We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Roi Christophe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Roi Christophe
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Providenciales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Safe and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Although many things in Haiti are not what most travelers expect, this hotel has a warm and friendly feel to it and as things go in Cap Haiti it is both safe and clean.
The staff were always pleasant and helpful and the service was good, if not a little slow and somewhat shambolic at times, but at least they tried, visitors have to remember where they are, take a look around the rest of the city and you will appreciate what the hotel is.
The food was average compared to other destinations, however having tried a couple of other establishments it was one of the best places to eat, a little more pricey than other places.
It does seem that aid organisation are keeping the hotel full especially at weekends, but they are building new rooms and these are very comfortable and will be very nice when completed.
All in all one of the better experiences we had in Haiti.......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
20
12
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I made reservation at this hotel 1 month prior to arriving to Haiti with my family for the 1si time. After a long trip,tired, we arrived there and these nasty ladies at the front desk, told me that I have no reservations, and that it was for the day prior to my arrival. Really ! I am a physician ,apps,schedules are how I survive everyday. They made no apologies. They said I was wrong and that they had no rooms. So, here I am with my children and my husband who have never been to my country embarrassed. I had to go all over the city to find very poor accommodations. I would like to thank those nasty front desk clerks for starting my family vacation in the worst way possible. Haitian try to go home and bring their money back home to help the economy and this is how they are welcomed. If I had walked in and said give me a room, I would understand their behavior,bur I made reservations one month prior. Unacceptable and unprofessional. Dr Pierre

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yveslande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cap-Haitien hotels

Port-au-Prince
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel has charm and a good location, but the staff are not charming and the practices are somewhat predatory. We booked for three nights but they lost the reservation (or tried to ignore it) and it was only after a 30 minute discussion that a resolution was worked out. At least we knew that the cost of the hotel room is double what is listed on this website, but what we didn't know was that they added a number of taxes and a surprise fee at the end for using a credit card. There aren't many other hotels in the area, but this hotel is actually not that great and I would recommend trying elsewhere. I had stayed at Mount Joli and that was better. I have heard wonderful things about Auberge du Picoulot (sp?). We also drove by the Hotel Cormier on the beach and it was beautiful - although that hotel is not really in the city and it might be hard for the average tourist to get around from that location.

Room Tip: You may want to pay more to upgrade to a nicer room as the least expensive rooms were not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradfordHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to the Christophe for many years. It has always been an oasis for travelers, especially those who's sensibility are shocked by Haiti. Remembering that this is a third world country, The accommodations are comfortable, even inviting and clean. The food is good. The service is excellent. Management is investing in the problem and it has come a long way from the tired Hotel of just 10 years ago. Increasingly the travelers are more vacationers from DR and not just missionaries and UN workers. Say hello to JonJon.....he's great!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BrettLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed one night in April 2012. Friendly front desk staff (sometimes hard to come by in Haiti). Didn't have a reservation, but qucikly got a room for $80. Nice courtyards and sitting areas in the hotel with old-style architecture.

Room was nice. Comfortable beds, flat screen tv with about 10 US satellite channels, clean bathroom with (kinda) hot water.

The restaurant was just ok. I ordered a pizza (which was only $5 on the menu) and asked for just cheese. It came out with ham, peppers, and onions...and tasted a bit like frozen pop-in-the-oven pizza. Also disappointed to get the bill and be charged $8 which was not the price on the menu.

Breakfast is included and is nice with eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, and juice. Upon leaving, front desk staff gave me recommendations on how much to pay for a moto to the airport which was very nice.

Would definitely stay again, but stay away from the pizza :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Roi Christophe belonged to the first King of Haiti, hence its name. The hotel drips authentic colonial charm, with period architecture and rambling gardens, as well as a fine collection of haitian crafts. Our room was a stunning colonial period piece, overlooking the inner courtyard. Cleanliness of the room was impeccable, and as Haiti goes, there were very few mosquitos. The staff are wonderful. The restaurant has an excellent menu.

If you would like to experience the charm and historicity of Haiti, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lutetia75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed two nights, while visiting Le Cap. Great spot to rest and use as base for trips to the different attractions nearby. Walking distance from the main square and in the historic district. Comfortable, old building, with all modern commodities, which seem even more so in these parts, surrounded by a peaceful garden. The pool is an oasis under the trees. Great breakfast included in room price.

Room Tip: They have new rooms but the old building has a more authentic and historic feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cap-Haitien hotels
2.4 mi away
Cormier Plage Resort
Cormier Plage Resort
#3 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.8 mi away
Auberge Villa Cana
Auberge Villa Cana
#6 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mont Joli
Mont Joli
#8 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Habitation Jouissant
Habitation Jouissant
#1 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rival Hotel
Rival Hotel
#9 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Roi Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Roi Christophe

Property: Hotel du Roi Christophe
Address: 24 B, Cap-Haitien 33340, Haiti
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Nord Department > Cap-Haitien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Roi Christophe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Roi Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Roi Christophe Hotel
Hotel Du Roi Christophe Cap-Haitien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing