We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service in Haiti”
Review of Auberge du Picolet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Picolet
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Certificate of Excellence
Port-au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Service in Haiti”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This charming little hotel on the Boulevard in Cap Haitien offers, by far, the best service I've experienced in Haiti. After living on the island for nearly two years in hotels, I'd become accustomed to waiters, receptionists and managers who seemed to care very little about what clients and guests thought of their establishments. Picolet is different. Not only do all the staff care about the impression they leave, they genuinely want your experience to be excellent. I stayed at Picolet on and off for nearly a year, and after the first week the wait staff had already learned and anticipated my preferences.

Food: Fantastic! The brochette de bouef was a particular favorite.
Location: This is the place to be if you want to experience Cap. Right next door to the most popular restaurant, Lakay, and just around the corner from the pool at Roi Christophe, the location offers the best of all worlds. You can also walk or job safely on the Boulevard.
Rooms: Clean, well decorated, comfortable.
Value: Its worth the price, and certainly a better all-around experience than other similarly priced hotels in the city.

Room Tip: You can request a room with a mini-fridge, but not all room come with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
20
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and myself were visiting a friend in Cap Haitien of all places, and were a little nervous about going to Haiti after all the coverage we saw on the news over the years. It didn't take long to realize that we had nothing to be nervous about. The Haitian people are polite, and although the poverty is hard to handle at times, it is still an experience I feel everyone should get to have. We stayed at Auberge au Picolet, and were treated like family till the day we checked out. It is a very comfortable atmosphere and most important very clean. The food was excellent and the dining room was open almost all the time. The owner Dominik had a welcoming presence and really made us feel like family.
If your looking for a vacation in a beautiful 3rd world country and want to get some culture, trust me go to Cap Haitien, it's safe, and awesome!!

Room Tip: Auberge au Picolet is the cleanest, comfy beds, any room you're good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coreymartinhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel recently and having spent most of my travels in chain hotels this was a wonderful change. I arrived too early to check in so the owner generously gave me a lift around the corner to the mont joli where I could use the pool and easily walk back. By comparison the mont joli is very tired looking. The following day the other co-owner arranged in its entirety a visit to the citadelle - no mean feat. She has a real passion for the country and the city and it was a pleasure to talk with her about a variety of things Haitian. The room was large, had a sea view and was easy to keep bugs from. The room rate included breakfast which was a la carte and delicious although the orange juice is an acquired taste - I would recommend grapefruit instead!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I left the Auberge du Picolet today after a long weekend break in Cap Haitien. We had initially contacted the Mont Joli, as it has a pool, but the email went unanswered and so we contacted the Picolet who provided prompt and comprehensive communication. This turned out to be a stroke of fortune - yes Mont Joli has a pool but you can walk around the corner from the Picolet and use it as a guest if you buy a drink which are cheap.

The sisters who run the Picolet were generous and attentive with their time and provided a level of pro-active concierge service I have never previously had the pleasure of encountering. When they were not on the front desk their staff maintained the high standards of hospitality and customer service they set.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. The bar and restaurant have a colonial oasis feel to them and are priced sensibly.

I will not hesitate to book another stay here and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone needing accommodation in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaymiec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been in Cap Haitien for six nights in May 2013. I have lodged for 1 hight only at hotel du roi Christophe (see my other review for this hotel) and the 5 others at Auberge du Picolet.

This hotel is very well situated, directly facing the sea along a big boulevard. this part of the city is clean, quiet and very safe. there is a boardwalk on the other side of the boulevard where you can walk safely and comfortably for 2 km. The hotel is very near about the Cathedral of Cap Haïtien. There is an access to the beach not far away but you can reach the most beautiful beaches 10 to 20km outside the city on the north-east direction (To Fort Liberté).

The hotel : very very very nice. welcoming you with beautiful hall of entrance. Quiet restaurant providing international quality of food. Free Wi-Fi available in the Hall, in the restaurant and in meeting room but not in individual rooms. The hotel has 28 rooms on two floors very well equipped and very clean. I could rate the hotel as a good 3 STARS... almost a 4 stars. Prize of the rooms is very reasonnable and you can expect a better prize if you stay more than 2 or 3 nights. This hotel is almost totally wheelchair accessible. There are two small steps at the entrance but they can provide with a small ramp for the time of your stay. restaurant is accessible. Meeting room and public toilets have three stairs to give full access. Individual rooms are accessibles.

Staff of the hotel is always available and totally dedicated to the clients. This hotel has a family story and is not member of a big chain. Anyway you can make your reservation on the website of the hotel.

If I return to cap haitien, I will FOR SURE stay again in Auberge Le Picolet which is the best value for your money in Cap Haitien. So I recommend the hotel to any of you without any hesitation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, clean and large. If yoiu use a wheelchair, very important to mention because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Claude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Auberge for 6 years now and it improves every year. Food is excellent; hotel is clean and amenities are added to each year. There are less expensive options in Cap Haitien. This is not roughing it! When we first started going to Cap Haitien in 1998 I did not expect to find such a place. We have stayed in 10$ a night to 150$/ night. You can imagine the difference.
Staff is courteous and most are able to communicate in several languages.
C. Page

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

In a very tough city this hotel makes a welcome home base.
The staff are very friendly. The public areas are very nice.
The food is quite good - felt authentic and home made.
The rooms are very basic. But were immaculately clean.
Air conditioning worked great. Note. They don't supply shampoo or hair dryers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cap-Haitien hotels
2.4 mi away
Cormier Plage Resort
Cormier Plage Resort
#1 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Auberge Villa Cana
Auberge Villa Cana
#5 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Habitation Jouissant
Habitation Jouissant
#2 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Roi Christophe
Hotel du Roi Christophe
#6 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mont Joli
Mont Joli
#8 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Picolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Picolet

Property: Auberge du Picolet
Address: 90 Boulevard du Carenage, Cap-Haitien, Haiti
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Nord Department > Cap-Haitien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Auberge Au Picolet Hotel Cap-Haitien
Auberge Du Picolet Cap-Haitien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing