We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kingston's best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kingston's best hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

When you check in you are offered a glass of Champagne. You stay in a well appointed modern room and the restaurant is one of the best in town. The Snapper was fantastic. They have a really nice poolside bar on the second floor at the front of the hotel over the entrance. The included breakfast was outstanding. You also get free bottled water and internet (which was, as others have noted, unfortunately slow). If you have to stay in Kingston, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    244
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
105
166
58
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed there for the first time for one night and was very impressed. The front desk and bellhop service was attentive and warm. The hotel is small, but tastefully and richly decorated with intimate touches that make you feel as though you are in a home. I particularly like the use of local art on the walls and sculptures in strategic locations. The public areas are exquisite and the colors of the rooms (variations on Jamaica's national colors) are a joy to the senses. The decor seems very thoughtfully selected to give a contemporary, European feel. Complimentary breakfast is substantial enough and there's a nice cozy cafe on the ground floor. Linens are good quality and super clean. The deep tub is excellent for soaking away jet-lagged tiredness and I appreciated the yoga mat which was thoughtfully provided.

The only downside I could find was the fact that my second floor room looked out on to a construction area or some kind of backyard. Thankfully, the curtains are beautiful so I had no problem leaving them drawn. However, I would suggest if you're staying for more than one night you may want to request a room on a higher floor to give you a view.

Room Tip: Ask for floors above second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dequanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

They have decent, clean rooms. There's a pool bar on top of the building. Nice to relax after a long day. Breakfast was good, but not "free" like you might be accustomed to in the continental U.S.. It was a "breakfast bar".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CoreyMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have been staying here for a number of weeks as a base for work. I think it must be very unusual to find a hotel with such high service standards and I am so pleased that I was able to stay at Spanish Court. Every member of staff is committed to ensuring that your stay is really good.It is a credit to the management of the hotel that they have recruited and trained their staff so well.
The business suite is a huge bonus; no charge for printing is so helpful.

My only tiny niggle is that smoking is permitted on the deck/pool/bar area. Hopefully this will be revised in the future.
Thanks in particular to Andreas and the front of house staff

Room Tip: An inward facing room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

My 4 day stay was very good. The front desk attention and the restaurant service was very good.
Rooms are quiet

Breakfast quality is good, same as dinner menu
My only suggestion, is to improve the Internet service which was very slow, specially at the evening when everybody is back at the hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ufxmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
341 reviews
340 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This place caters mainly to the business crowd. However, you don't feel in the wrong place as a tourist either. there is not much to complain about: rooms were good, as were the bathrooms, staff was friendly and breakfast was decent.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Spanish Court Hotel did not disappoint. Even though the style was a little dated, especially in the lobby. The rooms were in very good shape, comfortable beds and nice linens. We enjoyed the patio, relaxing in the sun and cooling off in the pool before heading out to take in the sites. After dark the patio area is nicely lit - great place to have a cocktail or two at the end the day. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher level to avoid looking out over the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing