We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A fine hotel with a great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spanish Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Spanish Court Hotel to your Saves list
The Spanish Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
500 AA Miles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A fine hotel with a great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

First trip to Kingston, and very pleasantly surprised. This well run boutique hotel in the heart of Kingston is a respite from the craziness of Kingston. My room was extremely comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable, the wireless worked great, TV was great with a load of channels, and the air conditioning was nice and cold.

While they certainly checked all the boxes, the thing that makes this hotel special is the staff. Friendly and efficient are the best way to describe them. Kudos to management, I'm told that this is the hardest part of running a good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 215 was very good. The AC didn't blow directly on the bed, and that was a big plus for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    207
    40
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
140
41
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent a night at the Spanish Court Hotel (April 12 2013). It was a very nice place. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were located on the third floor facing the road; we had an awesome view of the mountains.
The staff went out of their way to help you. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. It had fresh fruit, muffins, cereal and omelets made to order. This place is definitely a place to stay if you’re in the Kingston area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

As far as Kingston goes this is the best you can get and this is a very lovely property with a good restaurant and great service. Whenever I need to go to Kingston I always stay at the Spanish Court and I have always had a very pleasant experience. On a very recent trip I sent a new dress to be dry cleaned and this obviously was not done at the hotel. Upon receiving my dress back with a hole in it the manager asked me how much I had payed for it and handed me, in cash, without questions asked, the value of the dress. I was pleasantly surprised and even though slightly upset about the ruined dress I had to give kudos to the amazingly prompt and definitive response of the manager.
The Spanish Court is MY place in Kingston!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor have more light and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Kingston does not have a "really" luxury hotel, The Spanish Court has the feeling of a lovely botique hotel, even if it has many rooms. The decor is modern, simple and functional. The restaurant is very good and as the hotel it is a good value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights whilst on business. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was good. The room was comfortable although the air conditioning took some working out. The pool isn't great and the sun deck is just above the car park and a road.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had stayed in Spanish court for 2 nights and 3 days on my business trip. First of all, this hotel is situated amidst the happening location in kingston. Customer service is very good at reception/breakfast/restaurant. Welcome drink is provided on arrival. Breakfast options are quite less but whatever they provide is good. The room interiors are very well done infact the entire hotel sports a nice contemporary and trendy look. Wifi is free. There is a restaurant that serves good food. A supermarket is just opposite the hotel. Access to taxis is not a problem. Did not try the swimming pool or the spa.The lighting in the rooms can be improved for sure. The room i stayed had two beds and the beds were really good and had good rest. There are rooms with single bed as well. Given a chance and if i travel again, i will definitely prefer this hotel for my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulagaisutraaasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We needed to stay in Kingston one night due to airplane departure times and we very pleased with how accommodating the staff is to everyone

Check in was a breeze and loved the welcoming champagne.

We had an issue with our room initially and the staff bent over backwards to makes us happy.

We enjoyed sitting by pool,in the evening and listening to music and have a glass of wine

We were able to walk to Scotchees for jerk chicken, but I wouldn't recommend it do to having to cross some very busy streets...

The morning buffet was quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 24 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 24 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
104.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing