We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Place”
Review of Liguanea Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Liguanea Club
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I Enjoyed my stay there.During the time i was there for a friend funeral. 9th August 2012 until12th. i will return in July 2013 with my family members. See the very nice staff then. Because i really donot want to leave then.
God Bless You All

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5917angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is no secret that Kingston, Jamaica is not a real tourist destination. While the big Jamaican destination towns like Ocho Rios, Montego Bay and Negril, and others not so exploited as Treasure Beach, Oracabessa and Port Antonio do have a big inventory of hotel rooms, Kingston, the Capital City of Jamaica, does not offer such great variety. Most hotels in Kingston cater to the business segment, and with a limited offer, prices tend to be on the high end of the scale. I had to go for a night to Kingston, and decided to stay at the Liguanea, mainly for its location. I thought it was going to be a complete dump, but instead I encountered a very clean, safe and very well run property. This hotel is located in a real Sports Club, with tennis courts, gym, etc, right in the best part of town: New Kingston, just across the street from the Coutleigh and the Pegasus. Being in such ideal location is a plus, and even the older furniture and fatigue facilities are kept in very good condition. The room was clean, good AC, quiet at night, excellent Internet connection, and great security. It is a proposition that is worth every penny. Highly recommended. I will definitely be back...soon, in my nest business visit to Kingston.

Room Tip: Better rooms in front of the tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PapoSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all, this is not a five star hotel, so don't expect five star amenities. However, the hotel is very clean and comfortable and an excellent value. It is located in the middle of a busy and noisy city , yet it is very peaceful and quiet. The grounds are huge and allow for relaxation not often found in Kingston. The room was very clean and everything worked according to expectations. We were impressed by the staff's attentiveness during the checking in and out process. But what really stood out was the service received in the restaurant which went well beyond by what we have come to experience in Jamaica. The food was of excellent quality and value. We would (and will) certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dutch1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Ligunea Club was a last minute choice for my ten days vacation with my mom but a choice that I was satisfied with. This historical location was great, the location was prime, the staff was friendly and very accomodating & the meals were excellent. This location could be a gold mine for its club members if the right resources were tapped. The club needs extensive renovation but there was no lack of ammenities such as hot water, AC, clean rooms with towels. This was an excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank youngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

LIGUANEA offers a good option tu business trip at Kingston, Jamaica. The Hotel has a excelent location, good price and a friendly atmosphere.
The old style building, the spice jamaican food, the courtesy of the staff give a special colour and a good idea of jamaican style of life. It was a good experience stay at LiguaneaClub during 10 days. During weekend you can ESCAPE to some wonderfull beach close to Kingston and relax with some PINACOLADA AND RUM COCKTAILS, LISTEN NICE MUSIC AND so on .......

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CARLOS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely wooden building; comfortable rooms; relaxed atmosphere. Gym needs maintenance. Service friendly but sometimes slow. Great place if you like tennis. Spacious hotel, clean and friendly, Excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed and enjoyed very much with my family. We had breakfast everyday at the Hotel. We went to emancipation park which was walking difference. Hellshire Beach was less than 30 mins. away and I love that beach and especially the food. We were walking distance to the downtown area and we had dinner at a couple restaurants near by - one day the kids and I spent the day in the pool - they also had squash tournaments which we enjoyed very much - the staff was very friendly - i think the place was run very well and we are looking forward to going back real soon!

Room Tip: there is a place near by to exchange your money which gave me better rates than the banks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liguaneaclub, Director of Sales at Liguanea Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Hi Willie:

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. On your next trip you will be able to rave about dinner also as the restaurant is now poised for new and great things! See you soon.

Sheron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#9 of 25 in Kingston
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Shirley Retreat House
Shirley Retreat House
#22 of 25 in Kingston
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liguanea Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liguanea Club

Address: Knutsford Boulevard, New Kingston | Kingston 5, Jamaica, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $130 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Liguanea Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liguanea Club is situated in the heart of New Kingston, Jamaica with eight tennis courts, six squash courts, a gym, swimming pool, thirty eight guest rooms, meeting rooms, events facilities, restaurant, bar and well-maintained grounds. Property is in walking distance from major shops, restaurants, businesses, entertainment etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Liguanea Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liguanea Club Hotel Kingston
The Liguanea Hotel
Liguanea Hotel Kingston
Liguanea Club Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing