We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same Hot Pot I knew”
Review of Hot Pot

Hot Pot
Ranked #96 of 196 Restaurants in Kingston
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the same Hot Pot I knew”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went to hot pot for old time sake and for some good local food. After 9 years, nothing had changed about the physical location, but everything had changed about the taste of the food and the popularity of the place. We arrived at 11:30 and there were only 2 other patrons. When we left there was only 1 other patron. This is not the same place which was always very crowded. The bananas looked like they were not fit to be cooked. I ordered ackee and saltfish, which was OK. My friend ordered oxtail which I tasted and it was the worse I have tasted in a long time. I get much better oxtail from restaurants in Toronto than the one I tasted at Hot Pot. What a disappointment!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank olrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something has gone wrong”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have eaten at Hot Pot many times on trips to Jamaica. I look forward to their homestyle approach to Jamaican food. This time the quality and taste of the food as well as the maintenance of the courtyard had deteriorated greatly. The best thing was the carrot juice. The chicken was dry, they were out of oxtails and the rice and peas was bland and almost tasteless. I was telling some Jamaican friends about it the next day and they concurred, the business has deteriorated. The Hot Pot has become a Hot Mess.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BdaTraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best OX tail I had...”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Who cares about the ambiance... This place serves good food... Enjoyed their OX tail, roasted chicken and curried goat... Customer service needs to improve though... We waited for almost 15 minutes for our change and receipts...

Helpful?
Thank Fat sexy and pr... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Local Eats”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you want to taste real Jamaican meals, this is the place for you!!

You get everything from pig tails and breadfruit, "Goongo peas" soup, goat and of course jerk chicken

be sure to try one of their fresh juices or punches also. I recommend the carrot and beet root punch

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank WestIndian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Consisently providing good Jamaican food for 40 years.”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hot Pot is ideally located, good service, excellent food which is reasonably price. A perfect location to visit with friends.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaica07Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Pot also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Hot Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing