We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian cuisine, West Indian style”
Review of Moby Dick

Moby Dick
Ranked #22 of 196 Restaurants in Kingston
Restaurant details
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine, West Indian style”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stepping inside Moby Dick reminds one of the eateries in old cities in India, no fancy furniture or soft lights, the furniture is simple and functional, and enormous industrial pedestal fans to blow away the heat.

Curry goat and roti is the best seller at the establishment, the fun is dipping the roti into the curry and savoring the spicy, jucy and succulent dish, served with warm and friendly smiles.

This family run restaurant offers personalized service, old world charm and delicious food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank amjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Curry Goat Ever!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Best curry goat i ever had, tasty and spicy, served with rice, nan and cold vegetables.
The restaurant is not very fancy, but it's clean and the food yummie :-)
I'm coming back for shure!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rasta_Baby_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best curry goat in Kingston”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

First off, this place isn't really for tourists, so the food is going to be hot for the North American palate, and the place isn't trying to look fancy at all. It's Downtown Kingston, what do you expect?

That said, I think it's the best lunch available downtown. The curry goat and roti is delicious, as are the juices. The curried conch was a bit mediocre, however, and didn't have as much spice as I would have liked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTDT_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I don't understand the feedbacks MD gets”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I read about MD on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. I'm absolutely not one to expect perfection or anything. I just want tasty food for reasonable price.

The goat curry I got was mostly bones and just a little meat. I'm also a spicy food lover (I eat and cook Mexican, Thai and Vietnamese food all the time), but there were HUGE pieces of jalapenos my friend and I couldn't avoid and we both got our tongue burn badly.

The only positive thing is see is that it's one of the only restaurant downtown where you can seat down with a menu and spend time at. But the food shack at the corner of the market street serves tastier and less expensive food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best curry in Kingston!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The service is quick, the curry goat is great, and the location on Orange Street is in the heart of Downtown Kingston but far enough away from the madding crowd. If you're driving parking can be an issue during the week.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Moby Dick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing