We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Kingston. Period.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Kingston. Period.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had the chance to stay in here for three weeks due to a business trip. I had to stay one week in another hotel because the travel agent could not find a room for the four straight weeks, and I have to say that at the end of that week I was really eager to get back to the Spanish Court. The rooms are new, clean and really cozy, the Wi-Fi and phone services are great, the restaurant is really good and, last but not least, the staff is really kind and they were always willing to help. For a second business trip (but shorter) they even helped us to find available rooms when the travel agent could not do it. I definitively recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    246
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
107
168
59
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bethpage, New York, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Kingston. I've been all around the world and this hotel can compare to those, especially with price, location and value. Of importance I used them for pick-up and drop-off for the airport. VERY reasonably priced and I didn't need to deal with Kingston cabs. Plus, their cars are all E-Class Mercedes. That should tell you all you need to know. Plus, US Mens soccer team stayed here when they last played in Kingston. Must be good and safe...

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for six nights and this was a great choice. Much more than we expected in regards to location and service, espically from the staff. Having to be in contact with work WiFi was an important factor for us. First night we had difficulty signing on, but help came to our room and within minutes we had service. Before leaving they also made sure we had service on our cells.

If Jamacian and away for a while, (we were) and looking for a great place to stay in Kingston, this is the place!

Room Tip: Room was located on the second floor looking out to the water tanks. No complaints did not have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loving227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in Kingston and I am so glad we chose this place! Very contemporary- great facilities, amazing service, friendly staff.
Had some crazy experiences at other hotels in Jamaica on the same visit so this was a pleasant and welcome change!
It is also relatively close to all the major places we wanted to visit around Kingston (Devon House, UWI Mona, KFC lol)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karuna_moonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is well located within walking distance from the bus station (I walked there). Staff were excellent (as everybody rightly says). Room was modern, and nice although the lighting was annoyingly low. Internet was OK during my visit. I ate in the restaurant in the evening, (good food, but rather expensive), and I had breakfast which was quite basic for such a quality place. I also had a drink at the bar, recommended.
Overall, a very good hotel, glad I chose it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were greeted my the most amazing staff that made sure that we had everything we needed throughout the entire stay. The breakfast was good and the manager's cocktail hour was superb. The hotel decor is to die for and spa services are reasonably priced. Great, safe location. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. When i'm back in Kingston, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel has so much going for it: comfortable rooms, either new or recently refurbished; friendly and helpful staff; central location; good security; a great terrace bar with a horizon pool and a barman who knows how to make a rum punch with punch; a business centre with modern computers; free wi-fi; free bottled water supplied daily in all the rooms. BUT...
But what? What more could one wish for in a hotel that caters mainly for business people? Reliable wi-fi and a fast broadband connection, that's what! Alas, the Spanish Court had neither of these during my visit at the beginning of April and, as I was in Kingston to research a book, it fell short of my basic 21st Century need to get online at night and stay online. It's an easy thing to fix, even in Kingston, and I hope they make it a priority before my next visit (yes, I would most certainly go again).
Spanish Court could move another step closer to heaven, too, if they brightened up the menu in the restaurant and changed it on a daily basis. They should make more of the buffet breakfast, as well. Jamaica is the land of plenty when it comes to tropical fruit but I had to resort to buying papaya in the local supermarket to be certain of having a paw-paw at breakfast. But these shortcomings can be easily sorted. At least Spanish Court have got the big picture right. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a King-size bed in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenburnhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing