We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Cap Haitien” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Picolet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cap-Haitien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Picolet
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Cap Haitien”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been in Cap Haitien for six nights in May 2013. I have lodged for 1 hight only at hotel du roi Christophe (see my other review for this hotel) and the 5 others at Auberge du Picolet.

This hotel is very well situated, directly facing the sea along a big boulevard. this part of the city is clean, quiet and very safe. there is a boardwalk on the other side of the boulevard where you can walk safely and comfortably for 2 km. The hotel is very near about the Cathedral of Cap Haïtien. There is an access to the beach not far away but you can reach the most beautiful beaches 10 to 20km outside the city on the north-east direction (To Fort Liberté).

The hotel : very very very nice. welcoming you with beautiful hall of entrance. Quiet restaurant providing international quality of food. Free Wi-Fi available in the Hall, in the restaurant and in meeting room but not in individual rooms. The hotel has 28 rooms on two floors very well equipped and very clean. I could rate the hotel as a good 3 STARS... almost a 4 stars. Prize of the rooms is very reasonnable and you can expect a better prize if you stay more than 2 or 3 nights. This hotel is almost totally wheelchair accessible. There are two small steps at the entrance but they can provide with a small ramp for the time of your stay. restaurant is accessible. Meeting room and public toilets have three stairs to give full access. Individual rooms are accessibles.

Staff of the hotel is always available and totally dedicated to the clients. This hotel has a family story and is not member of a big chain. Anyway you can make your reservation on the website of the hotel.

If I return to cap haitien, I will FOR SURE stay again in Auberge Le Picolet which is the best value for your money in Cap Haitien. So I recommend the hotel to any of you without any hesitation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, clean and large. If yoiu use a wheelchair, very important to mention because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Claude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    34
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
19
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at Auberge for 6 years now and it improves every year. Food is excellent; hotel is clean and amenities are added to each year. There are less expensive options in Cap Haitien. This is not roughing it! When we first started going to Cap Haitien in 1998 I did not expect to find such a place. We have stayed in 10$ a night to 150$/ night. You can imagine the difference.
Staff is courteous and most are able to communicate in several languages.
C. Page

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

In a very tough city this hotel makes a welcome home base.
The staff are very friendly. The public areas are very nice.
The food is quite good - felt authentic and home made.
The rooms are very basic. But were immaculately clean.
Air conditioning worked great. Note. They don't supply shampoo or hair dryers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had an amazing experience there great food great rooms and great service. In the core of the city walking distance to all nightlife and they have ocean view rooms.
Their restaurant is my favorite place to eat in Cap Haitian

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview to wake up in paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ended up staying at Auberge au Picolet out of spite to the rude receptionist at Mont Joli. Before going to Haiti I had researched hotels on various sites and expected to pay what they had suggested!!! Unfortunately you are not able to book on line so its a case of call (I don't speak French) or hope for the best when you turn up Rui Christophe our first choice was full someone called for us while we were on the bus! so we went to the Mont Joli as it was near the bus station, only to be told 1 room left $150 dollars we left promptly and went to Auberge au Picolet they had more rooms available but at the same price..... unbelievable. We had no choice but to stay it was getting dark and we had been traveling all day so $150 it was. Including breakfast.

The room was clean, large had 2 double beds, AC, hot water and cable TV. THis is Haiti not Europe mind you Europe would be cheaper.

The front reception was very nice a small bar restaurant and some chairs around a courtyard. The hotel is situated on the waterfront, don't get excited its sea, then a wall then the partly finished road then the hotel so hardly picturesque.

Reception staff were lovely what more can I say $50 yes but not $150.

We found out eating in Cap Haitien is just as expensive too. Don't go to Haiti on a budget!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellebrown2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Having stopped by in person to reserve a few rooms for that night, I was told to wait a few minutes while they checked availability, who was checking out, etc. fair enough. Two rooms available - return at 2. And at 2 we did return and were told to wait. One busy clerk and a few staff malingering behind counter....hmmm. The ladies who were dealing with said clerk were wondering why their reservation was absent, considering they made it weeks ago for a big wedding in town. I can understand their frustration. So the manager comes out, while they are still goofing these women around and signals to the big table of wedding guests I assume, that our rooms were for them. She did offer me one room. Unacceptable. Unprofessional. Rude. Don't point at a table full of folks and deflect your incompetence.
Anyway, it's a beautiful building, mediocre food, I have yet to see the rooms. I hear they are just fine, but I will not be giving them my business.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank RK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Auberge au Picolet is located at the edge of the old city and looking over the water. As Cap Haitien was wracked with social unrest during my stay it was good to have a place to escape to. The rum sours were cold as well as the Prestige Beers. Breaklfast and dinner was more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DearOldOakParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cap-Haitien hotels
2.4 mi away
Cormier Plage Resort
Cormier Plage Resort
#2 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Habitation Jouissant
Habitation Jouissant
#1 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Roi Christophe
Hotel du Roi Christophe
#4 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Auberge Villa Cana
Auberge Villa Cana
#6 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mont Joli
Mont Joli
#8 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Picolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Picolet

Property: Auberge du Picolet
Address: 90 Boulevard du Carenage, Cap-Haitien, Haiti
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Nord Department > Cap-Haitien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Auberge Au Picolet Hotel Cap-Haitien
Auberge Du Picolet Cap-Haitien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing