We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some serious renovation……..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on business in October and found it to be a hotel in need of some serious renovation and modernisation.

Reception: An average service, staff ok, some better than others. Checked in after about 10 minutes. Public areas of the hotel are tired. It appears that with no current competition in the Kingston area this hotel has not progressed with a programme of refurbishment (neighbouring Wyndam hotel closed by a fire in 2012). The only areas which appear to have been modernised recently are the lobby bar and a coffee shop in the lobby.

Room: Old furniture, grubby with poor air conditioning. The room was in need of a complete re-fit, carpet dirty. Only redeeming feature is a large flat screen TV with plenty of US channels
The was an iron and ironing board, but the iron was about 30 years old and did not have a steam option.

Bathroom: Very poor standard, dirty floor and toilet with unpleasant odour. Door would not close due to amount of coats of paint applied over the years. Towels thin and some thread bare with dirty marks.

Minibar: Nil. Tea and coffee available in room with a kettle

Internet: Free wired connection in the room. Free WIFI also available in the room and public areas of the hotel, but slow and frequently drops the connection.

Restaurants: I used the breakfast buffet, which was average with limited choice and luke warm. Staff appear to not really know what they are doing but you get used to the organised chaos.
Pool bar ok for food and drink. Lobby coffee shop very good with plenty of choices.

Staff: Typical to this region of the world

Transport: Best to pre-book private transport before you arrive as local taxis are generally unmetered and can be problematic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Speedbird_238_Heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 545 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying there. The staff is very friendly and make you feel at home. Rooms are clean with a lovely view of Kingston. the ood was also good and the conference facility was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosmondA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your generous words. Our team is very proud of the 'new' Pegasus.
Please come back and visit us soon.
PH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed over here after we were unexpectedly stuck in Jamaica overnight. The hotel staff were friendly, the room was not luxurious, but it was acceptable. Good breakfast in the morning and we were back on our way to the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilotFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your thoughts.
We are indeed renovating our rooms presently so your comments are shared.
Please visit us again soon.
PH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Simply put, the rooms suck. However I give it 2 stars because there are decent facilities outside of your room.

The bathroom stinks, the tiles cracked, the curtains mouldy and the patio door doesn't close properly. The carpets are filthy, the chairs on the patio are dirty. The Internet is intermittent.

Good side, the hotel has decent restaurants/deli and a nice pool if you enjoy that sort of thing.


Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank F20Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

New ownership is commited to totally renovating the Jamaica Pegasus, and though we are in the midst of doing just that it unfortunately does take some time. It is hoped that all the bedrooms and public areas will be finished by 2015.
We appreciate your comments and are remedying the situation as fast as we can.
Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Always a pleasure to stay at the Pegasus Jamaica. Friendly Staff always remembers me and Management goes above and beyond for their visitors. Lots of local functions and great food keep you on site. No need to go anywhere else. Great for the Business traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Joe V
Delighted to read your commentary and to learn that you were pleased with your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Nation's Capital the next time your travel plans have you Jamaica bound.
PH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My stay at the Pegasus was Fabulous as always. I really enjoyed the holiday decorations and music. The staff remembered me from my last visit back in Aug and it made me feel right at home and part of the family. I highly recommend staying at the Pegasus.

My ultimate favorite food item from the 24/7 Cafe was the Fruit and Creme puff pastry.

Thank you to Peter Hillary and the entire staff for an awesome extended stay experience.

*Sunshine*

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Sunshine
Your kind words are truly appreciated. It is indeed satisfying to learn that our frequent valued guests such as yourself notice the changes we are doing both in terms of infrastructure and service levels.
Your extended family in Kingston looks forward to a return visit.
PH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Pegasus is the largest hotel on Kingston, and caters essentially to business travelers. It has some advantages: a beautiful view, if you happen to be on the upper floors of the 17 story building, fast elevators, expansive grounds and a friendly staff. Apart from that, much of the rest is mediocre: the carpets on my floor were dirty, smelly, the wifi signal inexistent in my room, the electronic door key required 5 replacements before the engineer figured out the problem, the bathroom was small, the furniture in need of an upgrade, and I was given then taken away access to a next door suite not once, but twice! Obviously management is challenged, to say the least. I understand the hotel is going through renovations, you might want to check whether your room is renovated prior to making reservations.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Malagueta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. The team is delighted you found our services to your expectation and look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit to the Nation's Capital.
PH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.5 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.5 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Address: 81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $277 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jamaica Pegasus rises 17 stories in the heart of the business and financial district. It is within walking distance of international offices, embassies and shopping areas. The hotel is located 25 minutes from the Norman Manley International Airport. Our Royal Club floors are specially designed for business executives - complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails in the private lounge, in-room welcome amenity and bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Pegasus Kingston
Hotel Jamaica Pegasus
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing