We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel - Poor restaurant Service-But good Food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spanish Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Poor restaurant Service-But good Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

Very new Modern and relaxing hotel. Great helpful staff except for Restaurant staff who seems quite inexperienced - their service was poor and does not match the rest of this hotel experience.Food is great and well presented when you are finally served. Strange how many items on the menu are unavailable and the servers are not aware of this but return to apologize .Meals are reasonably priced and it is good value for your money. Hotel rate could be lower.A 24 hr. stay cost me USD300.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlareme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    236
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
102
164
55
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

I travel to Kingston several times throughout the year, and have stayed at all the major hotels in the area, and have never had a completely satisfying experience. So, it was a very pleasant surprise to discover this hotel. I have stayed here several times from the time it opened its doors last year and am still amazed at the level and quality of service offered. From the friendly greeting and welcoming drink at the check-in, to the striking decor and modern furnishings in the rooms, the clever placement of the infinity pool, and cosy bar area, the place exudes casual elegance and a quiet calming vibe. An oasis in the chaos of New Kingston. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, especially in the restaurant, and here special mention must be made of the greeter, who is super professional. In short, Kingston has a world-class hotel - at last.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJAMES608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Our stay at the Spanish Court Hotel was beyond exceptional. From the moment we checked in, the courteous front desk staff were quick, friendly and efficient, we were greeted by the hotel's General Manager who was warm and accommodating when we asked questions in regards to the hotel and room service hours and she even gave us a few recommendations from the menu. The rooms were beautifully designed and a great size. Dinner was excellent, kudos to the chef for the pumpkin soup!! We ended up also having a few drinks by the Sky Bar before retiring for the night. Breakfast was great ... we didn't expect to see escoveitched fish on the continental buffet line - what a treat! Spanish Court Hotel is a must for anyone staying in the Kingston area - we have recommended this hotel as the place to be for Carnival 2010. Thanks again to the warm and friendly staff - especially Miss Godfrey.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJSatisfiedGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

This is my Second stay with Spanish Courts and I must say the first time I was "Wowed" this time I was left in amazment. The Cafe is full of professional energy with a taste Relaxation. Great place for after hours business !!!!! Casually Formal in a free flowing atmosphere two thumbs up.... Great work GM and Staff ***** five star

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsrevolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

My spouce and I visited kingston for a week and stayed at the Spanish Court, the resort was what we expected, very nice and comfortable, upon arriving there the room was not ready and we were told to wait in the lobby area , in an hour the bell hop came and assist us to our room, we felt quite at home with our flat screen T.V and a comfy bed, the front staff were so hospitable and kind, the resort overall was the right choice for a city visit, our stay included breakfast every morning, however it is not nice for the staff to always ask a paying guest for their room number every time you sit down to eat, professional hotel?? we also read on the website that this hotel offered free laptops, NOT TRUE!!, we asked as we checked in about the laptops and we were told its US$5.00 an hour, False Advertisement.....OR IS IT BECAUSE WE WERE BLACK AND DIDN'T CARRY AROUND BRIEF CASES! the manager was not so pleasent to encounter, who was very rude to my guest who was asked to stay at the gate because he didn't know my room number, which was okay but however as i approched her the first thing out of her mouth was, whats your room number, i mean, whats the problem with remembering peoples room numbers, come on the resort is not that big, after speaking to an agent she then called to apologise and asked if i needed anything to let them know, as a professional in hospitality don't ask the guest if they need, GIVE...
THUMBS DOWN SPANISH COURT, its not nice to profile balck people because of how they look. Nice environment, but still faulty staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cronrows77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

After years of staying at a nearby hotel of similar size on my business trips to Kingston, I thought I'd give the Spanish Court a try.......sorry old faithful....I've been converted

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattieGlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

We only stayed in Kingston one night enroute to Negril but were delighted with the Spanish Court.

It was pricey enough at around $100 but the rooms and hotel in general in fantastic condition. The room has all the ammenities we'd want and a very big, comfortable bed.

The restauant was excellent with great Sushi too.

We took a walk to the nearby emapncipation park which was nice and the hotel helped arrange transport to Devon house and the Bob Marley museum which were close by.

The small pool is a bit odd (it is above ground) but overall I'd recommend this in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
104.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing