We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amaudo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Relais du Moulin(Sainte-Anne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
La Metisse(Saint Francois)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bwa Chik Hotel & Golf(Saint Francois)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Cocoteraie(Saint Francois)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Diwali(Sainte-Anne)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ti'Village Creole(Sainte-Anne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
468
67
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
67
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolrental caryogurtwonderful viewsmall hotelgrande terrebreakfast was deliciousoverlooking the oceancharming hotelcaribbean seaon trip advisorfabulous placefirst floorgenuine hospitalityminute driveresidential areawonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 547 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We had a wonderful time. We were greated with fresh flowers in our room and cocktails. My daughter loved the pool and did not want to leave it. We did not travel into town for food but ate the breakfasts at the hotel. We had some snacks in the fridge. The area was great for visiting. There was a lot of traffic though getting around the island so we took some back roads. The couple running the hotel were great and gave us excellent restaurants in St. Francois for dinner. The hotel is very quiet and relaxing. The yard is beautiful and the couple worked hard everyday to keep it manicured. We walked on the beach behind the hotel but did not swim. The walkway from the hotel to the beach was completely grown over so we had to walk down from the end of the street. We were loaned a laptop and had internet in our room. There is no phone in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We had originally made reservations to stay at one of the large, all-inclusive resorts in Guadeloupe. But in the aftermath of the January-February 2009 general strike in Guadeloupe, the resort didn't reopen in time for our vacation. We still had our airline tickets from the U.S.A., however. What to do? Through a fortunate referral from our prospective car rental dealer, we learned about the Amaudo Hotel. It is rare to find individuals who will do so much to help potential guests as did Francis and his wife Betty. They were able to accommodate us on this short notice for all but one day, and helped us to find other accommodations for that day as well. They arranged for us to be picked up by taxi due to our late night arrival at the airport, and then the next morning the owner personally drove us into St. Francois to pick up our rental car. Throughout our stay, Betty and Francis went out of their way to make recommendations for restaurants or for other visits that would most closely fit our requests. Francis's wry sense of humor added further delight. My wife is a fluent French speaker, but even my more halting French was sufficient to get along well. On the other hand, if one knew no French at all, I can imagine that communication could be difficult.

This is a small hotel, with everything done right. It is very cheerful, clean, surrounded by beautiful trees and plants. It is also very quiet--unless you are particularly troubled by hearing roosters in the surrounding countryside. And if roosters aren't your thing, then just close the door to your private veranda and let the air conditioning do its job for you. The a/c worked very well--and was also nice and quiet.

Others have commented on the relatively expensive breakfasts, and I'd agree. It was perfect and really lovely for our first morning, but thereafter we took care of breakfast independently. There is a refrigerator in the room, so you can have at least a start to breakfast right away, and then it's a 10-15 minute drive into town to get delicious croissants, coffee, etc.

We ventured one day on foot down the quite steep hill that leads to the beach below. It was almost deserted, and was certainly fun. However, other days we drove to the more famous beaches such as La Caravelle, and this extra drive was worth the effort. La Caravelle in St. Anne is no more than a half hour away by car, and the gorgeous sandy beach with clear water and even some areas for snorkelling are hard to beat--probably anywhere. Given the extraordinary beaches of Guadeloupe, we really had little need for the pool on the grounds of the hotel. We never saw anyone else using it either--probably for the same reason. But it is well tended and appears to be very clean.

Finally, a word about location. Is this an ideal place to call "home" for a week in Guadeloupe? Unless you are very oriented towards exploring the more distant parts of Basse Terre, I think that it is. It's about midway between St. Anne, which has such an incredible beach, and the marina area of St. Francois, which has enough interesting restaurants to provide variety every day. It was also very convenient for getting down early in the morning to catch a day trip cruise to Petite Terre leaving from St. Francois--the Awak boat trip is tons of fun, and also highly recommended. We did a two-day loop down to Basse Terre, with one overnight stay there, and then returning to the Hotel Amaudo. This worked out well, particularly since there can be some heavy traffic jams between St. Anne and Pointe-a-Pitre, and it was nice not having to go through these with the frequency that actual day trips would require. Finally, I might mention that if a day trip gets you in the vicinity of Le Moule, the Edgar Clerc museum is very interesting for gaining a better understanding of the colonial and post-colonial periods in the Caribbean as a whole and Guadeloupe in particular--but be forewarned that most of the explanatory information is in French.

Jon, U.S.A., April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arienzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I stayed in the hotel for 9 nights with my parner and we both liked it very much.
The owners are fantastic people, extermely helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is situaded in tranquil surroundings, overlooking a bay.
Rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean.
Bathroom good size.

The only down point was breakfast, it is too pricey for what you get I think. It costs 12 euros and you are server coffe/ tea, fruit juice, bread basket medium size, fruit plate, pot of yoghurt, very small pot of jam and honey. It'd be justified to pay half price for all that. We ended up having breakfast in the hotel only twice and after that we'd drive to bakery in St. Francois or St. Anne.

Apart from that everything about this place is absolutely perfect. We had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewelinaprk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Wonderful little hotel. Very good value for money. Great rooms, all seaview, nice romantic breakfast, great pools. Incomparable too; a thousand times better than Caraib Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheTravellingDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Terrific hotels with the best possible view of the carribean. Rooms are small but very tidy, balcony is lovely, bedding is fresh and comfortable, great bathroom.
The owners are very welcoming people but you need to speak some french to be able to get by, it appies to the whole island though.
The grounds have a great infinity pool. The location is good in a sense that it's close to the charming town of St. Fransois but don't expect nice beaches on that side of the island, except the one on club Med grounds (it says private but everyone is using it)
The breakfast is a bit pricy and you'd be better off driving 5 min to St. Fransois and grabbing a bite in the old port there.
Try Iguana Cafe, one of the best restaurants in the carribean, expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uniqum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews