We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Business Hotel for Kingston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are on a business trip to Kingston, this is the place to stay. Safe, free breakfast and free wifi, very clean and great staff. Expect a business hotel and this is it.
It is not for families as the pool is very small and there is nothing within walking distance that would interest kids.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for The Spanish Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 868 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed on the third floor with my girls for 4 days for my birthday and it was simply fabulous. I would go back and stay here in a heartbeat. the staff was exceptional the food amazing and everything was accessible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roxann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at Spanish Court Hotel for one night after arriving on a evening flight, check-in was swift and staff was very friendly. We received a complementary glass of champagne right away.
Our room was on the street side 2nd floor, for a moment i wondered if this would be a problem regarding noise, but it turned out to be just fine. Room size was perfect, so was the bathroom, and beds are comfortable.

We ate at the on-site restaurant, the food was good, not outstanding, but definitely not bad either. I was a little surprised about the limited amount of Jamaican style dishes on the menu, most of it was standard American/European fare. If we had stayed for longer, i would probably have ventured elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast is pretty standard with eggs, bacon and the works, plus some johnny cakes or dumplings, i found the bread + jam selection a bit disappointing.

The pool bar area is very nice and atmospheric, staff there was great too. The location of the hotel is also pretty good, as it is close to a lot of businesses and tourist attractions in Kingston, and right across the road from the British High Commission

All in all i would say it's best suited for a short holiday or city trip stay, and for business travellers, the service you get here is more personal than you get at the bigger chains in the area. Still all staff came across very professional, and the place feels very safe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bringabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Spanish Court about a week ago. Was a fabulous experience. The service was great, the food was the best I had the entire trip (you have to try the Ox Tail stew) and they even had a late night cafe open with delicious cakes and coffee (can't beat late night carrot cake). There's also a grocery store directly across the street with an ATM, food, pharmacy, beer/wine. AND - very conviently located (about a $3-$10 cab to Devon House, Red Bones, Bob Marley, etc.). Kingston doesn't get the credit it deserves - am already planning a return visit.

Also - if you have the chance, talk to the bartender, Mario (oh, the bar/pool on the top deck are great). He plays it cool but if you start a conversation (we shared a beer when his shift ended) he is absolutely hilarious! I think he should be a stand-up comic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kelsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, safe hotel for top dollar this is perfect for you. If you are looking for a sense that you are in Jamaica with the vibrancy and cultural mix that Kingston has to offer this is not for you.
As a regular business traveler to Kingston am always trying out different hotels. Spanish Court is the top end. A jamaican pastiche of the W hotel it sits in an ideal local in New Kingston. It's efficient and clean with uber security. Most travelers embrace the 'us and them' environment of the all inclusive, this hotel fosters that same energy. During my stay I didn't once see a brown skinned person in the dining room other than servers. Whereas in Pegasus/Wyndham/TerraNova I do tend to see many locals use the facility. Upon check in I was given a care package which was a lovely touch but it contained American goods like Harvest Crunch bar and Snickers. Why in a country that makes such wonderful hand made chocolates do they not showcase the riches that Jamaica has to offer. Personally, I felt very segregated in this hotel, but I am certain that this will be the hotels appeal for many travelers. Just not me personally.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stooshpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I travelled to kingston for work and did so with a great deal of apprehension. Spanish court hotel offers a really nice atmosphere, it is secure (one of my big concerns) and the staff have such a great attitude. The food is excellent and plenty of variety on the menu. The fillet mignon steak was superb ... One of the best I've had!
The staff are obviously very well motivated and very helpful.
Honestly if you are travelling to kingston and have the chance to stay here you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank DizzydancerBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Spanish court is a nice modern hotel but more of a business hotel than a holiday stay. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant was also good. The only down side about the hotel is the pool area which is a bit cramped and the pool looks like a giant paddling pool. It's a good stay if you want to visit the city and sightsee but not a perfect stay for pool lovers and sunbathers. Also would be good if they had rooms with balconies. Would stay again as I know what to expect but would not choose if I wanted to sit around the pool and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
105.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston, Jamaica
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
34.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $194 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing