We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reliable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotels in Kingston are generally expensive for what you get and the Courtleigh is not an exception to this. That said, it remains one of my favorite hotels in Kingston - the rooms are fairly well maintained and clean, the food is good, it is in a central location and the service is amongst the best in Kingston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    198
    60
    14
    9
See reviews for
60
39
40
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was a lovely experience from the moment you walk through the door the friendly staff is there ready and waiting to assist,the rooms are luxurious and spacious with and amazing view of the city and the beautiful mountains in back ground,the food is exquisite,the overall experience was wonderful I would recommend anybody to stay At this beautiful hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juviblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It really depends on your expectations - it is as true as it can be in the case of Courtleigh. If you come here with low expectations, the place is ok. With medium expectations - the hotel is mediocre; with high expectations...don't better come. I spent here 9 days (on a business trip, obviously), paid $245 a day for a suite, and encountered smelly room, lack of shampoo and other stuff, grumpy faces, expensive business center, noisy evenings (even on the 9th floor) and a poor breakfast (if you go for a free one, that is). Pool is so small and non-inviting so that I didn't gt even close to it. Of course, there were some light spots as well (smiling face, the smell in the room was was gone in some days, I didn't have to use the business center every day, etc.). But then...it is Kingston after all and I don' think there are much better choises in the neighborhood...

Room Tip: Less noise in ro0ms located on higher floors and facing Wyndham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The good: location is conventient in New Kingston between Wyndham and Pegasus. The suite I had was large and well furnished.Common areas are standard three star stuff.

The bad: bathroom in both the rooms I had (checked out for weekend, then checked back in) smelt bad. In one, foul-smelling gases entered the bedroom at night. One of my colleagues experienced this in his room too, and had to change rooms. Very tired old gym. Mediocre food that tries to be creative and fails miserably. Bathroom amenties such as shower gel not replaced the whole week, even when I asked. Price very high for what it was, probably due to the Wyndham being shut after a fire. I will go back to Wyndham when ti reopens. I would not recommend the Courtleigh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelling_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a great time at this Hotel. It was my first time in Kingston and the whole experience was wonderful. The Bellman, Edward, was very helpful from the second my cab arrived. The front desk staff was kind and efficient. I usually travel to Jamaica twice a month on business and if I'm ever in Kingston again I will only stay at the Courtleigh Hotel. I definitely need to mention the food beiing the absolute best hotel food I've ever had. Thanks to Edward and the chef I'll rate this experience as wonderful and I'll definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed for a week in May and was quite impressed at how nicely appointed the rooms were. The staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant had quite a few good selections at reasonable prices (the snapper rundown was exquisite!). Service in the restaurant was a bit on the slow side and the housekeeping staff replaced towels daily but did not refill the toiletries. Good thing I walked with my own so not a major issue but could be for families. Great location and overall a solid business hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors since there was a lot of music at night from the surrounding p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carib_n_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights due to some meetings in Kingston. It is a decent hotel with good service. Good and clean rooms, nice food and nice swimming pool. It is a bit overpriced for what it offers but I guess this is because of the lack of good hotels in Kingston.

One of the drawbacks was the lack of a concierge service. I was struggling to get some information about attractions and ways to visit them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Property: The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing