We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spanish Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Service with a smile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We holidayed in Jamaica over Christmas and New Year and stayed at the Spanish Court twice, at the beginning and end of the holiday. On both occasions the service was excellent, very welcoming on arrival, we were greeted with a glass of champagne! and as we were weary after our flight from London we had dinner in the restaurant , and again the sevice was very attentive . There is a very varied menu- my Fiance is vegetarian and he had four dishes to choose from which is quite unusual- he often doesnt get that much choice in London!Breafast was also good with a lovely lady on hand to freshly make you an omlette on request.
The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable, something I personally consider to be essential when deciding on a hotel.Bathrooms have baths with shower overhead (the pressure is excellent). I would add though that the corridors leading from the lift to the rooms would benefit from some pictures as they look rather stark.
Spanish court provide free WiFi and the business centre is great and free too.In terms of relaxation the pool area has the ambience of being a resort rather than a business hotel . This hotel really ticks the boxes! Special mention to the management,reception staff, and La Toya in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor(not next to the lift)and not on the Trafalgar road side which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianaburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    236
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
102
164
55
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We don't expect to be giving glowing reports on staff in Jamaica.
However Spanish Court excelled in this area and were a real credit not only to the hotel but the people of Jamaica.
Well done !!
The bedrooms were a good size, clean and with good air conditioning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

After a few months in advance thinking we shoudl book a hotel, as it was for a weekend only and right before Christmas, so hotels might be full in the Caribbean, I could not make up my mind. KIngston is not a tourist place and ther are not many nice hotels. This hotel seemd OK, but the pictures, especially of the pool area simply did not convince me. Finally at 6 days before leaving, I figured I better make up my mind and get a hotel. Via a BA site, this was the only hotel remaining with space, when we needed it, more expensive than I have found it on other sites, much earlier, so we just decided, we will just take it and hard luck if it was not nice. Well all to the contrary, it was great. Looks quite new, large, high but cosey rooms with all in it, very nice restaurant, a great Spa, great massages, and very friendly and helpfull staff. An easy in front of the hotel parking area. Also it is very central, close to many restaurants, Devon house, Marley Museum and 25 min on a Sunday aftrenoon, from the Airport. The food and coffee corner are all excellent too. Definitely next time, we will book this straight away, which also, we must say, was great value for money!

Room Tip: We asked a quiet room, as it is along a busy road, and were at the inner court, which was very calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Spanish Court hotel for 2 weeks every December year for the past three years and the standard has not diminished in any way. The hotel retains a consistently high quality and can easily be compared to some so called 5star hotels in New York.
The rooms are very clean, with modern fixtures and fittings. The technical side is also excellent, with WiFi as standard, wall mounted LCD tvs and a smart in-room telephone. They also very conveniently provide a mini fridge in the room, which is a nice touch.
The bathrooms are fairly large, with both bath and shower ( something you normally have to pay additional for in the US) with good quality complementary bathroom products as standard.
Also complementary is the buffet breakfast, which you can easily gain several pounds per day gorging yourself on. There is a great variety of local and international cuisine and the wait staff are very helpful if you want to order off menu or just have a regular request.
The lounge is a very chic meeting point, very trendy and comfortable, with large comfy chairs and couches. I always have my friends or business colleges meet me there, as its also very intimate and suitable for a quiet conversation.
The SkyBar is a great place to unwind with a sexy cocktail at the end of the day and attracts a young professional and fashionable crowd, but is in no way pretentious or unsuitable for an older clientele.
I love staying at the Spanish Court and would absolutely recommend it to anyone traveling to Kingston as the first choice place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a third floor room if you are staying there on business as they Business Center is located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerfreak-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on business various times now, and it is without doubt the best in Kingston. The rooms are comortable and well-equipped, restaurant is excellent, and whilst the choice at breakast may be said by some to be limited - full marks for the offering of nuts and raisins along with the tropical fruits!

The main reason I can't give five stars remains the Sky Terrace bar: visit after dark and it's like there has been a power cut. I don't mind discreet lighting, but none at all means that businessmen can't read their files (yes I know, boring), it's impossible to see what you are eating or drinking, and when the bill appears you cannot see what to fill in without a torch....

It wouldn't cost much to install some modest lighting - are there any objections?

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, try to get a room on the 2nd floor - preferably close to the bar, where smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel and staff was wonderful. .whatever you wanted the try to give it to you.the only thing is I wish they had a babysitter and real jamaican food.I will most definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

For business or pleasure this is the best place to stay in Kingston. Great service from the moment you arrive, friendly staff and good food. This is a relatively small hotel in terms of features but is more than adequate if you are staying on business. Small but well equipped fitness room. Rooms are clean and comfortable and have everything you need. Internet is free and works well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osprey1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
104.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing