We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've been staying at the Mayfair for a few weeks on a project in New Kingston. My experience is generally good - I really like the hotel and plan to keep coming back.

Rooms: the rooms I've stayed in are fairly basic and some need renovation, but are kept very clean, the air conditioners work well (and are quiet), the beds are firm but comfortable, and the bedding and towels are good quality. The hotel is a sprawling complex of several low-rise buildings - some rooms have WiFi accessible from the rooms, others you may not get it indoors but can from the veranda. If you pay a little more, you can get a studio room with a fridge and stove, or a suite.

Food: This is really where the Mayfair stands out. The Pub is a restaurant in the complex that is very popular with Jamaican business people - nice ambience, and music that is low enough you can still enjoy a good conversation. Some of my business colleagues in Kingston aren't even familiar with the name "Mayfair Hotel" but know exactly where The Pub is. Their house specialty is their club sandwich, which is excellent, and the service at The Pub is outstandingly good. There is an upscale Japanese restaurant on the premises as well called Cocoro, which is not as busy as The Pub and the hours are more limited. Both The Pub and Cocoro mostly serve customers who are not staying in the hotel.

Other reviewers commented about noise - yes, The Pub is open every day until past midnight and if your room is facing the pool (which The Pub is adjacent to) you will hear music and the sound of people talking. If you are a light sleeper, it may be a good idea to request a room away from the pool, which are very quiet. And, as other reviewers noted, if you come back to the hotel at 8 PM on a busy night, you may find difficulty getting parking. On nights like this, Security generally reserves a section of parking beside the main building, and if you are a hotel guest and can't find parking, you can let Security know and they'll let you park there.

Traffic: The traffic going from the Mayfair into New Kingston can be painful during rush hour, especially along Waterloo Road, even though the distance isn't that far.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter. Studios and suites are available for a bit more money, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn-YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently returned from a 10 day stay with my Uncle and Dad, staying in a 2 bedroomed apartment, and for the price paid and what we needed it for, it was ideal.

The rooms, whilst not modern, were clean and basic. Limited wifi coverage, but that could be found in communal areas. Safe in room which was free of charge. Air con in both bedrooms which was relitivly quiet, fan in the living area. Small porch area with seating. Kitchen was basic, but allowed us to keep food costs down for breakfasts and lunches, instead of having to eat out. Maid service was quick and efficient, but came during the afternoon.

The 'complex' shares its bar with the public, and whilst it is a good sign that it's so popular in the evening, this does increase noise level and traffic - on many occassions our driveway was used by everyone else but us. Other public areas included the pool, which was small on first impressions, but after seeing the amount of people using it, was the perfect size. Again, open to the public so weekends were slightly busier.

Over all, if you are looking for a safe place for you and your family to stay, with freedom to do your own thing within the apartment and communal areas, The Mayfair is a good place to start. However, if you are looking for something very commercialised and 'American', you should look elsewhere. This was why we enjoyed it, but it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbowfish89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

i loved staying here, it was so beautiful and peaceful on the grounds with a nice pool and great staff! the sushi restaurant was amazing and the pub during the weekends was very entertaining! i will definetly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

this hotel is a unique hide away in kingston pretty close to the cnadian embassy the rooms are average with air condition the bathroom is small and need bath room mats the restaurant is very nice but expensive they have a bar or club so on a week end expect a lot of driving in and out and loud noice from patrons and music the rooms clean but need furniture up grade the staff is really nice especially the front desk staff always pleasant and accomodating but u can stay there its cozy and relaxing hide away try out if u heading to jamaica

Room Tip: on week ends expect alot of traffic in out and u might not find a parking and loud noice but can giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank primrose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You know some of these people who claimed they are writing reviews are so unfair, some of them might not even know where these hotel’s are located they have never gone there. Thus making their review a lie. Some of these persons are really unfair with their comments. I have been to many hotels before and if you go to a hotel that you are paying USD$70 (JA5900.00) per night what kind a top of the line service do you expect to get. It might look like plenty but it’s not. The review by Evonnee on September 12is not true there are very nice rooms at the hotel so of us want exquisite service and only want to pay popcorn rate that in my mind is unfair. Many guest visited hotels and steal hotel property nasty up their place and some even expect to get five star treatment for no star rate. Since her/his experience was so disasterous and distasteful don’t put your backside there again. Every hotel has fault no matter how new or the impeccable service they offered some guest will find fault especially when they want cheapness.
My experience at the Mayfair was very wonderful, the staff were excellent friendly and my room was clean and nice, I did not expect to get what I did not pay for, I know ecaxtly what I wanted and I even think I got more than I bargained for. This hotel in my mind has room to fit everyone’s pocket.
I am definitely planning to be back at Christmas. Love the pub, clean and nice air conditioned bar, and the Japanese restaurant thumbs up to them I think they are the best in the business. I had breakfast at the Jamaican restaurant and the ackee and salted fish was excellent. Keep it up guys.

See you in December.

Room Tip: The rooms over the bar overlooking the pool are very nice and private . good view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lookoutforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is dirty and sleezy operation that needs to be shut down. I booked a 2 bedroom and could not stay at the hotel on August 29, 2012. The furniture and beds were dirty. The bed linen was not typical hotel linen but looked like the kind used in a bad boarding house. The rooms were musty. The physical appearance of the surroundings leave a lot to be desired. Property was in a very deplorable and unkempt state. I had to find another hotel and the manager even said that he understood if I did not stay. No way could I stay in such a dump even if it was for free.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank evonnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Mayfair for one night in April 2012 as we were visiting friends in Kingston during a 2 week family holiday based on the North Coast. This hotel was chosen as it was one of the few that we could find that could accommodate a family of 6 for a reasonable price - about US$135/night.

Making contact via the internet was impossible as none of the 3 websites that we found had a working email address. In the end we phoned from the UK to make a reservation and struggled to make ourselves understood - we spoke to a very pleasant sounding Cuban lady who did not seem to know much about the rooms that were available. Our local friend also tried to find out more but gave up - in the end we called a further time and made the reservation but had little confidence that this would work..

As ex-residents of Kingston we were familar with the location and realistic in our expectations for the price. However, even taking the low price into account the location of the rooms (around the back by the service area) was not good plus the condition of the rooms was poor, walls were dirty and the furniture was below an acceptable standard. The four single beds were OK but the sofa bed was ancient and falling apart - very uncomfortable. The ceiling fan in the living room was noisy, almost falling off, and could not be used. One of the AC units in the bedrooms only blew hot air which was a real problem considering the poor ventilation in the rooms.

When we checked in at 16:00hrs we pointed out these problems to the helpful lady at the front desk - she said they had no other rooms that could accommodate our party but she would get the maintenance man to have a look at the room. As we were due to meet our friends shortly we had little choice but to trust that the worst of the issues would be corrected by our return later that night.

We returned at 23:00hrs to discover that nothing had changed for the better - in fact, by the time the kids were all in bed the toilet was now blocked and out of action. So at midnight we complained again to the front desk. A security guard showed up shortly afterwards with a plunger - the expectation being that we would sort the plumbing out ourselves! Back to the front desk, this time to get the duty manager out of bed! He was very apologetic and embarassed by the condition of the hotel - relatively new in his post he was obviously struggling to get on top of the situation and had not been able to pursuade the owners to make the significant investment required to get the rooms up to an acceptable standard.

The toilet could not be unblocked - we looked at an alternative room with only five beds and decided that this would not work. So the manager offered us the use of a toilet in a room 2 doors down as a compromise - with the promise that we we would get a substantial discount.

The kids slept OK but we spent a very uncomfortable night on the sofa bed. After a below average breakfast with indifferent service - we checked out. The manager was as good as his word and gave us a 50% discount.

Would we use this hotel again? No. Everyone we spoke to was very friendly and helpful but we would not return until they sort out the basics - i.e. tidy the place up, give the rooms a coat of paint, buy some new furniture, fix the AC and upgrade the plumbing.

Low cost does not have to mean poor quality - perhaps some of the other rooms are better but based on our experience I would avoid and pay a bit more for a better night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the family rooms around the back - these are over the service area which is quite run down and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
890 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Olympia Crown Hotel
Olympia Crown Hotel
#19 of 25 in Kingston
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shirley Retreat House
Shirley Retreat House
#22 of 25 in Kingston
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Indies Hotel
Indies Hotel
#13 of 25 in Kingston
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 4 West Kings House Close Kgn 10, Kingston, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $50 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair Hotel is located in the heart of Kingston, minutes away from local attractions such as the Bob Marley Museum and Devon House, With beautiful scenery and comfortable accommodations the Mayfair strikes an eloquent balance between Old and New Kingston. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Kingston
Mayfair Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing