We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katrina_L...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Horizon Cottages to celebrate our honeymoon. We were expecting paradise and we were in no way disappointed! We were greeted at the airport by Shirley, the property manager. She was terrific! She was so welcoming and friendly. It was a great way to start our trip. Not only did she take the time to take us to a local supermarket to do some grocery shopping, but she stopped at some of the local stands on the way to sample some fresh Jamaican fruit. (We highly recommend the honey bananas!) After a beautiful 45 minute drive though the island, we arrived to the cottages.

We were blown away by the setup! There are two small, private beaches tucked neatly away in a small cove. Roughly 1 mile from the beach is a massive reef that acts as a natural breaker, so the water between the reef and the beach is calm and pristine. And the "yardies" were exceptional! The very charming Hopi, the housekeeper, made sure our cottage was well stocked and very clean. Laga provided us with several amazing meals consisting of fresh seafood and other local foods. And Trevor kept the yard looking great and played the guitar for us. Everybody was so accommodating and made sure all of our requests were fulfilled, exceeding all of our expectations!

We would highly recommend Horizon Cottages to anyone who wants to experience a relaxing trip off the beaten path and enjoy some true local culture, food, and hospitality.
We are already planning a trip to visit them again!

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accommodating staff and breathtaking scenery
Liked least: We only had 1 week to stay.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aNwElNad
Lima, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed August 24, 2011 for a stay in June 2009
2
people found this review helpful

My sister and I stayed at THE wonderful, peaceful, creative, comfortable Sea Ranch Cottage for 10 days the end of June. We have never had such an experience. The cottage is well equiped with everything you need to survive a tropical vacay, blender for drinks in the evening and a coffe grinder and french press for coffee in the AM Oh and a juicer of course, the common kitchen is set up for meal preparation. However we had Laga cook most our meals !!OMG!! or we ate at Dorettes or the cook shop across the road, we did NOT go hungry. =) There are no screens so take bug spray, buy coils there to burn and use the net for the bed at night. My only recomendation would be to add a fan to the porch. The property sits between the road and the sea and is secure with a wall around it, there is traffic sounds during the day but at night all you hear is the sea and a Reggae beat in the dark. It also has its own little beach, approx 10 steps from the blender to the sand! There are no TV's, phones, or aircondition, these are NOT complaints!! Unplug, relax people, =) But there is WiFi available most days by the main house if you must. There are no resorts or large night clubs here, but you will find great people and peace. You WILL leave here a different person. If you can ever bring yourself to leave that is!

Date of stay: June 2009
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whats not to like??
Liked least: Could use a fan on the porch.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewed August 2, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fl.
Reviewed July 28, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ramsgate
Reviewed May 9, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alberta Canada
Reviewed April 20, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Date of stay: March 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed January 5, 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Date of stay: December 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing