We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Habitation Jouissant
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Habitation Jouissant definitely lived up to it's name. I recently visited HJ with my family to celebrate my birthday, I had the time of my life. Mrs. Verne and the other staff were amazing. I would definitely go back for numerous reasons the price and importantly their hospitality.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank thovia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was visiting Cap-Haitian to participate in the Let’s Go Haiti marathon and stayed at the Habitation Jouissant. I have to say the manager, Florence is wonderful. She’s friendly, fluent in english and made me feel right at home. My room was very comfortable, clean and with fantastic views of the sea. The hotel is perched on the side of a hill over looking the sea and I enjoyed eating breakfast every day, looking out over the water with comforting ocean breezes keeping the temperature in check. I told Florence that I don’t normally write reviews, but that I would do so in this case, because she and the staff were so hospitable. I highly recommend it if you’re going to be traveling in Haiti.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra to get a room with a balcony. At night, the breeze off the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had the good fortune to stay at Habitation Jouissant recently and had a wonderful time. Florence and her friendly staff welcomed me and I was right at home. The views are fantastic. The rooms are modern and very comfortable, plenty of TV surfing and Great Internet on the property which sits high above the hussle and bustle of Cap Haitien. The sunrises are spectacular. The restaurant and bar is great. The food servers very warm and attentive. I love this place and look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Faubion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently visited Cap Haitian in the north of Haiti. I stayed at Habitation Jouissant and it has everything that is required to ensure a memorable stay. It is a Boutique Hotel and as such the staff are very attentive warm and professional. Very nice property and when I next visit Cap Haitian I look forward to staying again at Habitiation Jouissant and enjoying a few cold beers on the terrace overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelScown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed there with a large group of 26 for a log week end. Of course we kind of overloaded their slow, provencial, easy going way of business. But the staff was very kind and willing to give us the best experience they could deliver. A welcome cocktail eased us in and we could enjoyed the wonderfull view of the cap haitien bay. Room were international standard, with very good mattress and linen, shower and bathroom up to par. Kitchen was able to feed us correctly, albeit they could not serve the large group at once, and some got their dinner very late. Morning breakfast very creative and healthy. Overall, a nice getaway, with some flaws easily forgiven if you know that the tourist industry is just coming back in this part of the island. Florence, the resident manager and her team really help us to have the best experience in a very challenging environment. Will go back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently had a memorable stay at one of the newer hotels in this area. Starting with a warm greeting by manager Florence and welcome drink from the staff, there were many luxurious and thoughtful delights and surprises in the public areas and in the room. For example fresh Birds of Paradise in the bathroom. The best TV service in this part of the country. Wifi strong everywhere, even in rooms in higher floors. Slippers. Hair dryer. Toothpaste. Mouthwash. The room on an upper level was very private with a great balcony view over the bay of Cap Haitien WITH A TELESCOPE. I woke early as often happens in Haiti, and enjoyed a spectacular sunrise and a chance to scope out the primitive boats in the distance going out to fish.
The food was also superior for dinner and breakfast.
The only drawback is that it is more out of the way than some other hotels in the area, but they are also very proactive in offering rides and otherwise assisting guests who need any help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerE4246UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

we were a group of 12 and we decided to go spend the new year in cap haitian and we'd chosen that hotel called habitation Jouissaint. It was amazing,the host "florence" was very welcoming, the staff was very nice, my room had a king size bed that was very comfortable, the food delicious, everything was perfect there. they have a nice pool, a nice view, a very nice deck . we really felt at home. if you think cap haitian , think habitation Jouissaint, it's the best…..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieLouiseKhoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap-Haitien
2.3 mi away
Cormier Plage Resort
Cormier Plage Resort
#1 of 10 in Cap-Haitien
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mont Joli
Mont Joli
#7 of 10 in Cap-Haitien
120 reviews
5.2 mi away
Auberge Villa Cana
Auberge Villa Cana
#6 of 10 in Cap-Haitien
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Roi Christophe
Hotel du Roi Christophe
#8 of 10 in Cap-Haitien
125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#9 of 10 in Cap-Haitien
47 reviews
152.1 mi away
Abaka Bay Resort
Abaka Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Ile-a-Vache
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation Jouissant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation Jouissant

Address: 202 Habitation Jouissant, Cap-Haitien, Haiti
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Nord Department > Cap-Haitien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Habitation Jouissant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside, Habjo – as it is affectionately nicknamed by the patrons – overlooks the city of Cap-Haitien and boasts a priceless ocean view. The hotel offers luxury, discretion and a personified style. From Wi-Fi to car service to cocktail hours, HabJo has everything to sweeten your stay. The hotel is a 20-minute drive from the airport and a 25-minute drive from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Habitation Jouissant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitation Jouissant Cap-Haitien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing