We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what you expect but it was in the airport”

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
Ranked #10 of 130 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not quite what you expect but it was in the airport”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

For a location in the airport Terminal it was GREAT! however when comparing it to other Margaritaville's it was lacking for sure. The food was still good and the drinks were still cold but the atmosphere just wasnt there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rschrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We thank you for your feedback, and for taking the time to visit us while making your way through the airport. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our menu offerings, as we do our best to ensure that the burgers are always hot and the drinks cold and delicious no matter which one of our locations you choose to visit. We have noted your feedback regarding the atmosphere, and though we do our best to provide an atmosphere similar to any of our locations that you choose to visit, there are limitations in the form of airport regulations which make it difficult to provide the atmosphere that a regular Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville visitor has come to know and love. We are always looking for ways to improve our locations, and feedback such as yours can assist us in doing that. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope to give you an even better experience the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    785
    630
    221
    143
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Group Vacation”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I experienced Margaritaville in Montego Bay, Jamaica for a second time in Jan, 2013 and I must say I had a ball just like the first time. The only thing I wish I could do is to visit there during the day to check out the water sport activities they provide.
All in all, the service, drinks and music was great. I will be visiting again on my next Jamaica trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherkira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
This is an absolutely wonderful review. We thank you for not only leaving such a positive review, but for choosing to visit us a second time! It sounds like you visited at night when Club Ville was in full swing. When our night time alter ego takes over, we do our best to give you a party experience like no other with the best drinks, service and music to make you dance till your feet hurt. Thank you again for visiting, and we're looking forward tot hat third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“You gotta do the slide”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had read that this place was a great stop on the Moby strip. My sis and I had only about an hour to grab a beer....climb the 10 steps to the top and race down the slide. BOY what a slide...drops quickly and shoots you out about 4 ft above the water....you literally fly out like a cannon and slam into the salt water.....After you stop laughing and spit out the salt water...a short swim gets you to the stairs to climb out and start the slide again. We definately did not allow enough time for this stop....next time we'll plan for a whole day. Music is awesome....locals in costume and on high stilts. Food prices expensive..But we were there for the slide. You gotta plan a stop here...kids will exhaust themselves ....adults out numbered the kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizinroxyroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Like yourself, we wish that you could have stayed longer to experience more of what we have to offer. Though your time was short, we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed spending it with us. Of all our water amenities, our 120 ft. slide is one of our key attractions. Nothing gets the heart pumping like an adrenaline infused ride into the crystal clear Caribbean Sea followed by a cool down on our floating deck or even the trampolines (or keep the heart racing with another ride). In addition to the slide, we provide an atmosphere of fun for the whole family with our unique brand of entertainment. We have noted your comments regarding the pricing, and wish to assure you the highest value perception by employing a model that allows for the most competitive pricing through regular analysis of offerings of similar concepts in our market as well as our competitors. We thank you again for visiting and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The slide was fun”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped here as part of an excursion from our resort. It wasnt all that exciting other than the slide which Im glad we experienced. Drinks and the gift shop were a little pricey but thats what you can expect at any "touristy" place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for visiting, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our renowned water slide into the crystal clear Caribbean Sea. In our daily operations we can see a mix of high and low energy crowds. On the days when a ship is in port we tend to see large numbers of people looking for a high energy experience in the few hours that they are here, while other days are more on the laid back, relaxed side. Form a pricing standpoint, we aim to provide the most competitive pricing on our offerings, and we achieve this through regular analysis of the offerings of not only our competitors, but similar concepts within our market. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We decided to leave Sandel's resort for a half day to shop and eat at Margaritaville in Montego Bay. We expected to hear Jimmy Buffet Music, but there was NO MUSIC at all. At one point they put on a radio station of American Rock which I can hear anywhere in the world. The food was OK but not worth the crazy prices. They try to get you to buy photographs they take of you. We found it to be a very touristy waste of money and time. The food at the resort is much better. I would tolerate mediocre food for some good Buffet music or could they at least played some steel band music or Regae? Not sure if the problem was just that day but I won't go back to find out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barryleewissler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It was disappointing to read your review, and we apologize for your less than spectacular experience when you visited. Based on your comments, it is apparent that we missed out on some key elements of our daily operational standards, specifically the atmosphere and culinary offerings. Your review has been shared with our team for immediate action, and we hope that despite your experience you will choose to visit us again in the future for a much more fulfilling experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing