We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cityview Hotel-- Our home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cityview Hotel-- Our home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

What is there left to say but; prepare for a treat. My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on several occassions and have never been disappointed. Mr. & Mrs. Bent and staff, did everything to ensure our comfort, making make this hotel our first choice whenever we return to Kingston.

We stayed in the large luxurious St. Andrew Suite, with spectactual views of both Kington and mountains from our verandah. The spa-like bath tub and the comfortable bed is all we needed for a good night's sleep.

Breakfast is typically Jamaician, (ackee & saltfish, calaloo & dumplings). For the light-eater, they also offer fresh fruits. Though breakfast can be served from your room, we always choose to have it on the gazebo which is surrouned by beautiful plants and colorful flowers and a panoramic view of Kingston.

We were fortunate to be able to attend their first 1st Evening Under the Stars gala. While having dinner, we were entertained with the music of acclaimed artists who performed generes from reggae to jazz to blues. It was nice change not to have to drive into Kingston for entertainment. It was expecially nice hanging with the locals from the surronding community of Smokey Vale. They expect to continue this event once a month so be sure to check their website.

The worst part of our visits to City View is having to leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
56
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovak Republic (Slovakia)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed at City View in November 2009 and I can only confirm experience of previous reviewers: the property has excellent location overlooking Kingston, away from the city's hustle.

The rooms were spacious, equipped with wirelees internet connection and generally well kept. Pleasant and courteous staff made us feel welcome and we felt almost like home.

I would definitely recommend City View for adult guests looking for a quiet and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JozefJozef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

What more can I say? Usually when my husband or I travel to Kingston it's for business and we stay at the Hilton or Pegasus located in New Kingston. This time we traveled for leisure and decided to do something a little different. After some research, I came across the City View Hotel.

When we arrived, the first thing I noticed was that from the grounds, to the room and of course the view looked EXACTLY like the pictures posted. From that moment, I knew that it was the right choice!!!

FOOD: Every morning we were served Jamaican breakfast on the gazebo and it was sooooo delectable.

ROOM: Our stay in the Port Royal Executive Room, was just that "ROYAL". The beautiful decor, quiet / peaceful vibe, cool breezes, beautiful morning sunrises and relaxing nights on the balcony, not to mention the "city view", it was just what we needed, true rest and relaxation.

SERVICE: (Last, but certainly NOT least) I've traveled the world and have NEVER experienced the service from any staff as I did from the City View personnel. Mr. & Mrs. Bent, Durn, Wendy & Dahlia, our deepest thanks. We'll be back!!!! The BAKERS.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

City View does have a great view of Kingston, looking magical at night and green and welcoming in the day. We were looked after incredibly well, with dinners served on our balcony in the evening, helpful suggestions of places to go and things to see - and being taken to their dentist to cure toothache!

City View is only about 10 minutes drive from downtown Kingston, but feels miles away. If you are nervous about visiting Kingston, City View is the place to stay - you get to explore the city during the day and relax in peace and calmness in the evening. It has wi-fi and would be an excellent place to stay on business as well.

In short, it's a gem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Mr and Mrs Bent were excellent host...they were accomdating as well as the staff...the rooms r beautiful and the balcony views were straight awesome and it was so quiet u could hear a pen drop i slept for hours.. also the chief meals at city view was superb! i would recommend city view for what any occasion when coming to kingston it is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Mrs Bent the owner was the most accommodating, caring and wonderful host you can imagine The rooms are all different and delightful. If you are mixing business with pleasure there is even a beach only 45 mins away. Wen just didn't want to leave, this will now be our annual getaway place. If you want gyms and pools and lots of people and you have restless kids this is not the place for you, If however you to re-connect with a loved one or re-connect with Jamaica in a beautiful, comfortable relaxing place- this is definitely for you - for sure

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonJamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

It was just the place I needed to be...
I wanted a place away from the city but still near enough so I could still enjoy the city life and that is what I found! It is an excellent middle ground! Completely relaxing. Great food. Good conversations with the Bents. Pleasant and courteous staff. FREE wireless internet kept me connected with the world... walks around the property kept me active! Just a great get-away from all the every day stress.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weynika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.3 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 25 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel

Property: City View Hotel
Address: Mannings Hill Road, Kingston 000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the peaceful St. Andrews Hills of Smokey Vale, and surrounded by a breathtaking view of Kingston, you will find a sense of peace and serenity. The enchanting garden setting captivates the senses as you move amongst flora of most species and absorb the unique tranquility it unfolds while enjoying the light mist swirling on the gentle breeze and the chirp of cheerful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your City View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City View Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing