We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOYED EVERY MOMENT (wedding / vacation) December 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Knutsford Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family and I visited Jamaica and we had the pleasure of staying at the Knutsford Court Hotel from the 11th - 18th as my cousins reception was being held at the hotel on the 14th. I must say the hotel was well kept. We were greeted at every door and the food was amazing (room service). The ladies at the front desk Monic,Tasheika, and Shanique were very professional and courteous. I give this hotel high scores !! :)

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in room 1102 Superior Double Non-Smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MzChar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 514 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is basic but the rooms are clean and the staff helpful. Wifi quality is not great but effective for basic tasks e.g. email.

The taxi buses linked to the hotel (Noel) offers an efficient and friendly service for transportation in kingston.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank redsoxIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My mother and I truly enjoyed our stay at The Knutsford Court Hotel in Kingston, Jamaica.

Since we arrived on New Year’s Day, the hotel still was filled with the holiday spirit. The holiday decorations in the lobby were beautiful; and the staircase to the Boardroom and trees on the grounds were draped with white and colored Christmas lights and looked absolutely gorgeous (It definitely was a romantic setting for all of the lovebirds!). I loved taking pictures of the gorgeous scenery!

Our guest room was nice. The color scheme of the room was tropical and rich. The room itself included the prime essentials: a flat-screen TV with cable (There are some popular networks, such as BET, TLC, Lifetime, etc.), internet (I could pick up Wi-Fi in my room, in the lobby, by the poolside and in The Melting Pot, which is the restaurant), ice bucket, telephone, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, personal safe, etc. The bathroom was nice (I liked the shower design). The bed was absolutely comfortable!

Unfortunately, the hotel does not offer much entertainment or recreational activities on-site; but guests can sign up to go on various excursions to popular places, such as Emancipation Park, The Bob Marley Museum, Blue Mountains, Devon House, etc. (The guest must pay for these trips). Also, just minutes away by car, there are local stores and restaurants. There are gift shops; a mixture of Jamaican restaurants, such as Juici Patties, and popular food chain restaurants, such as Pizza Hut (We ate there once last year and the restaurant was gorgeous inside); a supermarket at the end of the road; etc.

Nevertheless, we did have a lot of fun. We enjoyed the beauty of the grounds. For instance, there are many plants and trees that latch onto the walls of the buildings and continue to grow upward; the site is wondrous! We loved the tranquility of lounging by the pool and reading while music played in the background. Most of all, we loved hanging out in The Melting Pot. First of all, the made-to-order food, for which the guest must pay, ALWAYS was delicious! There is a flat-screen TV and bar for entertainment. The décor and artwork throughout the space is very beautiful.

Last, but definitely not least, the entire Knutsford Court staff are AMAZING! They are friendly, fun, courteous and cool. We truly appreciated the hard work and kindness of the chefs and dining team, the housekeeping and maintenance team, and the hospitality and management team. We have to give a special thank you to Cornelia, Cornell, Daniel and Natanel, for having made our stay so pleasurable!

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Knutsford Court Hotel and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keyaluvsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is in a more populated area than the other uptown Kingston hotels and the staff are warm and friendly, the rooms are large and of high quality too. The breakfasts are varied and tasty. The staff will do all they can to help you and ensure you have a good time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I've stayed at the Knutsford on two occasions, visiting Kingston on business. The hotel rooms are large, very clean and comfortable. The wi-fi works reasonably well but not in all rooms. The room rate includes an average (if monotonous) buffet breakfast and access to a reasonably equipped gym and sparkling clean pool. The hotel is within walking distance of a small superette, pharmacy and Emancipation Park/Kingston 5 although I only felt comfortable walking around on main streets and during daylight hours. Drawbacks are that the rooms (other than the suites) do not have coffee/tea although they do have a small refrigerator. During my second visit (room on the 2nd floor), the shower pressure was very low and the 'hot' water was never more than lukewarm. Service was average (restaurant and housekeeping staff were generally helpful whilst the front desk staff are almost all abrupt and unhelpful), Overall, I'd recommend the Knutsford and as a woman traveler, I felt secure.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with reliable wi-fi, ask for a room upstairs overlooking the garden co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

First let me say I have stayed here several time, everytime I visit its a different experience. First off its more of a business hotel than family, location is in the city, clean, nice pool, food is good, large breakfast, staff is ok...Its pretty secure, but almost every hotel in Ja is secure..This time I stayed in the re-done part of the hotel..nice but needs improvement..wi-fi is sooo slow, water pressure is low. Room prices are higher than average, so look around. Its a good deal if you want to pay higer than average rates, I don't..overall nice place..but needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Pick the ground lever, no elevator..larger rooms..easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frankie_Yamaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I admit to being fearful about heading to Kingston, JA... believed all the terrible crime stories and negative portrayals... but we had business to conduct. Initially, we planned to stay at the more business focused hotel - the name of which escapes me, now - but am thrilled our travel agent encouraged the Knutsford, instead. After visiting the other hotel, there was no comparison. Yes it was brand new with impressive gadgets and savvy decor, but, after spending time at the Knutsford, this modern, high end hotel felt lacking. The Knutsford was warm, friendly and incredibly accommodating. The management will do whatever it takes to make you happy. Not because it's their job, but they really seemed to CARE that we were satisfied. Saran (forgive me if misspelt), Front desk Mgr. was AMAZING, talk to her for all your needs. The Restaurant Mgr was also great; food was to DIE for and the bartenders/ wait staff were charming and friendly... we believe North America, by their (most places in the world) standards, is wealthy. We are not Bill Gates but can afford the 30 extra dollars or so to tip the staff over a week, in appreciation... yes, it's their job but we all know there are those who do their jobs well and those who just collect their pay cheques. Good work should be rewarded - bad work reported! At the Knutsford we found only good: Beautiful gardens! Lovely Courtyard (will model our custom home on it); clean rooms - though a tad older; very quiet and cozy... didn't even mind the stairs up to our room - it was a great workout. ALL the sites are a must do: E. Park; Tree Hill shopping - GOLD!; Devon House ice cream; Heros Park - walk around the corner for Jerk chicken, rice 'n peas, etc. DELISH! Mr. Tim?? drove us around to local haunts - best 40 bucks spent.. Our last day en route to the airport, he also took us for fish soup on the nearby fisherman's island - oldest community in JA! All in all, it was obvious, we were tourists which garnered a few stares, but folks were too busy with their lives to care much about us.

We LOVED this spot and HIGHLY recommend it... it took us a year to write this but STILL feel great from the trip and HAD TO WRITE THIS REVIEW from December 2012!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank difftoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#9 of 25 in Kingston
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $158 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing