We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you'll like it, yes really!”
Review of Liguanea Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liguanea Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you'll like it, yes really!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

courteous, considerate and helpful staff members,
up to standard cuisine with choices
very convenient location for city tour
good services through out

there's only one thing that bothers me, and that is the flies passing by restlessly around tables at meal times which is very unpleasant, try using natural bug repellent-ting plants as table decor and see if it works, i know there is one for mosquitoes and have used it before, so there should be one for the flies too. please do something about it because i plan to use this hotel again should my future traveling take me back to Kingston.

and they know how to make a good blue mountain despite the falling quality of this years beans.

let me make myself clear that i am not talking about the jablum machine coffees you get at the airport which they unbelievably asked if you want sweetened condense milk in it! i was shocked my eyes look like they were popping out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJayScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLiguaneaClub, Member Services Coordinator at Liguanea Club, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello KayJayScot. Thank you for the review. Despite being outdoor dining, we have not heard a complaint about flies, but we thank you for advising us of this and will look into it more closely. Be sure to come back soon for the coffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    118
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
40
48
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I traveled with my adult son on a recent trip to Kingston. Both of us shared a pleasant room and made the Liguanea Club our home base for a weekend stay in Kingston this past labor day. This place is not a cookie-cutter hotel. It's quite the opposite. In fact, it's a very unique hotel with a great staff and friendly guests. I wouldn't call it a touristy hotel, but it's a perfect place to stay if you want to explore Kingston and the surrounding area.

On this trip, the hotel provided breakfast as part of the room charge. During breakfast, I enjoyed sitting on on the veranda watching folks playing tennis across the gardens. Again, quite pleasant. If you are looking for a big fancy hotel there are other options nearby. The Liguanea Club is a great place to stay with long history in Kingston. Besides the friendly staff, the colonial building architecture never ceases to amaze me.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the main building. Ask for something on the opposite side of the parking area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLiguaneaClub, Member Services Coordinator at Liguanea Club, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello JimboNorth, we appreciate your feedback. We are very pleased to know that you and your son had a pleasant experience with us and can't wait to have you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Local food available from the much-improved kitchen. Breakfast under the mango tree to the sound of tennis balls being whacked around the many courts of the club. The club has been refurbished, the grounds are well-kept and the rooms are clean. Overall the atmosphere leaves little to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomuseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A very comfortable, quiet and quirky hotel that offers a most relaxing and pleasant stay. It is a sports club - tennis, squash, swimming and fitness close at hand - has a great bar and restaurant and is staffed by exceptionally nice people. Club members are very friendly and if you are looking for a partner for tennis or squash, only too willing to oblige.

The rooms are clean and well equipped, if a little old fashioned - but great air-conditioning, fridge and TV. Excellent internet connection - high speed. Close to Emancipation Park and key government offices in New Kingston. Easy walk to the stores, including a large supermarket for fruit, etc.

I have now stayed at the Liguana Club three times in 2013 - and will certainly stay there again on my next visit to Kingston.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but second floor rooms near the tennis courts are not so well insulated for noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank john2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

You arrive and perhaps recall the scene from Dr. No where Bond drives up to the entrance, his would-be assassin in the back-seat, duly dispatched by the secret agent....it's the same place, but instead of a government setting, it's the venerable Liguanea Club.

Enjoyed my stay here; old school accommodations in Kingston, moderately priced, and with a fine terrace for breakfast. the sort of place area businessmen frequent, the nearby tennis courts produce sweating players getting a little workout at the net. The staff is assured and professional, you are quite near the busy Pegasus Hotel, and the city park bearing the same name as this hotel is the briefest of walks. There is no elevator, so be advised if this would be a problem.

In short, value for your $$, if you are staying in the capital city of Jamaica----I very much enjoyed the flavor and ambiance of The Liguanea Club, and your well-being and safety is a given.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreign-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just completed a three night stay at Liguanea Club and loved every minute of it until our last night - Saturday when we returned to our room from a visit to St Thomas. Tired and sleepy - to the worst music I have ever heard!!!!! The base was so loud, the doors were rattling and the small refrigerator moved by itself from the wall! This went on until 2:00 am!!!!!!!! I have never heard anything like it in my life and yes I am Jamaican! The ironic thing is that I saw a few reviews of the hotel that mentioned the loud music but dismissed it as over sensitive guests. But it was truly awful. Coupled with the fact that we planned to leave early the next morning to travel to Port Antonio - we over slept cause we were sooooo tired!

To add insult to injury, the staff told us this was a Liguanea Club sponsored event! Why weren't we told before checking in about this and given the choice to go elsewhere?

Oh yeah and at the Birthday Party we attended in St Thomas that Saturday before coming back To the boom box that was our room. We told all and sundry about our wonderful discovery - A piece of old world Jamaica - Liguanea Club and encouraged all our friends on their next trip to Jamaica to stay there! now we'll warn them not to stay if it's over a weekend cause we wouldn't want to subject anyone to what we went thru!

I'm disappointed that this is my last memory of our visit we had such a lovely time before Saturday night! The staff is wonderful, the location is perfect, the price was right but I would ask a few questions before checking in again.

Room Tip: Ask about the Saturday night parties!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose89606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Liguanea Club is not a fancy place but its clean, I felt safe and secure and more importantly the staff is PHENOMENAL!!!!! Genuinely helpful, 1 of the few places I have truely felt welcomed in Jamaica. I am a repeat visitor and I will not look to stay any place else. Pool, tennis court, gym and home to the best restaurant in Kingston....On the terrace, formally Normas @ Devon House. Pure orgasmic food preparations come from this kitchen. I'm a foodie and have No complaints! My last visit I was able to see the reggae show from my balcony. Liguanea Club holds a special place in my heart

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#10 of 25 in Kingston
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.2 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
0.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liguanea Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liguanea Club

Property: Liguanea Club
Address: Knutsford Boulevard, New Kingston | Kingston 5, Jamaica, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Liguanea Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liguanea Club is situated in the heart of New Kingston, Jamaica with eight tennis courts, six squash courts, a gym, swimming pool, thirty eight guest rooms, meeting rooms, events facilities, restaurant, bar and well-maintained grounds. Property is in walking distance from major shops, restaurants, businesses, entertainment etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Liguanea Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liguanea Club Hotel Kingston
The Liguanea Hotel
Liguanea Hotel Kingston
Liguanea Club Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing