We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun stop”
Review of Appleton Estate

Appleton Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$225.00*
and up
St Elizabeth Rum and Waterfall Experience
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Appleton Estate Rum Tour and Tasting from Negril
More Info
$113.98*
and up
Appleton Rum Tour and Black River Safari Tour from Montego Bay and Grand...
Moore, Oklahoma, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fun stop”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a very interesting excursion. The only bad thing I can say is that the roads to the estate were very curvy and made me very motion sick!

We had a lot of fun learning about the history and current making of rum. The tour was very interactive and interesting. They allowed us to taste the molasses and sugar cane juice that was a byproduct of the rum making and at the end we got to sample all of the rums.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    44
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Make that Rum Punch stronger, mon!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is definitely worth adding to your excursion list. It's a must see if you're into alcohol, history, and how things are made. I just went today and my group had a fun time!

The tour was awesome! It lasted for about 30-45 min and they walked us through the rum making process. A few people on the tour got to press out sugar cane by hand and the whole group received a sample. We also got to taste fresh molasses! And of course we has LOTS of samples of different rum :D Let's just say all the tourists were walking out with big smiles! They also give you a free mini bottle of rum on the way out.

Small tip: Its true, the rural roads are a bit rough getting there, but the bumpy ride is worth it. Plus you get to see the beautiful scenery! Also if you are able to stop by some of the food vendors on the way out, you'll please your inner foodie by indulging on local food (fish fry, bammy, festival, pepper shrimp, and local fruit).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LillyfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Rum :)”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was really interesting to see where the rum is made and learn about the process. Guide was fun & knowledgeable. It rained almost the entire time we were there, but that is normal....they have plenty of umbrellas for everyone to stay dry!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWilczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Neat excursion”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very interesting to see how the process is made. Neat walking tour and absolutely loved the tasting at the end. Tour guide very informative and appreciated the small group of people to answer individual questions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historically enlightening”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed this brief tour of the grounds and ditillery. You also get a tasting session after your tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and polite. We would recommend this for a great history of rum and sugar production.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank familytrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appleton Estate also viewed

Clarendon Parish, Jamaica
Jamaica, Caribbean
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Appleton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing