarian meal of curried veggies, bamee and rice and peas but plenty of meaty options too. I am not sure i would compare it to a diner or Denny's in America - seemed fancier than that to me but we did go at dinner, definitely not fine dining but it felt that way after being in Negril. The lime squash was a real treat too for the non alcoholic drinkers :) pleasantly surprised after reading the reviews here... Not sure what people are expecting...perhaps they have never been to Jamaica or never wandered off their AI to see what is available to compare it too. Jah bless

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lhr762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    214
    117
    32
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
“an evening at pelican”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

they have a wonderful staff that will great u with a smile seat with a smile and serve u with a smile not to mention their delicious food well prepared
it was my birthday and they made me feel special

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmyboo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just a diner”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fabulous, just a diner in Jamaica. Service was cool. This place was like a Jamaican IHOP or Denny's in the US. I had breakfast here. The food was ok. Nothing to write home about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FDSJR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJBenn, Owner at The Pelican Grill, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
"Nothing to write home about" but apparently it was still worth the effort taken to post this rather unkind review. Presumably the "Diner" reference arose because we have a counter where for the past fifty years our predominantly Jamaican clientele meet and discuss sports, politics and current affairs while enjoying some of the many tantalizing Jamaican specialities that are available on our menu. We would love to know what the food was that was "ok" as this is far below the standard that we and our 65 dedicated staff are constantly striving to attain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Diner?”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really wasn't that impressed with the decor or the food. Felt like I was in a diner back in the states in the 1970's as we slid into a round booth. The food wasn't that great. It wasn't bad, it just wasnt that good. For the money and authentic Jamaican food you can definitely go somewhere else for a better meal. In the Caribbean, it should look, taste and feel Caribbean. This definitely was not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ShazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJBenn, Owner at The Pelican Grill, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I'm so sorry that in contrast to the vast majority of our customers you didn't like our décor or our food and that you apparently felt that a round booth is some sort of throwback to the 1970's The suggestion that our curried goat, saltfish & ackee, oxtail, escoveitched fish etc are not "authentic" would I am sure be strongly disputed by our numerous Jamaican customers. You must remember that for a Jamaican to have a meal in a clean airconditioned restaurant especially in the hotter summer months is something to be desired whereas for a visitor it is quite understandable that eating out in the open might be a preferable alternative although not necessarily as “authentic” as it might appear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food,.Poor Service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food was okay, but it's not value for money. As for the service, the waitress seemed disinterested in attending to the patrons.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJBenn, Owner at The Pelican Grill, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
As we replied to an earlier reviewer there can be absolutely no excuse for the disinterest shown towards you by one of our waitresses and I very much regret that this happened. Unfortunately despite all our efforts to keep our prices down we do have to maintain a level that will enable us to continue in business and I am so sorry that you do not perceive this as "value for money"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pelican Grill also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Pelican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing