We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Hotel in Kingston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spanish Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best Hotel in Kingston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We were supposed to stay with someone for the night but that fell through. Glad Spanish Court existed. It's by far the best hotel in Kingston, pricey yes, but the only 4.5 star hotel in Kingston, with great decor, great restaurant and friendly people. You will be satisfied that you stayed here. Right in the heart of New Kingston, it's got what you want for a business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    236
    46
    1
    1
See reviews for
102
164
55
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Every time I am in Jamaica for business I stay at the Spanish Court. The rooms are a decent size and the decor is contemporary. The food is good and the service is great. I definitely feel it is good value for money.This is really geared towrds the business traveller as it is close to the commercial area in New Kingston. I have stayed there at least 5 times and never had a complaint.

Room Tip: It is better to take a higher floor so that the noise on the pool deck does not bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinitraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is great for a business trip, especially if you have jet lag as the gym is open 24 hours, as is the room service!

This place is good quality and is just right for a business break with good WiFi and a central location for the business district. The food is ok but then if you are in Jamaica I would always recommend eating out.

The pool is ok for lapping, it looks bigger in the pictures than it is but has a great terrace for having a few red stripes on after a busy day.

All in all you could do a lot worse than here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,025 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is my first time coming to Jamaica. and It never go wrong. the hotel was nice.
I talked to their manager, through emails and he greeted us when we just arrived in the hotel. He was a nice guy and friendly, this hotel was well made. Dont ask about the interior, the hotel photo wasnt even capture the full beauty of this hotel. I didnt expect it to be so nice, seeing from their picture.

overall my stay at this spanish court was wonderful, they have a supermarket for you to buy some jamaican coffee there. the breakfast wasnt much variation, this hotel mostly cover the business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PapayaMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am very familiar with Jamaica since I have visited annually for the previous 7 years staying at hotels in Kingston, Montego Bay, Negril, Ocho Rios and Whitehouse. I have stayed in Kingston at the UWI Mona Lodge; Spanish Court and Terra Nova Hotel. In Ocho Rios I have stayed at Couples Sans Souci; Sandals Royal Plantation and Riu; Montego Bay Iberostar BEach and Suites and Ritz Carlton; Sandals Negril and Sandals Whitehouse.
This is the nicest hotel in Kingston and the place I recommend to stay if money is no objectas it is a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

i stayed at the spanish court on business a couple of weeks ago and was very pleased with the hotel. the service was friendly and helpful throughout. my room was clean, modern and nicely decorated; my only complaint is that it was underground and the windows were practically at the ceiling.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room above ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I got back yesterday and can honestly say that the hotel has been redone from when I visited them last year and is EXCELLENT. The rooms are very modern, great bed, flat screen TV, bathroom completly new, WIFI worked perfect. Most important all VERY CLEAN!!!!
The staff is very freindly and helpful. The restaurant is very good and they have a great breakfast included. Great price also. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
104.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Property: The Spanish Court Hotel
Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing