We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hospitality, Poor Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williams Guest Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Williams Guest Houses
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hospitality, Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at William Guest Houses over this past Christmas break. The Apartment was charming, but too overpriced for what it really was. There was the occasional Roach, and rarely proper running water. Each day our group was forced to catch water in little basins provided and get a glorified "soldier bath". For the price being charged, you would be comfortable to stay at a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HypeEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Mr Williams Liguanea apartment for 2 nights (2 & 3 Nov)
Prior to that I had been liaising with Mr Williams for about a year trying my luck to stay at the Kingsgate complex - located right next to the Bob Marley museum (my sole purpose for the Kingston visit)
Staying at the Liguanea apartment was no disappointment. The complex has 24 hour security and a live in housekeeper.
Our apartment was clean, spacious and serviced daily. There's free cable, wifi, aircon in the bedrooms and a swimming pool in the garden area. Each entry/exit point of the apartment has security padlocked doors - adding to the feel of security.
Besides the apartment, Mr Crafton himself is very approachable and offers tour packages. We took a Kingston tour package - covering Port Royal, Jablum coffee factory, Kingston town tour (Emancipation Park), Tuff Gong Studios & Bob Marley Museum (10 mins from Liguanea) amongst other small stop overs. He organized a trusty driver - Mikey, who arrived early and stayed as late as we needed.
Cost was US$250 for the tour package and US$80 a night for the en-suite room. The apartment has two bedrooms and you can choose to share or have the other room locked and utilize one room only, like we did.
Overall we had a really good experience which was made possible by dealing with the right people in town with the local know how - who namely was Mr Crafton Williams.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KayaMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Mr. Williams, was very hospibitable to me provided assistance as I needed during my short stay in Kingston. The Guest House was very clean and the staff were friendly and outgoing people.

I truly appreciated all the kindness he gave to me. I would recommend Mr. Crafton Williams Guest House to anyone visiting Kington for business or pleasure.

Thank you Sir for your kindness.

God bless.

Carl King

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KINGCAYFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Mr. Williams really made me and husband feel at home in his wonderful property that's located on hope road. This place is bashy! (a word that means clean, and up to date) and it was very convenient because it was closed to everything. Thank you so much for making us feel at home.

-Ms. Gayle

  • Liked — I love the fact that it was clean and fresh.
  • Disliked — The housekeeper
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prada0782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

I stayed at one of the properties managed by Crafton Williams in Liguanea Avenue and had a really enjoyable stay. Crafton himself was superb, friendly and helpful but always professional. The location of the property is excellent, not far from the centre of Kingston and close to a good supermarket, bank - and a Juici Patties. The property is spaciuos with an air conditioned en suite bedroom with hot water. The crowning glory is the garden. It is beautifully maintained and has lush tropical vegetation - with a swimming pool in one corner! Crafton employs friendly hard working staff and the property has 24 hour security. I would definitely stay at one of Crafton's places again.

Simon, London

  • Liked — The garden
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Regsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

Mr. Williams was a professional man. I enjoyed my stay at his guest house anytime! He was there to greet me and also offered to have a pick up at the airport. the maid was very nice and kept everything in order. thank you Mr. willaims. Michele

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

I contacted Williams Guest House directly. I found them to very efficient in handling our accomodation requirements . A JUTA driver was arranged for our use with out obligation on our arrival.

The accomodation lived up to expectations. We felt secure , completely at home and our house keeper was very nice .

I will certainly be recommending this guest house to my friends and family.

P Burrell
London, England

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Londoner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.2 mi away
Indies Hotel
Indies Hotel
#17 of 25 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shirley Retreat House
Shirley Retreat House
#18 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williams Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williams Guest Houses

Property: Williams Guest Houses
Address: 52 Hope Road | 52-54 Hope Rd, Kingston, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williams Guest Houses" is centrally located in Kingston, Jamaica, and appeals to travelers who seek privacy, security and a high standard of hotel-type accommodation. With a fully equipped kitchen comprising a refrigerator, microwave oven, stove, chinaware, glassware, cutlery, pots and pans, we are popular among guests who wish to prepare their own meals quickly and at great cost savings. Alternatively, there are Restaurants in easy walking distance which, also, offer take-out service and, in some cases, delivery to your Apartment. Other amenities include air-conditioned bedrooms, private bath with hot-&-cold water, high-speed WiFi Internet service, cable TV, parking and laundry. Check-in and Check-out procedures are very simple and take just a few minutes. E-mail or call us at anytime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Williams Guest Houses Hotel Kingston
Williams Hotel Kingston
Williams Guest Houses Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing