We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Jerk in Kgn !!!!”

Sweetwood Jerk Joint
Ranked #16 of 195 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Jerk in Kgn !!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The food here is great. Second to none. Jerk is as authentic as it gets service is great. Good friendly atmosphere. Will definitely be back !!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jerk spot”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Easy to just grab a bite of jerk pork, chicken sausage etc and sides like corn,festival etc for lunch or whenever.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Its located in a prime spot, difficult to get parking depending on the time u go. The Emancipation Park is right across if u feel like relaxing after your meal. But personally for me each time i go i have a different experience but i guess it might be what u order. I always order Jerk Pork (sometimes succulent and another time it is bland and dry) and Festival (the worse, it is full of so much grease to the point where it cannot be eaten) and now and again i order soup. I prefer Scotchie's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I recently visited Kingston Jamaica with a Feed the Hunger group. We stayed in Kingston for 6 days and traveled out to visit schools in their food distribution program. As we spent each night in Kingston we ate dinner each night in Kingston. Our first 3 days we ate at the hotel. A hotel guest made a suggestion that we try Sweetwood Jerk Joint. He apparently knew of the owner and had eaten there before. It was a short and safe walk from our hotel.

WINNER!

The "restaurant" is sort of hidden in the corner of a small carnival area and Emancipation Park behind an ice cream vendor.

We actually ate there at least once every day for the rest of the trip. One day we ate there twice.
Ok, if you are in Jamaica you are going to eat jerk "something" sooner or later. Sweetwood has chicken, pork, sausage and fish. I tried all but the fish. Their 1/4 chicken is an ample portion, tender and flavorful. Not too hot. The pork was outstanding. Great balance of jerk spices and scotch bonnet heat. The sausage is a good balance of flavor and texture. Not as greasy as you might expect and the flavor is right.
These guys slow cook over open pits covering the meat with tin. The cooking process is right there on site. We were not able to try all the sides as they are not all available other than Friday. The festival is excellent. Potato salad is pretty good as well. I will pass next time on the bread fruit.
Frankie was very helpful to us non regulars and gave us a little tour of the process.
I will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rtrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jerk meat”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I had some lovely jerk pork and festival as well as jerk pork and potato. I enjoyed it and I will return here again for more jerk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwood Jerk Joint also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Sweetwood Jerk Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing