We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and impressive”
Review of Visa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Visa Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and impressive”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable, great food, professional and friendly staff, and very private. It’s an old place in needs of renovation, but well kept. I felt completely safe when I was there; they have cameras all over the place, and the security guards were discreet, but they were there. The front desk was very flexible when I wanted to change my reservation, and I was even allowed to check in early. The hotel was clean, my room was always clean, the pool was clean and inviting…. It was very quiet; I woke up every morning to the sound of the birds singing. The reason I chose this hotel was because of their shuttle from and to the airport, but the continental breakfast was a plus. I was impressed.

Room Tip: The largest rooms are between room 20 to 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skittles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
5
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaiano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Visa Lodge hotel on a business trip to Haiti during the last week of August 2012. I’ll start off on a positive note. One of the young ladies at the Front Desk is absolutely the best thing about the hotel. She speaks fluent English as well as French and Creole and is very, very helpful. Customer Service from this young lady was the best.

The hotel is located in an industrial area so banish any thoughts of stepping out to purchase anything or to stretch your legs. In the Lobby area there were three (3) desk top computers which were covered with a healthy serving of dust. They were also very, very slow. Right behind the area with the computers was the bar/restaurant. My best advice while in this country is to be aware of drinks that are mixed just prior to serving. Water quality can be an issue so use bottled water for drinking, mixing beverages etc. The food area attracted a number of flies so one had to be very careful about the selections of food and beverages. I only consumed sealed (single serve) food items for this area.

The rooms are duplex units. The main entrance is a wooden door but there is also a double glass sliding door on the other side or each unit. I stayed in two (2) different rooms while I was there and in both cases, one could not be entirely sure that the wooden door was locked while inside the room. In one of the rooms, a metal wire hanger was bent around the door handle to the sliding door to secure the door.

The AC takes forever to cool down to a tolerable temperature. Hot water only remains available for a couple minutes while showering and the bathroom in one of the rooms emitted a horrible odour that reeked of a sewer problem.

The ladies who clean the rooms and some members of the customer service staff in the restaurant were very pleasant.

Room Tip: I don't know that this hotel has any good rooms but if one must stay here, do not chose rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port-au-Prince hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for one night because it's closer to the airport and the car rental place.We were flighting out the next day.We didn't like like the location but it was covenient. The room and bathroom was cleaned. Breakfast was included in the rate but choices were limited.I did not like tthe idea of the refillable bottle of water in the mini refrigerator. An regular bottle of water doesn't cost that much. Overall , it was OK for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently spend seven nights at the Visa Lodge, I found it clean, friendly and quiet during the day and night, on Sunday 09/09/12 there was a celeberation which ended before 16.00hrs.

The buffet lunch was very good, in fact much better than the dinner, breakfast was not so good as it was the same each morning, if you fresh fruits, bananas should be kept out of the fridge, because each morning the banana skin was dark; instead of the normal yellow colour of a ripen banana.

I would recommend this lodge and would stay there again, the staff was really helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Headley636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The rooms are fine (old and worn, but clean), and include a mini-fridge with a refillable bottle of safe drinking water, a television, and a telephone, and working A/C. Only out intermittently with power outages. The pool is very clean and refreshing. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. The restaurant service is very, very slow. Count on 2 hours for your dinner to be served. That's just part of being in Haiti. I felt very safe the entire stay there and would stay there again. Great foods: Chicken Creole, pizza, gelato. Great non-alcoholic mango smoothies.

Room Tip: Get as close to the office as possible if you want wi-fi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived just for one night on our way south. My traveling companion and I got a room with two beds in a bungalow style set up and it was quite comfortable. The a/c worked great and the bathroom was clean. The room was clearly worn (hole in bathroom door and in the wall) but for Haiti...
The pool was clean and inviting though we did not swim. The restaurant had decent food for dinner though not cheap, and the service was painfully slow (not unlike the rest of the country).
Still, probably the best option for something near the airport. Arrange for the hotel to pick you at the airport, otherwise, you'll probably get ripped off with a taxi. They will also arrange for you to return to the airport for free (plus tip of course).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, OR
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Have been to the Visa lodge for their lunch buffet and breakfasts every time we fly into Port-au-Prince. We always look forward to the lunch buffet, with the excellent squash and variety of foods, as well as desserts. Have never had problems drinking the fruit drinks and ice with their certified safe drinking water as well. We eat outside by the pool. We've never stayed there though, since it's our first stop on the way to our medical work.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed there, so can't advise on this, although I'm sure it's more luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MultnomahOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port-au-Prince hotels
3.0 mi away
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
#1 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Plaza Hotel
Le Plaza Hotel
#3 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Servotel
Servotel
#2 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#19 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Habitation Hatt
Hotel Habitation Hatt
#10 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
48 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Oloffson
Hotel Oloffson
#4 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visa Lodge

Property: Visa Lodge
Address: Route des Nimes, Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Port-au-Prince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Visa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Visa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visa Hotel Port Au Prince
Visa Lodge Haiti/Port-Au-Prince

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing