We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
84
39
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
39
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining area is beautiful a king size bed goat views are fantastic water bottles cap haitian visit haiti fries telescope hill ocean city balcony driver laurier dish yum
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 135 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was visiting Cap-Haitian to participate in the Let’s Go Haiti marathon and stayed at the Habitation Jouissant. I have to say the manager, Florence is wonderful. She’s friendly, fluent in english and made me feel right at home. My room was very comfortable, clean and with fantastic views of the sea. The hotel is perched on the side of a hill over looking the sea and I enjoyed eating breakfast every day, looking out over the water with comforting ocean breezes keeping the temperature in check. I told Florence that I don’t normally write reviews, but that I would do so in this case, because she and the staff were so hospitable. I highly recommend it if you’re going to be traveling in Haiti.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra to get a room with a balcony. At night, the breeze off the water is nice and refreshing.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had the good fortune to stay at Habitation Jouissant recently and had a wonderful time. Florence and her friendly staff welcomed me and I was right at home. The views are fantastic. The rooms are modern and very comfortable, plenty of TV surfing and Great Internet on the property which sits high above the hussle and bustle of Cap Haitien. The sunrises are spectacular. The restaurant and bar is great. The food servers very warm and attentive. I love this place and look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Faubion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently visited Cap Haitian in the north of Haiti. I stayed at Habitation Jouissant and it has everything that is required to ensure a memorable stay. It is a Boutique Hotel and as such the staff are very attentive warm and professional. Very nice property and when I next visit Cap Haitian I look forward to staying again at Habitiation Jouissant and enjoying a few cold beers on the terrace overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelScown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed there with a large group of 26 for a log week end. Of course we kind of overloaded their slow, provencial, easy going way of business. But the staff was very kind and willing to give us the best experience they could deliver. A welcome cocktail eased us in and we could enjoyed the wonderfull view of the cap haitien bay. Room were international standard, with very good mattress and linen, shower and bathroom up to par. Kitchen was able to feed us correctly, albeit they could not serve the large group at once, and some got their dinner very late. Morning breakfast very creative and healthy. Overall, a nice getaway, with some flaws easily forgiven if you know that the tourist industry is just coming back in this part of the island. Florence, the resident manager and her team really help us to have the best experience in a very challenging environment. Will go back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank AlainL729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently had a memorable stay at one of the newer hotels in this area. Starting with a warm greeting by manager Florence and welcome drink from the staff, there were many luxurious and thoughtful delights and surprises in the public areas and in the room. For example fresh Birds of Paradise in the bathroom. The best TV service in this part of the country. Wifi strong everywhere, even in rooms in higher floors. Slippers. Hair dryer. Toothpaste. Mouthwash. The room on an upper level was very private with a great balcony view over the bay of Cap Haitien WITH A TELESCOPE. I woke early as often happens in Haiti, and enjoyed a spectacular sunrise and a chance to scope out the primitive boats in the distance going out to fish.
The food was also superior for dinner and breakfast.
The only drawback is that it is more out of the way than some other hotels in the area, but they are also very proactive in offering rides and otherwise assisting guests who need any help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerE4246UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews