We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days for a wedding. The staff were friendly and were happy to direct us to local places where we could eat all close by!!! But what we enjoyed most was the free breakfast buffet each morning. Lots of choice. The room was spacious we had 611 which was more like an apartment than a room. Roomy for 2 adults and 3children.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonWiseOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 543 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

I've stayed for a few weeks now, and am quite pleased. This is not a 5-star hotel by North American standards but probably the best Kingston can offer. Location is walking distance to financial districts and many local restaurants. Area is safe to walk around. The hotel is dated, but the rooms are very clean, and the staff do try very hard. Service is definitely world-class, but the amenities are not. It's pricey for what you get, but compared to the Pegasus next door, Courtleigh is a better value. They are all owned by the company though.

The one time I had issue with plumbing in bathroom, and it was immediately addressed.

Breakfast is decent. The restaurant is ok. Same menu as the Pegasus next door and same prices too.

Recommend for business travel for sure.

Room Tip: If you need to work from a desk, choose a room at corner of building. There's also a lower, se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sweetandsour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

As everyone who ever travelled to Kingston, Jamaica, knows, there's a lack of business hotels. One family will soon operate 60% of all hotel rooms in this city and they're not aligned with any of the international chains. Accordingly, prices are somewhat higher than the quality of the venue would 'normally' justify. A result of limited competition.

The Courtleigh is owned by said family. It's a good hotel actually. Parking is free and included in the room rate, so it perfectly functioning wifi throughout the property. Its pool is a bit small, but truth be told, I rarely noticed people using it, so more often than not I had it for myself (*bonus*). The gym this property offers is small but functional (treadmill/weights). For some reason the air conditioning didn't permit me to cool it down to a level reasonable to gym activities, so I left after a couple of minutes because it got too hot in the room.

We stayed in a room with a King size bed at the street side (there's a main property - a tower and a two level facility at the street side). You'll have to carry your luggage up the stairs as on that side there's no elevator. There are elevators in the main building. The room was very spacious, no street noise was to be heard, there's a flat screen TV with a good cable selection, absolutely delicious coffee supplied for the coffee maker in the room, fridge (no mini bar), efficient room service, the bed was fantastic, the bathroom definitely of superior standard in terms of materials used. The staff who made up the guest rooms every day were among the most meticulous I have experienced over the years (I'm finicky about room cleanliness...). Absolutely wonderful.

The on-site meals. Satisfactory probably is the best way to describe it. The breakfast (included with the room rate) is monotonous, and if you stay longer than 2 nights it could easily get on your nerves to see the same stuff more or less every day (even the yoghurts remain the same - peach/vanilla - five days in a row). It's a mix of savoury, sweet and fruit/cereal. Certainly does the trick, but don't have high expectations, given what you paid for the room. Service in the breakfast room is a bit of a hit-and-miss type thing. Some days you've to run after folks to get water, then cutlery is missing, milk is gone, etc, on other days there's great service. They could probably improve on the breakfast buffet quite a bit, given what they charge.

I did greatly enjoy hanging about at the pool-side bar at night (one of the bar tenders, Kay, truly made a big positive difference to our evenings there). Service was far superior to that experienced during breakfast. The food was reasonably priced and in line with that charged by comparable venues in Kingston. They fix some pretty cool mixed drinks at the bar. Prices for those are also in line with comparable venues in town. Not cheap, but good.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank udo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

i enjoyed my one week staying in Courtleigh , since I visited Kinston for a training course for my work. Very friendly staff, very beautiful view from the balcony , delicious breakfast and very clean. from my room, I could see the sunrise each morning around 6.30 am. very beautiful view.

Room Tip: room on higher floor, on the left side ( from where you can see the sunrise between the hills in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 9BGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good value for the dollar spent. cetrally located friendly staff. good restaurants within walking distance. if you stay in the main building the rooms are spaceous like a little suite. breakfast is good and usually included. rooms are clean and neat.

Room Tip: get one in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matti901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It is beatiful, Very well located, big but cozy rooms, nice staff, decent breakfast. It has good facilities and you feel comfortably rounded by colonial decoration with modern technology. Try to enjoy the Friday grill.

Room Tip: It is better seeing the pool and far from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent a week at the Courtleigh Hotel while participating in a training course in Kingston.
The Courtleigh is a great option for business travelers and seems to cater to that sector.

The location is wonderful, just across the way from Emancipation Park with a decent selection of restaurants and banks/ services close by, just be careful crossing the busy road. (Definitely check out Sweetwood Jerk Joint near the park for a tasty lunch or dinner.) I felt safe walking by myself during the daytime and the early evening in the area around the hotel.

My room was quite posh. It was equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, big desk, large closet, a very nice bed, tv and iphone docking station with speakers. The bathroom was great as well. It was not in the main building, but in another area across the parking lot (over some event rooms?). It was very quiet.

The only (minor) issues I had were the following:
The wifi signal was a hit and miss, but worked okay for email and basic internet browsing for work. The signal in the lobby/ restaurants was better. I could see how this could be very frustrating for someone who really needed internet access.

Toiletries not getting replaced. I´m not sure if this is a hotel policy to reduce waste (a good idea from an environmental standpoint), but I was there for several days, so at one point the little shampoo bottle did run out. I left a note for housekeeping with a small tip and got more of everything, so I guess all I had to do was ask :)

Other hotel facilities were great. The buffet breakfast had good variety (hot eggs, bacon/ sausage, yogurt, cereal, fruit, bread) and was set up to maximize efficiency (for those of us who had to eat and run), the bar was empty when I went but the food was very good (hotel bar prices, of course), and the currency exchange even had decent rates (although there were ATMs very close by).

The staff were all wonderful. Everyone was very kind and helpful: front-desk, wait staff, bellhops (I see Oliver mentioned a lot, he was a very nice guy) and security.

Also important to mention that as a woman traveling solo I felt very safe at the hotel.

Value-wise the rack rates quoted are a bit higher than what I normally look for, but if you get a corporate rate or are traveling with an expense account the comfort and location of the Courtleigh make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SCCR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.4 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
559 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $243 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing