We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last night treat!”

The Houseboat Grill
Ranked #5 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our last night treat!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our last night in MoBay we were trying to go to Pier 1, but it was closed for a private event. Our driver took us here and we are so thrilled he did! It is so quiet out there, so romantic and pretty. It's the most expensive meal we had on the island, but we had 2 bottles of wine, an appetizer and dessert. Get the molten chocolate cake if they ask you! They actually have to ask in advance to bake it. Unbelievable!! We sat under the MoBay stars and ate seafood with candelight. So perfect.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    104
    24
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo, ny
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“best meal of the trip”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the best meal we had in Jamaica!!
the food was wonderful. We had a large group and the favorites were the snapper and the lobster cake. It was a surprise that the beef stroganoff won rave reviews too! Order the chocolate souffle during dinner for a super tasty finish. Service is liesurely ... but we found that the pace was liesurely everywhere we went in Jamaica. Wine was good and a reasonable price. The only downside -- finding bones in the fish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank familytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Don't be in a hurry - dinner took over 2 1/2 hours !!!!! Excellent food though it seemed to take forever to finish. I would still return !!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic Spot with Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a wonderful time at this restaurant, from the floating trolley ride to the scenic view. This the perfect spot for an intimate evening. The ambiance is very romantic. I went for my birthday in October of 2012, and I'm already looking forward to going back in a few weeks. The food is excellent and the service is good and fast. They even waited for us as we were late for our reservation. I would definitely recommend the Houseboat Grill to all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweett27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton jct
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Mo Bay”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, we don't have a lot of options here, even the Ritz doesn't offer a high end restaurant! Ambience is lovely, food is varied and quite good - I loved the snapper in Thai chile and my dining partner was thrilled which her shrimp, but you might want to stay clear of the mussels - and the value is reasonable. This will become out "go to" restaurant to take guests for dinner when we are tired of eating at our villa.

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Houseboat Grill also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Houseboat Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing