We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Caribbean's Island for a complete day of fun”
Review of Labadee

Labadee
Ranked #2 of 65 things to do in Haiti
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area located in northern Haiti that is famous for its striking natural beauty and great beaches.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Royal Caribbean's Island for a complete day of fun”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I didn't know what to expect for our stop in Haiti. I even thought I might not get off the ship, however, so glad I changed my mind. The ship docks right there so passengers just have to walk off the pier and onto the beach. I feared that chairs would be limited but found that they were abundantly available. They had food set up in a few different places as well as cabanas where you could relax and purchase cocktails. There were activities for guests -the one most intriguing was a zip line from the forest area over water to the beach. Labadee was the last stop and with being really tired, we just laid under a palm tree all day. What a great day!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Glamadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    557
    240
    82
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Caribbean Dream!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our visit to this lovely area of Haiti was extememly memorable. The zip line is the longest continuous line in the world over water.The ride was fabulous-and the instruction and preparatory ride was so appreciated by everyone. You will not regret this experience-where else can you fly over the ocean beside a lovely island? The beach area while lovely was a good walk to the swim area. There are many people who work on the island ready to help you but be prepared to bring tip money. So appreciated by the people on the island and they work so hard to make your stay a good one from finding chairs on the beach to handing you towels in the rest rooms.
There are many vendors to sell you goods; if you do not want to barter or feel pressured to buy, do your shopping in the covered buildings.
The island is gorgeous and there is lots to explore if the sun is shining. Would love to return to this lovely island one day!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Private beach and not a Haiti stop”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently stopped at Labadee for day as part of a RCCL trip. Plan for a day at beach and not a "Haiti excursion" as you are limited to a private point of land and nothing specifically Haitian about it that we noticed - even the local artisan artwork included things like Michael Jackson portraits mixed in.
We got multiple beach chairs in the shade of a tree and had a good day of just lying on the beach, occasional swims, walking around, etc. Lunch was bbq of burgers and hot dogs with salads - simple but good and if had wanted fancier it was an easy walk to go back to the ship for lunch on board. Washrooms were fairly large and easy to find. Bars operated by ship so nice to be able to simply charge it to room on seapass without keeping lot of money on hand so all could go in water. However, if you do want to purchase from local market it is cash only there.
17 year old rode the zip line and said it was great - although it should be at $92 for one ride. However, they seemed to fill all the slots so I guess supply and demand at work on the cost.
Sounds like the smaller beaches may have better sand. Our beach area was at the end under the zip line as crowd was not quite so bad there when we arrived. It had nice sand until got in the water where it turned to sharp rocks/coral plus sea cucumbers to step on. Take water shoes if plan to spend much time in the water. The swim area was limited to area behind the breakwall to prevent access to the big wave areas but still got some wave movement into the area. Although thought priced high for vinyl wrapped foam would recommend spending the $12 to rent the floating beach mat if want to play in the waves as everyone in our group got cuts/bruises/cucumber stings to varying degrees. We found that one mat would easily let two people float around although more fun just for one.
Definitely want to take tip money as only some staff are from the ship. Helpful staff available when arrive to get beach chairs set up and blue shelters if want them but separate from ship staff so looking for tip. You can set up your own chair easily enough but it was helpful to have someone help show us a couple of open options with the shade we were looking for. And you probably can't get a blue shelter without a tip as not out anywhere to get them. Bathroom staff standing around looking for tips and the show stopped after every dance and asked for tips. Merchant area was VERY annoying to walk through but did not have anything of interest for us and polite when said not interested - just had to say it over and over and over and over as each booth only a few feet wide.
We had great weather with bright sun and light breeze all day and our group enjoyed the day. However it was very much like being at a resort and simply sitting around outside with limited options to do anything else. To point that oldest went back to ship mid afternoon and two younger probably would have except they could not board without us.
Plan on a quiet day with lots of sunscreen and perhaps a few refreshments.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
14 Thank rustyhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sandbar island tour - Labadee”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was ore ally not looking forward to this stop, but since we were booked for my Girlfriend's birthday, we thought we would make the best of it. We took the Sandbar island tour through RCL, & I was a bit skeptical. But the boatride ( about 25 min) was a very relaxing ride with great scenery & a great crew. They made sure we had beverages (4 beer for 10.00), punch (alcoholic & non). We then arrive to our private little island, & were provided with float mats & allowed to explore. It was such a relaxing afternoon, & then we were sad that it had all come to an end. It was well worth the price & I would highly recommend this to anyone.. Still makes me sad to know how much the Haitians have suffered, especially seeing this magnificent part of the island & wish them all the best to get themselves back to some sort of normality.. They seem like a very hardy people, & was just wishing we could do more. But enough of the politics. Just go & enjoy!!!
Rita & Louis :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Bigrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“royal caribbean port of call”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we enjoyed our day in this port of call. As others have noted, it is not an island, but a peninsula owned and operated by Royal Caribbean. As such, the excursions are all managed by the boat and the same meal and beverage plans apply. We enjoyed the beaches and the sun. But, beware of the rocky coastline as you transition from the beach to the ocean. There is shopping on this port of call. vendors are licensed by the cruise line. We find the little market enjoyable, but the walkway was the worst of all tourist shopping. The shop owners were pushy and too aggressive. Royal Caribbean would be well served by policing this better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank leojtracnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Labadee also viewed

Cap-Haitien, Nord Department
Labadee, Nord Department
 

Been to Labadee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing