We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
Review of Liguanea Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liguanea Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I always stay at the Liguanea Club for two main reasons, the location and the price. It is easy to get anywhere in Kingston from this location. As I travel from Montego Bay, it is a short cab ride from the Knutsford Bus Terminal. Hopefully they will have more long-term rates, as I will be planning extended stays at this hotel..Very friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfasts on the patio.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montegobayphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    118
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
40
48
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed at Liguanea Club in March 2011 as I was on business. If you are looking for a cheap, clean option this is a good place to stay. The room was simple yet comfortable and spacious, but expect no luxury here. Its a place to sleep and use as a base if you are travelling on business. It has tennis courts for those interested and a pool that looked liked it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The breakfast was adequate and very cheap, but I regretted ordering dinner here. Not only was the service slow, but the food was very poorly cooked, soggy veggetables and fish! Not what you want in the Caribbean. The waitresses whilst very kind, are poorly trained for the job required in a hotel. The common areas look a bit run down and dirty and the place lacks character. It probably had its golden age years ago. Various times I saw how the Head Waiter told off the waitresses in front of the guests. The location is great, just opposite 3 fabulous hotels (Courtleigh, Pegassus, Windham) where you can eat and spend your leisure time in elegance without paying for the room! Beware: there dollar exchange rate offerred at the Liguanea is the worst compared to the one you get in the posh hotels nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pabi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We were in town for just a few days. The Liguanea Club made our stay very comfortable and fun! They kept the bar open late, and made sure we had everything we needed for sleep. Mosquitoes around the area suck, and the club provides the mosquito killer stuff that works great. The grounds were clean, and they had a pool that was open late.

Good times!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_Grund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at the Liguanea Club. A very peaceful and charming location hidden away in new Kingston. Excellent staff - polite, friendly and very efficient. Will definitely return and recommend it highly if you want something a bit different to a characterless modern hotel.
Excellent food as well. Red Snapper Fillet with Lemon Butter and capers was perhaps my best meal in Jamaica!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATM_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liguaneaclub, Sales Manager at Liguanea Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Hi:

Thanks for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you with us and look forward to your next visit. Our F&B Staff appreciate your compliments on the food.

Thanks for choosing The Liguanea Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Liguanea club has a slightly faded but enjoyable old colonial charm. There are plenty of sports facilities and a pool which seems to be open all night which is great for a moon light dip. The room I stayed in was large clean, and had a balcony. Although the weather was hot I didn't need the AC, the fan was fine. It would have been good to have had a kettle and a fridge in the room but this is very much a budget hotel so for the money it was OK. I was very impressed with the staff who were always pleasant and helpful. The restaurant was good too, especially for breakfast. This is a good value hotel with more atmosphere than most modern build hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liguaneaclub, Manager at Liguanea Club, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Hi:

Thank you for submitting your review of our facilities. It was our pleasure having you with us.

Please note that for the standard rooms that are not always equipped with a refrigerator, we do provide one upon request. We appreciate your comments and look forward to you next visit with us.

The Liguanea Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have been to Jamaica 3 times and on this trip, I was fortunate enough to have a friend recommend the Liguanea Club. It was my first time in Kingston. She knew I was looking for an economical place to stay, but she also knew that I wanted a nice room centrally located in New Kingston. The Liguanea fit the bill. This place had a "step back in time" feel to it. Yet, it had all of the modern conveniences. The front desk staff was not only helpful, but they were also genuinely friendly. I never wound up eating at the restaurant. I had a soda a the bar. This place is a racket club. So, many of the bar patrons are club members.

The Liguanea Club was a wonderful place to stay while I explored Kingston. This place is not brand new, but it is worth visiting for it's period architecture and its charming staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This place is a joke and should be shut down. I doubt the authenticity of the other reviews about The Liguanea Club on Tripadvisor. Don't stay here. Head across the street to the Courtleigh Suites, where you can get exceptional service and breakfast included. Where to start with what was wrong with this place. Sheets, furniture, and bedspreads were stained. The pool smelled like a dead animal, was slimy on the bottom, and there were feathers and other unknown items floating on top. It has a view of a grey concrete wall from the neighboring property. No coffee or tea in the rooms or lobby in the morning. You have to purchase it from the restaurant, where they won't have any change for a five dollar bill. Check in- it took the lady half an hour to figure out how to use the credit card machine. Then she couldn't find our receipt. CHeck out- surprise, surprise- the credit card machine wasn't working. It took her another half hour to figure out how to do it over the phone. The food at the restaurant- skip it- the fries were cooked in rancid oil. They use frozen fish that tastes like it has been in there for five years. I almost hurled after the first bite. The wait staff appeared or disappeared and took forever to bring us anything. Our daughter spilled water; it took about fifteen minutes for someone to bring us paper towels to clean it up (no one else was in the restaurant). They never brought us another glass of water. They are not serious about running a hotel and should not be in the business. When I went to complain, they gave me there grievance book, which had a long list of complaints from other visitors. It's a problem if you have to have a grievance book; it's even more of a problem if you never address any of people's complaints. For a few dollars more, you can get much better service and accommodation across the street at the Courtleigh or Pegasus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wallfamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#11 of 25 in Kingston
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.2 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
0.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liguanea Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liguanea Club

Property: Liguanea Club
Address: Knutsford Boulevard, New Kingston | Kingston 5, Jamaica, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Liguanea Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liguanea Club is situated in the heart of New Kingston, Jamaica with eight tennis courts, six squash courts, a gym, swimming pool, thirty eight guest rooms, meeting rooms, events facilities, restaurant, bar and well-maintained grounds. Property is in walking distance from major shops, restaurants, businesses, entertainment etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Liguanea Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liguanea Club Hotel Kingston
The Liguanea Hotel
Liguanea Hotel Kingston
Liguanea Club Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing