We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what you expect.”

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
Ranked #11 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It is what you expect.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It is kind of the only game in town if you want to party on the Hip Strip. Make sure to go after eleven p.m. if you want to see people in the evening. Before that it is a quiet restaurant atmosphere. The water slide and swimming area looked nice, but I was there in the evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank basa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for stopping by and for your review. After hours we transform into a club and you got to visit when it was Club Ville. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and the day and night atmosphere and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    770
    622
    217
    141
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hype”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stopped by for lunch after spending some time at Doctor's cave beach. Food and drinks were okay - nothing out of this world. Prices were very high - we saw $20 for a plate of nachos on the menu. Crazy. The place was somewhat empty too, which was sad. The "hip strip" is apparently not so hip anymore since the closing of the Breezes hotel.

I can see this place being popular with college students drinking it up - but not so much a family place.

Our son loves water slides and our hotel didn't have any, so we told him we'd check our Margaritaville. He went down the slide a handful of times and came back twice with random cuts - one on his heel and another on his elbow. Also, the slide spits you out very quickly, so it's not appropriate for younger kids.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeninden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Concerned Customer,

We are disheartened to read your review and have passed it on to management for our next meeting. We pride ourselves in offering top notch service, atmosphere and exceptional service. Based on your review it is obvious we fell short with providing this for you, please accept our sincerest apologies. We do hope this has not changed your view and that you will revisit again so we can make it right. Thanks again for stopping by
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

It is a fun, loud tourist trap,yes!!! But the food was excellent, a bit pricy, but everything we ate was yummy! The waitstaff was fun, and courteous. We went twice, have been to other Margaritaville's and this was by far the most fun! Beautiful view, there was a cruise ship in port, and fire works when it left the area...lots of fun music, and great drinks!!! Wish Imwas there now!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for stopping by and for this lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit here. We love when our visitors have a grand time and your review shows that we were successful. We do hope you will come again next time you are on the rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had an awesome time there. There are waterslides right on the back wall going into the ocean also they have trampolines in the seawater.
The employees are friendly and the atmosphere is fun fun fun

    • Value
Helpful?
Thank MariaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great place to experience. Food was good, but a bit on the expensive side as was the drinks. Nice having a bar, 2-storey restaurant, gift shop, waterside, excellent view all in one place. Waterslide and view are free during the day - evening has a cover charge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting and for writing this review. It makes us happy that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings, atmosphere, gift shop and water amenities. We are always researching to ensure that we are competitive with other businesses who offer the same service. We do hope you will comeback again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing