We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indies Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is a good place to sit, relax and save some money. It is less expensive than many other hotels and locatin is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandqueen4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
12
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Indies is the ideal place to stay only if you cant afford an expensive hotel for the weekend or if you live out of town want somewhere to stay for the night. To me its just an average hotel, more like a guest house.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EatExploreLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

I have stayed here several times in years past and thought the rooms were nice and I thought it was a good value.. This time, they charged me $85 U.S. for a bad room. . It may be one of the worst rooms ever. Two small uncomfortable twin beds. Broken chair. Unsafe locks. I had made reservations in advance but the staff said that I got the bad room because we did not get there until 10 oclock at night.
The Ackee breakfast was great in the hotel restaurant. The staff who worked in the restaurant were really nice. Other travelers in the hotel were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Stayed in their single room first ($45), way too small! Moved to a bigger room which cost $67 a night, a lot bigger and clean enough but the price was way too high for what they offered. After two nights I saw rats around their restaurant (where they serve disgusting food) which then moved near my room. I checked out the next morning.
Staff is not friendly, apart from one lady who was sometimes at the check-in desk. It's like they have no idea what customer service is. Very early in the morning you wake up to the sound of screaming staff...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dutchy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel and was quoted a room rate of $50 USD for a room with AC and TV online and over the phone when I checked in I was told the two rooms with AC and TV both the AC were broken so I took a room with AC, TV and phone for $70 USD. Needless to say the room was horrible and quite small the double beds that were both HARD and the bathroom was disgusting. The tv in the room only showed a few channels and they stated that they offered cable but unbeknownst to me I needed a cable box for that, which was not in the room. The housekeeper did not clean my room she just remade the bed and supplied more towels. Three great things were the food in the resturant, VERY DELICIOUS, the excellent location with-in walking distance to the Sports Bar across the street, banking institutions and local eateries and I also could get internet service. One young lady at the bar was VERY FRIENDLY and HELPFUL but another young lady was RUDE and ARGUMENTATIVE when taking our order. The outside garden was nice with a koy pond.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jigas_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

Most of the negative comments are pretty much true about Indies Hotel. The best things about the hotel is the location in New Kingston. There is no HOT water and the staff at the reception can be somewhat rude. The kitchen staff are nice and food not bad. I paid $75 a night and found this way too much for such a poor qulity hotel. I will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyagerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

This hotel needs some major improvements. I stayed for 10 days and had a plesant experience with the staff who where all (except one) very nice and made me feel welcome but unfortuatly that's where it ends. The room was not much to look at and the bed was so uncomfortable my partner and I woke up with back ache everynight. It was so noisey in the mornings from the bar opening and the loud TV blarring. Whilst I was there they where doing some much needed redevelopment and the workers insisted on being as loud as possible every morning at 7:00am.

It's cheap and cheerfull but I won't be staying there again.

There is not much to do in the area but this is not a place to go to if you are looking for excitment I spent most of my days going out, but I do recommend going to Emancipation park if you just want to sit and chill.

  • Liked — Cable TV
  • Disliked — To Loud
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a shor stay
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.5 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indies Hotel

Property: Indies Hotel
Address: 5 Holborn Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Indies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indies Hotel Kingston
Indies Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing