We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and jungle driving thru”

Route de la Traversee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a scenic drive through the mountains and feast your eyes on the tropical landscape of the Caribbean.
Breda, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and jungle driving thru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I would have liked to drive thru this magnificent park with my own car.. Bettter then with the Corsa rental.....Nevertheless awesome!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThieuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    209
    57
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Adventure all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Me and four of my friends have decided to rent a care for the time we spent in Gwada. Since we are in our twenties we are not that much of experienced drivers, and times to times the Route gets a little funky.

However it is a great way to spend your time.
The nature is absolutely amazing and there are several things you should absolutely visit on the Route. Amongst those definitely is the Adventurous park and Watterfalls that are absolutely stunning!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TerezaT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Special drivers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you drive for the first time on the roads of Guadeloupe, you will be surprised by the driving habits of local people, which are very opposite to their usual behaviour in all other space of daily life. But relax, they are used to tourists and, perhaps, they are just giving you something to talk about when you come back home !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanfrancois_barral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A lovely way to see the rainforest quickly and get a nice sense of Basse Terre. Nice stops along the way either for the views or activities. We stopped at the Crayfish Waterfall, which I reviewed separately.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glodziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar,CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good road....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The route through Basse Terre is the Route de Traverse -- from the west or ocean side, it is windy but the pavement is nice wide and the only challenge is being in the right gear to go UP hill -- it is steep. But is is a short drive and over before you know if you are stopping.

From the airport or PtP side the road is even easier -- more gentle sloping -- really a very good highway with lot of jumping off places for other things to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GLWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route de la Traversee also viewed

Parc National, Basse-Terre Island
Parc National, Basse-Terre Island
 
Parc National, Basse-Terre Island
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 

Been to Route de la Traversee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing