We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beauty in the true European Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A beauty in the true European Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This property thoroughly reminds me of a very contemporary property that I recently stayed at in Barcelona. I loved everything about it. The colors of the room are very bold. Lots of RED. Red works for me because it is my favorite color. Recently at the property on a Travel Agent Familiarization trip and tour. It is absolutely lovely and very contemporary. I believe that the property is just a few years old. They have a small poolside bar that sits next to the amazing "above ground" infinity pool. It is made of very small blue tiles and is stunning to the eye. This property is great for business and leisure travelers. Again.....Loved it!

Room Tip: We did not dine or stay....we were merely touring their facilities. If I were to go to Kingston on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    244
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
105
166
58
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Spanish Court is the best hotel in Kingston. The rooms are new, spacious and well decorated. The hotel is trendy and the restaurant is outstanding! The pool area is a bit small but very nice. The staff is pleasant and committed in providing a world class customer service. I strongly recommend this hotel, there is really nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lala_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Kingston has needed a business class hotel and The Spanish Court is the closest thing they have. This is a hotel that wants to please and the entire staff goes out of their way to be pleasant and not just lip service. They call it "real Service" I call it the way to run a business class hotel. I interacted with the front desk, restaurant, café, bar, housekeeping, and others. I encountered several of what looked to be management walking the halls in the morning and at night making sure all was ok, clean and giving the hotel the high end look and feel. For the most part - mission accomplished. Unfortunately there are a few construction corners that were cut and so the hotel will never reach the real high end they seem to desire.

Typical of Caribbean construction, tile in my room had no trim; edges don’t match or abruptly end. So you have pretty tile that looked unfinished. Rooms have high end fixtures, lamps and TV. It all looks pretty. A couple of small complaints are, the sink in my room had a “push to close” stopper and “push again” to open. Last thing I want to do is put my hand in a sink full of dirty water to unstop the sink, even if it is my dirt in the water. Same is true for the bath tub, which while I am at it, if you are NOT fleet of foot then you may have trouble with the high step that is required to get into and out of the soaking tub/shower combo. They obviously did not take into consideration an aging clientele or that we would prefer showers and not tubs. Finally, the water in my room never did get hot or cold for that matter. I could leave the hot on all the way and it would get very warm but not hot. All of these are minor issues but for a hotel that bills itself as “effortless luxury” these should be addressed.

Service is where this hotel excels. They call it “Real Service” and in a country where “soon come” means “I will get to you when I can” or maybe never, it is a real pleasure to stay were service means something. Every person I encountered was pleasant, attentive and fast (at least by Jamaican standards).

Food is good, but understandably, the chefs have adapted the menu for a more mild pallet (American). The "Pepper Pot" soup is mild at best, same with the Jerk items. Fish was fresh and delicious. Prices in the restaurant are a good value and portions are large. Beware there is no free refill on drinks. You will pay for each item. Breakfast is free and very good with cook to order omelets and a variety of other standard fare breakfast items. When I was there restaurant opened at 7:00 AM for breakfast and closed at 10:00 PM, room service is available 24 Hrs. A 6:00 AM breakfast start would be more conducive for business travelers.

Room Tip: Roof top bar on the second floor is a bit hard to find but worth the trip. Under the stars with a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawford H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed at the Spanish Court Hotel with friends 6/12-6/17/2014. I travel and stay in hotels at least twice a year and hands down, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed. The hotel is beautiful and clean like most hotels I have stayed, what set this hotel part is the staff (5 stars). The attention and service from the staff make one feel like royal. The breakfast adds a special touch of being home (being a Jamaican). The room was the ideal size for two people. The Spanish Court is the only hotel I will stay when I am in Kingston. I highly recommend this hotel. I have no complains what so ever. Great stay!!!

Room Tip: The rooms to back. Quite, great for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel, I have stayed at three others and Spanish Court is the best of all three. It is centrally located for everything you need, business, entertainment shopping etc. It is perfect for the business traveler as there is very little entertainment on premises but as I said before you can find entertainment close by. The rooms are clean and comfortable and kept so by an excellent staff. It's hard to single out anyone because they are all great but I have to mention the young man who works by the pool. He is so good that he can anticipate your need which he did for me on two occasions while I was sitting by the pool.The food is what you would call "finger licking good". You can dine either continental or Jamaican and the complementary breakfast is virtually an all you can eat buffet. After that breakfast you don't need anything else until dinner. Spanish Court might cost a little more than the others but you get what you pay for I am sure that I will be staying at that hotel again and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling into Kingston.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms adjacent to pool and pool bar because of the sound factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Check in was great, the personal attention given by the desk for our needs and early departure in the morning by preparing a take along breakfast was outstanding. The people were so friendly and concerned with making our stay peaceful and satisfying. All staff were proud of the property and keeping it that way, seemed to really enjoy their work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Kingston! Very beautiful gardens and building, also very modern and well-equipped rooms, nice and professional staff. Perfect location. A bit too pricey and way too cold everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadfadsfasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing