We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but by no means a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent but by no means a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Spanish Court Hotel in Kingston in May 2013. We booked the hotel because it is a Lonely Planet 'Top Choice' hotel. We booked the Deluxe King Room for two nights which set us back $370.98 US. On first arriving we were pleasantly greeted by the polite and professional staff. Check in was quite smooth. However, when we saw the room I was extremely disappointed. The room was small and dark. It faced out onto a busy road and had no atmosphere. I later tried the pool and again was disappointed as it is was much smaller than suggested by the pictures. The free breakfast included continental and jamaican options and was quite nice. Wi-fi was available in the rooms but was not very fast. Overall, the experience was just ok because the room was expensive for Jamaica and fell well below expectations. This is by no means a four or five star hotel and it is hugely overpriced compared to global prices for equivalent rooms. After travelling around the entire Island in May i would suggest trying the City View Hotel in Stony Hill - a little off the beaten track but a much more enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for so be prepared to spend over $300 if you want something decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    250
    48
    1
    1
See reviews for
111
172
63
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Spanish court hotel during a business trip. I was pleasantly surprise, the rooms have been recently renoved with a modern style, the location is very convenient, the staff is well trained to attend guests. I had dinner at the restaurant and was quite good for a hotel. I found the gym is too small and with little equipment, not very inviting for the guest (a Spa hotel could do better)

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just got married in Kingston, and I spent the night before and after my wedding here before we went off to Montego Bay. While I have been to Spanish Court on several occasions for business meeting and lunch, this was my first time sleeping there.

The hotel is very stylish, food is great and staff are the best!

Pros Cons
Very Clean 0
Included Wifi
Location
Staff
Food
AA Miles per night

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat W Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful working trip in Kingston, and was fortunate to be put up at the Spanish Court. Having stayed at other Kingston hotels, the Spanish Court is clearly the elite of Kingston accommodation. While the place was certainly stylish, sometimes I felt style trumped function -- the pool feels more like a water feature than a place you'd like to swim laps, the wash basins are chic but tiny, and do we really need a glass of champagne while checking in? But these are minor quibbles. For me, what made the stay exceptional was the outstanding staff. They have clearly been well trained, but training only goes so far. There seemed to be a culture of genuine hospitality and guest focus. Every staff member I met greeted me, and any difficulty or request was dealt with promptly and efficiently. The included breakfasts were exceptional, including made-to-order omelettes and eggs and lots of fresh fruit. The restaurant, however, is very expensive. Get out of the hotel and walk to Scotchie's or Red Bones or take a cab to M10 for authentic meals at a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

First trip to Kingston, and very pleasantly surprised. This well run boutique hotel in the heart of Kingston is a respite from the craziness of Kingston. My room was extremely comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable, the wireless worked great, TV was great with a load of channels, and the air conditioning was nice and cold.

While they certainly checked all the boxes, the thing that makes this hotel special is the staff. Friendly and efficient are the best way to describe them. Kudos to management, I'm told that this is the hardest part of running a good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 215 was very good. The AC didn't blow directly on the bed, and that was a big plus for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent a night at the Spanish Court Hotel (April 12 2013). It was a very nice place. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were located on the third floor facing the road; we had an awesome view of the mountains.
The staff went out of their way to help you. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. It had fresh fruit, muffins, cereal and omelets made to order. This place is definitely a place to stay if you’re in the Kingston area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

As far as Kingston goes this is the best you can get and this is a very lovely property with a good restaurant and great service. Whenever I need to go to Kingston I always stay at the Spanish Court and I have always had a very pleasant experience. On a very recent trip I sent a new dress to be dry cleaned and this obviously was not done at the hotel. Upon receiving my dress back with a hole in it the manager asked me how much I had payed for it and handed me, in cash, without questions asked, the value of the dress. I was pleasantly surprised and even though slightly upset about the ruined dress I had to give kudos to the amazingly prompt and definitive response of the manager.
The Spanish Court is MY place in Kingston!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor have more light and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing