We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of City View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Kingston B&B and Inns
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had my wedding at City View on the 16/09/12 and everything was perfect, even the weather. It poured, but that didn't stop the fun. Mrs. Bent ensured that everything was organised. Of course my guests were captivated by the scenery. The girls and I stayed the night before the wedding, very peaceful. Breakfast was heavenly. Sandy was great. All in all we enjoyed our stay. By the way, they organised everything for my wedding (one stop shop) and I could not have been more pleased. The food , the flowers, the decoration, I could go on. Mrs. Bent, you are doing a wonderful job keep it up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Khayla174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
56
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I so happen to have our wedding here in august, I am speechless and in awe about our day, the food and the professionalism of the staff, and the owners and staff here. This was truly a dream come thru, the food tun up, the venue tun up, and thank god and would do it all over again. thanks again for helping us create our magical day. love mr and mrs mcdonald

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I conducted a 5 night/4 day women's retreat at City View with a small group of women in June 2012. I found City View online when I was researching for an ideal place to host a getaway that was intimate, quiet, and cozy. When I arrived at City View, the "view" was breath-taking, the owners and staff is warm and friendly, and the rooms were beautiful and regally decorated. Going for a walk down the mountain was great exercise with Mr. Bent, who is a champion athlete. Need a place for a quiet personal retreat - check out City View Hotel.

PS. During the summer, make sure to travel with your "OFF" for mosquito repelling. This will make your time much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hopelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip around Jamaica and loved it. We found City view on tripadvisor when planning our trip from London and initially we weren't convinced as most reviews (although positive) were from years before. Happy to say that it is definitely worth the stay. Our room (St Andrew's suite), was spacious, had an incredible view of the city and we were well looked after. I was glad that we didnt opt for a hotel bang in the middle of kingston as with our location we could get everywhere easily but were away from the noise at night. Many thanks to Trevor, Andrea and the rest of gang!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are many positive experiences that you have while staying at City View Hotel. The property is outstanding as a boutique hotel, service, accommodation and meals are outstanding. The view of the city of Kingston is awesome, in fact one is able to see four Parishes [St. Thomas, Kingston, St. Andrew, and St. Catherine] from City View Hotel.

Room Tip: The roads getting to the Hotel are narrow and care is required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamaica07Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I will just add my praises and agreement with everyone else. A stunning view from our balcony overlooking Kingston (see attached picture). And the morning breakfast of Ackee (the traditional Jamaican favorite) served on our balcony overlooking the city. And the best part is as you get close to the hotel, signs point the way, something most hotels in Jamaica have yet to learn

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband and I had the time of our lives at City view hotel. After our small wedding, we spend one week honeymoon in this magnificent suite. The swan towel and the beautiful king size mahogany bed was "to die for" gorgeous .City view has a breath taking view of the Kingston at night.. We just can't stop talking about the hospitality. Mr and Mrs Bent are the nicest two people you ever want to meet. I think Mrs Bent is the best cook in Jamaica. We felt safe and too comfortable. I left feeling that the staff was just one big family. Mr bent made sure I was comfortable on the first floor. "LOVE HIM" and Mrs Bent will always be my sister in my head "LOVE HER" My field of work can be stressful at times. I could not ask for a better place to refresh and let go of the stress of New York City. Thanks!!! I will not forget you.

Room Tip: suite on the first floor with the balcony overlooking the city :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.3 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
823 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Altamont Court Hotel Kingston
2.5 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kingston
505 reviews
2.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel

Property: City View Hotel
Address: Mannings Hill Road, Kingston 000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the peaceful St. Andrews Hills of Smokey Vale, and surrounded by a breathtaking view of Kingston, you will find a sense of peace and serenity. The enchanting garden setting captivates the senses as you move amongst flora of most species and absorb the unique tranquility it unfolds while enjoying the light mist swirling on the gentle breeze and the chirp of cheerful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City View Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing