We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut ice cream - YUMMMM”
Review of Devon House

Devon House
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Devon House Mansion Tour with Ice Cream from Kingston
More Info
$144.00*
and up
Private Tour: Day Trip to Kingston from Ocho Rios
More Info
$168.75*
and up
Bob Marley Museum and Kingston Sightseeing Tour from Ocho Rios
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 19th century home of George Stiebel, the first black millionaire in the Caribbean, Devon House presents a unique and extraordinary opportunity for multiple experiences in a center of excellence in the city of Kingston, Jamaica. It combines heritage, park facilities, restaurants and shopping for the best of what is authentically Jamaican. Here, the arts, education and entertainment co-exist to give Jamaicans and Tourists alike a space that appeals to all senses.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coconut ice cream - YUMMMM”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My only regret is not having this ice cream in Ft. Lauderdale, no trip to jamaica is complete without stopping and Devon House.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Empress S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    279
    92
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice getaway in the city”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is one of my favorite attractions when I visit Kingston. Not just for the ice-cream but for the cozy atmosphere and beautiful surroundings. We usually go with family so my hubby and I have not enjoyed it as a couple as yet but I am sure it's a great spot for couples since every time we go the benches are lined with lovers. The House itself is a beautiful spot to take pictures, I have not yet had a tour of the inside, but would love to sometime. There are lots of shops that you can buy souvenirs and there is also a restaurant which I haven't visited either. All in all it's a nice place to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city, a definite stop at every visit to Kingston.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Centrally located. A wide selection of Tasty flavors. There was a long line but worth the wait. The ambiance outdoors was great- there was outdoor seating to sit and enjoy the ice cream.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank evonnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant venue for a wedding!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We got married here (Devonshire Rooms) in December 2010 and all I can say it that it was a fantastic experience that even now people are still talk about it. Andre and the staff were fantastic and with our brilliant wedding planner Suzi ensured that our day was one of the most special memories ever. They created such an intimate setting you didn't realise that the rest of the activities of Devon House were going on. They even opened up the great house so I could get changed there. Highly recommended and such a change to have a destination wedding in such a historic setting rather than the usual resort hotels in Ochi, Montego Bay,Negril etc

The ice cream was great too - you must go there at least once when you are in Jamaica.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank phatgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place to cuddle”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I enjoyed the environment, the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The park was clean and I would say suited for lovers... This not quite the place for family picnics. It a nice place to stroll and spend quiet time with your lover.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Triniluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devon House also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Devon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing