We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in Kingston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Kingston”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. This was a business trip and so I appreciated having free wifi, and it worked without a hitch, unlike many hotels. The staff were lovely, the room was nice, and the location was ideal. I was able to walk to many locations, including Earl's Juice Garden, for all you vegetarians out there. Also, there's a grocery store across the street, so you can purchase food/sundries and get cash at the ATM. Some additional bonuses were the iPod dock, and the fridge, where you can store food and drink. They also give you a couple of bottles of water daily. I didn't use the pool, which was cute but small and hard to envision really swimming in it. I also did not use the gym, but walking by you could see it was an inviting space and people were often in there working out.

A few weaknesses were: 1. I felt that the room desperately needed more lighting. This is why my photos look so dark. It was difficult to work in the room at night. 2. The hallways look like they could use some refurbishing. 3. You can't open the windows. 4. Apparently you have a choice of putting a large sum of money totaling like $200 per night up front on your credit card for incidentals, or else just pay cash for everything. That was bizarre to me. Why wouldn't they just take your card number and charge as appropriate? Finally, not necessarily a big deal, but the tub was really deep and wide, so if you have any mobility issues you might have a problem.

But all in all I really liked the hotel and would certainly return there before booking something else.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    246
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
107
168
59
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I had a recent stay in March, it was excellent. Attentive staff, and value is good (not cheap but worth the money. It's the only real option for the discerning business traveller,

Only criticism is the front desk is always very slow in dealing with waiting customers

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Kingston is not a vacation location for beach seekers. And this review would be remiss by not at least mentioning this fact. The Spanish court is the nicest of the ten or so hotels we visited. The staff is super responsive and helpful.
The rooms are as nice as any high end chain in the USA. And the amenities are great: breakfast, pool, Internet, treadmill. There is a grocery store across the street for any incidentals (refrigerator in the hotel room).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this place. We knew it was one of the better hotels around, but sometimes that doesn't really mean a lot.
We were traveling as a group (approx 20 people with kids).
We were met at reception with a glass of bubbles (or OJ or water) which was very much appreciated.
Check-in was simple enough and the staff were all very nice and friendly. Even the garbage guy was very cheery.
The rooms are nice and clean and well set out. No noise from the street or other rooms.
Pool bar on the second floor was nice as well. Breakfast was of a good standard and they had an egg/omelette station there as well.
The resturant food was also very nice, although it took a little while to recieve our lunch, but that could have been because we were a group.
The hotel is safe and secure with security staff present outside 24/7.
The gym is small but sufficient. There is a Life Guard at the pool during the day. My wife had a massage in the spa and she said that was very good too.
And did I say the staff were friendly and helpful - that's all the staff.
All in all, a good spot. We'll come back to this one for sure.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there is a bad room, although maybe request a room on the thrird floor so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and the service was great from the start. The staff were so friendly. On arrival we were given a choice of beverages for a welcome drink - champagne was my pick. I am a light sleeper so am always concerned about how noisy the room might be. We were in Room 241 and it was so quiet. The rooms are really spacious, beautiful bathrooms and free wi-if in your room. The bar/pool area is really nice, great spot for a nightcap. Breakfast was buffet style and there was a small selection of foods. Highly recommended if you are in Kingston - we felt extremely safe.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nessams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just spent the last weekend at Kingston's Newest and Finest Hotel - The Spanish Court Hotel - Located in the heart of the City's Business and Financial District, The Hotel represents a breath of Fresh-air and a Class act.
From the Welcoming Glass of Champagne; to the warm reception at Check in; the beautiful Junior suite looking up to Beverly Hills; and the Sky Bar and Infinity Pool - There was nothing not to like. But it all got better, with a visit to the Hotel's Rojo Restaurant - Red-pease Soup, just like My Mom makes it - so perfect! The Filet Mignon was to die for, the accompanying vegetables, crisp to the touch and flawless to the taste. The Chocolate Cake - A trip to gastronomic Heaven.
And that was only Friday!!
Saturday there was More Red-Pease Soup; Succulent Oxtail, with Mashed-sweet-potato; and Strawberry Cheese Cake that had me humming; and a shot of Tia Maria.
Sunday was check out time, but not before a fabulous jamaican Brunch; lounging at the Sky Deck and Infinity Pool, and sipping on oodles of Mimosas, before reluctantly taking my leave of the luxurious property.
Already planning my return trip - maybe this Easter!

Room Tip: Mountain View for a relaxed, tranquil expereince in the middle of a bustling City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CFrancis-Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed in the Spanish Court Hotel for 2 nights. Very stylish hotel, delicious food, rooms quite small with tiny windows but well decorated, nice pool area with a very friendly and chatty life guard, lovely spa (Marsha is a great masseuse), breakfast staff could be a bit more focused (was waiting for a cup of tea for about 10 min) but overall great stay :) I would definitely go back! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReasonWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#7 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing