We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Danced the night away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
Ranked #11 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Danced the night away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Short cab ride from the resort, but the music was great and we left there tired from dancing. Drinks were good and reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaGirlATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for visiting and for your review. Your comments make it apparent that you visited us at night, when Club Ville (our night time alter ego) takes over. we happy that you got the chance to enjoy the music provided by our DJs as well as our beverage offerings; we shall surely share your words with our team. Thank you again for visiting, and please come again.

Sheldon Falconer
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    752
    607
    215
    140
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This beach was gorgeous. You dont have to get anything while you're there but I recommend the strawberry banana daquiri AMAZING.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view and good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The margaritas were surprisingly good. We liked the strawberry marg's. The view of the ocean is so beautiful. You can get in the water but we didn't. We stopped by for a couple of drinks while shopping on Hip Street. Our service was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catcravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
thank you for visiting and for your review. It was pleasing to read that you were pleasantly surprised by the margaritas during your visit, as we do our best to provide the best food, drinks and service to all who choose to visit us. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope that you will come again and experience more of our offerings.

Sheldon Falconer
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not up to par with the other Margaritavilles.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

This Margaritaville was the BIGGEST and MOST ANNOYING rip off ever. The margaritas are these premixed slushies that cost $9+ each in a 8 or maybe 10 oz cup. The crew told us to order food to go if we wanted food. Having eaten at Margaritaville in the Caribbean, Vegas, and Virginia Beach before I happened to know that the nachos are delicious and come in a GIANT bucket. They cost $17, but are actually worth it. However, if you order them "to go" you get one little take out box worth - for the same price. We should have ordered them regularly and put them into THREE take out boxes ourselves. Whatever you order, order it regularly and put it into the box yourself or you will get ripped off.

Lastly (while I'm ranting), I would feel remiss in not mentioning how obnoxious the staff there are. They are lined up waiting for you to get off the boat. They literally force menus into your hands and try to force drinks too. They don't actually pay attention to who you are, so I got asked by the same servers more than a dozen times if I wanted a drink even though I kept repeatedly saying no. And we weren't even there that long. I tried to ask where the bathroom was and the server looked on the menu she was trying to force on me to see what drink I was talking about. I had to say, "No. The bathroom. Like where you pee." Before she finally accepted I wasn't trying to order something. They are missing their calling as used car salesmen. Actually, I take that back. That's an insult to used car salesmen.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
894 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
“SO-SO”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Located in the center of the "Hip-Strip" this place has two main floors of activity and a roped area in the water for fun day time or night time.

The bar has food from a typical Western bar menu including wings, nachos, and burgers. The upper deck affords great views of the sunsets and the middle floor is more eating and then opens to the dance floor later in the night. The second floor also has a slide to reach the swimming area.

This place has a general party vibe and is good for people who are ready to power down drinks. A stereo typical Spring Break style bar that lends itself to quieter times for the rest of us. Cruise shippers can come and go in droves.

While this is a fun bar there is no Jamaica here just a facsimile of Western party culture. Security seems good and they have all the drivers and hustlers waiting for you outside. There are some inside the club that will be your "friend' and tell you things about Montego you already knew and expect a tip from this information.

The bar has rotating events through the week. Every night is a different theme party. The drinks are expensive compared to local standards. There is a small gift shop in the entrance area.

If you are just starting in Montego Bay then this a good place to start. It might not be the most sophisticated fun but it is still fun.

Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing