We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dramatic Views from Every Hole”

White Witch Golf Club
Ranked #42 of 276 Outdoor Activities in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the historic 4,000 acre Rose Hall Estate, and sited on 200 acres of lush greenery and rolling countryside, The White Witch Golf Course is carved from the rolling countryside of Jamaica’s historic Rose Hall Plantation and is an 18-hole championship golf course designed by Robert von Hagge and Rick Baril. This 6,758-yard, Par 71 treasure is named for the plantation’s beautiful but wicked 19th century plantation mistress, Annee Palmer. Legend has it that Annee’s ghost still haunts the estate, creating an alluring mystique that has fascinated island natives and visitors for generations. Rated as the #1 Golf Course and #1 in Golf Shop Staff service by Conde Nast Traveler and winner of "Jamaica's Best Golf Course" title at the 2015 World Golf Awards, the White Witch is considered one of the finest golf courses in the Caribbean, characterized by mountainous terrain, cool trade winds, colorful foliage and spectacular ocean views from 16 of its 18 holes.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dramatic Views from Every Hole”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

With the help of a fine caddie by the name of Neil, I managed to get around this spectacular jewel without too many misadventures. As a low handicaper, I appreciated the exceptional design and played the course from the more challenging tees. That said, it ranks among the most beautiful courses and the vistas alone are worth the visit. My caddie Neil made the day especially fun and I've already booked another round for this coming Sunday with him on the bag again. Don't miss a chance to play. Worth every cent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WallStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    39
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great golf with Conroy the caddie”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The course was nice and the views are outstanding but Conroy, our caddie, made the experience memorable. This fella knew everything necessary to make the experience memorable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hh695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I took a beating !!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I joined a good friend while staying at the Grand and played with caddy - Marvin - on his day off. What a great gentleman. This is a wonderful and challenging golf course. Play from the blues - the fairway is more receptive from those tees. Bring your "A" game and don't venture out without hitting some golf balls. If you do and haven't lifted a club in 5 months, you will get what I got - a beating !!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GDKanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

White Witch is a great golf course. My husband wishes he would of golfed here again.
Raneisha Caddy was extremely knowledgeable. High end course, simply beautiful. Very well organized.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular mountain golf with ocean views”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is simply a must play stop for golfers seeking the challenge of a well designed course and casual players looking for wonderful scenery. The course catches your attention from the first tee and never lets go. Many dramatic holes with significant elevation changes. Each hole a world unto itself. Personal favourites were #1, 4, 9 and 17.
The course is always interesting and fair, but you must maintain your concentration and have a deft touch around the greens to play to your handicap.
The caddies are very good at providing target lines, effective playing yardage and reading the speed and break of the Bermuda greens. I had Bridget and Shelley for the two rounds I played and both were excellent.
The greens roll well, but for those northerners like me not used to Bermuda greens, can be tricky. I found I relied heavily on the caddies for the reads and almost always was rewarded for doing so. The conditions were generally good to very good tee to green. My one criticism would be the bunkers need some TLC. A number were washed out and unplayable. Others were merely wet and, with the very fine grain sand used, unpredictable.
All in all, a fun thrill ride of a course that will appeal to golfers of all levels. Don' t miss a chance to play it. After the round treat yourself to a well earned Red Stripe on the upper patio and enjoy the view!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Witch Golf Club also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to White Witch Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing