We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Sweet Jerk"”

Chelsea Jerk Centre
Ranked #126 of 192 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Sweet Jerk"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I walked from the hotel to Chelsea jerk Centre. It was about a 5 minute walk. I went there in the evening, because I wanted to try the Jerk Chicken for dinner. The road was well lit. There was also a pavement at the side of the road, which made walking easier. I did not have to wait very long to be served. As I waited to collect my Jerk Chicken, I observed that the food was being freshly prepared. Couldn't wait to get back to the hotel to start eating, because the aroma was tantalizing! When at last I got the opportunity to taste the Chicken, I was not disappointed. It was not too spicy and very tasty. The temperature of the Chicken was also quite suitable, not too hot and not too cold. I had planned to visit Chelsea another time, but my schedule was hectic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SAPODILAGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Roach Motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This placed used to be really good. However, they stopped caring it when Scotchies took most of their business. I saw two roaches on my last visit. One in the kitchen and the other running on the counter where they were sharing the food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“More great Jamaican stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good jerk...............you get a variety of starters which are all local such as "stamp and go". Barbadians would know this as a fish ball, and Trinidadians as an Accra, except i Jamaica it is flat and very crispy. usually served with some tangy/sweet sauce.

I especially like the "escaviche" that come with the jerk.

Drinks are reasonably priced, and if you are in the mood, there is dancing later on in the night.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank WestIndian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“geat jerk food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

food is really great here...authentic-style Jamaican jerk pork , chicke, festial and other Jamaican cuisine.

Helpful?
1 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Jerk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

THe best jerk is to be found at Boston Bay but this is a place where Jamaicans in Kingston get their jerk

Helpful?
1 Thank Roy Dodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Jerk Centre also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Chelsea Jerk Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing