We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off”

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
Ranked #10 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip-off”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

While in MB, we thought we were required to visit Margaritaville. After all, we were in paradise! Let's go listen to some Jimmy Buffet, drink some umbrella drinks, and slide down the big water slide. Big mistake. First off, the slide was broken, so that was a no go. Second of all, we ordered 2 appetizers and 4 drinks for our party. After tip, we were down $110. Ouch. Steer clear. With so many great dining/drinking options in MB, spend your money elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilessiuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    827
    657
    229
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Fun Place to Party!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter, and son in law had a blast there! The vibe is fun and contagious! Never a dull moment. You can join in the fun or just sit back and watch. Have been there on two vacations. Hope to party on again some day!

    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank AnimalLover900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Like a party all day long. Right on the beach. Pick-up volleyball game with guests from cruise ship. Great food and drinks.

Helpful?
Thank AnnaK929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Margarita's”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Had great margarita’s here. All different flavours. Paid a bit extra and got to take home a nice souvenir glass. Taco salad was very tasty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillianPMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-rated, In Disrepair, and Unimpressed”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville is a bit "touristy" and overrated. We went to celebrate, dance, and enjoy fresh drinks. We paid $10US to get in. Shortly after arriving the DJ announced as a reminder that ladies get in for free until midnight- a bit disappointed. We went to order drinks. Based off the website it said Sundays were $6 Redbull/Vodkas. I asked the bartender about this special. He stated it was $6 for the vodka, plus the cost of Redbull. No thanks. We decided to sip on margaritas (average) and rum and diets (average).
There's a lot of hype and excitement regarding the water toys and water entertainment. The slide that they advertise, which travels from the second-floor deck down to the ocean was disconnected for repairs, however, it appeared that this sign had been hanging here for some time. All the inflatable water toys were in disrepair. There were several areas for would-be handles to assist in remaining on the inflatable toy, or to assist in getting up, onto the device. ALL of these were broken, therefore, we were unable to enjoy the inflatable toys to the fullest. The inflatable slide had a few handles to help, which was nice, however, there was not any water flowing from the top of the slide. Rubber/plastic slide + hot sun + skin only covered by a bikini = major rubber burn on the bum and legs! Beware!
I feel like we were really duped here at this location. There were local people outside on the streets trying to sell us marijuana and bracelets. It does not seem that this place is located in the safest of areas.
Another word to the wise- pay with cash. Paying with cash, you simply pay the said price. If you pay with a credit card it is a 17.5% sales tax that is paid. We learned that! They accept both US$ and Jamaican. Based off the current exchange rate, May 2013, it'd be cheaper to buy items in Jamaica at Margaritaville.
We were unimpressed.
Only excitement we received was the banana frozen drink- it tasted like dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank MRoberts1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing