We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terra Nova vs Spanish Court”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terra Nova vs Spanish Court”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I travel to Kingston frequently and stay at one of these two hotels. In my opinion the rooms at Spanish Court are nicer, newer, more up to date, etc. But the food at Terra Nova is much better. Even something as simple as coffee - the coffee there is wonderful, the buffet on Wednesday nights, the afternoon tea, any item from the menu... spectacular. They have beet salad that is truly yummy. The rooms at Terra Nova, although they are outdated, are well sized, clean and nice. They could do a few things to improve the rooms. 1. In room safe; 2. ditch the old bedspreads and go modern with the white linens. The staff is friendly and accomodating too. Hard to say whether one is better than the other since they both have some excellent qualities and some drawbacks. You have to decide whether the food or the room is more important...

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor can get noisy and currently there is a jack hammer that starts up ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notgoneforlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    72
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
47
57
16
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a great stay and this beautiful hotel. Have never seen my wife so happy. The staff was excellent the rooms were great and the Sunday brunch was the best meal on earth. We stayed at the Ritz Carlton later that week in Mobay and the food was not nearly as good. The desserts are the best on earth. The furniture is old and beautiful. The staff is very friendly but not annoying.

Room Tip: For a cheap meal at night late check out the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergie_the_cat_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Terra Nova - it's a lovely old colonial building and they are really proud of their heritage. The room was lovely and the breakfasts and pool were great. Staff were also excellent a v friendly in typical jamaican fashion.
A couple of little niggles - wifi was a bit dubious in some of the rooms - in mine it would only work if i sat next to the door leading to the corridor which wasn't comfy! there were also a lot of mosquitos next to the bar and where breakfast is (it's all open to the outside), so make sure you pile on the mozzie repellant!

We also had dinner one night and it was amazing - definitely try to have dinner here if you stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed many times at Terra Nova and this last stay represented my goodbye from Jamaica. Could not be better, since I could enjoy the very Jamaican breakfast, with the best Ackee and Saltfish of the island. The food in the hotel is very good quality, specially dinner (sometimes the food takes lot of time to come).

The rooms have an old style, but I like them. They are comfortable. As a hint, make sure to get a room where the AC does not go straight to your head, because this can be annoying.

The gym of the hotel is not good at all, but the pool is beautiful, specially at night.

Overall, I like service and the appearance of the hotel. It is very authentic and Jamaican, what makes this place different and better than the other hotels in Kingston, which lacks personality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodSalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have been at the Terra Nova, I really like the old and classic nature of the hotel. The service has been very good and I like the place. As others have said the rooms are old and worn in appearance. However, they are clean and larger than the usual fare of hotels. The real issues I have are; first the gym is ridiculous. Equipment is antiquated and very poor. The staff turns off the air conditioner and locks the gym when no one is there, when you do show up it takes a long while to cool the room to a usable level. All of the equipment needs to be updated (replaced with new and more modern equipment). The second issue is with the breakfast. It is a buffet with eggs cooked to order, that is fine, however the only "bread" available is white or wheat and a few bagels. It would be nice if there were some English Muffins, especially given the connection to the English. Also, almost all of the food is local and that works especially for locals, but for the rest it would also be nice if they had a wider variety of breads, some cereal both hot and cold, and a better supply of fruit. On a positive note, the dinners served at the restaurant are outstanding, although very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. As others have said, the standard rooms are slightly disappointing, though I feel that with just some slight improvements they could come up to snuff quite easily. They need better TV cabinets, brighter bulbs in the lamps, a hotel guide to services and to provide a hair dryer and small bottles of shampoo, conditioner etc., rather than bulk dispensers in the shower. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. I would also have been happier if the rooms were made up earlier in the day. Mine was usually done between 3 and 4 PM. However, for Kingston, I find the overall experience to be great for this price. The included breakfast is superb, the hotel grounds, dining rooms, pool and lobby areas are quiet and refined, the food is high quality and the service is excellent. I rented a car and felt perfectly secure parking in the hotel lot, which is free. Devon house is just down the road and it is easy to get everywhere from the Terra Nova. The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. I will always stay here rather than the chain hotels in New Kingston. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if you don't mind the stairs. I could hear heavy-footed guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonanzaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to this hotels restaurant and it will not be the last!! Its fabulous!! The food is cooked to perfection and the service it first class!! But best of all the prices are very reasonable!
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.9 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.8 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Nova All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova All Suite Hotel

Property: Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Address: 17 Waterloo Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Nova All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terra Nova All Suite Hotel rests proudly in the heart of New Kingston, Jamaica, welcoming guests with its lush gardens, impeccable service and understated elegance for over 45 years.A symbol of white glove service and the pride of New Kingston, the hotel remains the only boutique hotel in Kingston catering specifically to the discerning business traveler. Since 1959, whether traveling to Kingston on business or pleasure the Terra Nova combines tradition with elegance and style to accommodate the needs of all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Terra Nova All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Nova Kingston
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing