We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem in Guadeloupe!”
Review of Hotel Amaudo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amaudo
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This small charming hotel (10 rooms) is perfectly located in Grande Terre (the drier east half of Guadeloupe) at Anse a la Barque, only a few minute drive from the town of Saint-Francois, isolated from any traffic, about a 3 minute drive from the highway (route nationale). The manicured grounds, buildings and pools face south with gorgeous views of a small bay and the ocean. The rooms, all with ocean views, are comfortable and nicely decorated. The optional breakfast provides excellent variety for all tastes, with great coffee, fresh fruit and fresh breads and pastries.
As if all this wasn't enough, the real gem is the couple running the hotel, Betty and Francis. They are simply the friendliest and most welcoming people we have come across in a long time, and they make the experience all worth it.
To visit the island, you will need a rented car (good options at the airport). We did various day trips exploring and enjoying stunning scenery: touring Grande-Terre, touring the north half of Basse-Terre (more mountainous and tropical western half of Guadeloupe), going to Sainte-Anne and the beach, and taking a ferry over to Les Saintes islands. There is much to do in Guadeloupe and one week is definitely too short, we have a lot more to see and explore! Every meal we had was great! Saint-Francois also has some of the best restaurants in all of Guadeloupe, where both fine French food as well as local fare is served.
In summary, we fell in love with this group of islands and its people, and will soon return!

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RumRunner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 504 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Amaudo hotel is not a palace, it is much better and unique.
You feel like at home in a dream place, beyond the usual standards.
It is a "hotel de charme" where we enjoyed family-style ambience, disscussions and accommodation. No commercial smiles, only friendly ones.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the view is exceptional.
Fruit-based breakfast is highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms. Book in advance a top-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sorin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

If you are not into holiday clubs and big hotels then this is the place to be.
Amaudo is a charming small hotel with only 11 rooms, all equipped with Wifi.
They all have sea view and are well equipped. We had a very kind welcome, we found flowers on the bed and a punch cocktail was waiting for us in the fridge ;-)

We recommend you to take the breakfast downstairs: fresh baked bread, croissants, pain au chocolat, fresh fruit, yoghurt (if you wish for that) tea, coffee, chocolat chaud, juice.... A perfect place to start your day. We only thought they started serving a bit late: 07h30 => probably better would be to start serving at 06h30 - 7 am as days start "early" in the Carribean. However when an "exception" needs to be made due to an excursion, it is possible.

We believe it is a very nice and romantic place for couples, friends or singles. However may be less suitable for families with small(er) children due to the swimmingpool.
(no pool for small kids).
Anse a la Barque is a nice area from where a lot of things can be done: hiking, cycling, surfing, eating, snorkling, swimming, diving, canoeing, local markets (le Moule on wednesday evening) etc...

We really enjoyed our stay also due to the personal attention you get from the people working there. They are all very kind and very service minded. Most of the guests are French speaking people from France, Belgium, Switserland, Canada. Some will be Dutch, like us, Italian or any other nationality.

Anyway, Amaudo is a real good adress that will bring you good memories!
No regrets!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Repelsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

If you looking to stay in Grand Tarre this is a great choice. The sea view room had a lovely view and a very nice private balcony. Breakfast was expensive, but, was also the best coffee I had the entire trip. Maybe go for breakfast one time, get your bearings in town, and then you'd be set for the trip. I wouldn't spend all of my time here as Basse Tarre felt like it had a bit more "going on" and added a great dimension to the trip. Le Poivrier in St. Francois was a nice dinner, and the lobster fricacie at Le Zagaya was at the top of the food list. The best court bullion (though simple and probably more suited to lunch) I had on the trip was at Cafe Zig Zag in St. F.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmasterflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We had read the excellent reviews of Amaudo on Tripadvisor - and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is indeed nice, quiet and clean. A few things were missing though. Strangely enough, there are no sun parasols (not sure if this is the correct term) by the pool - and the trees only give limited shade. If you, like us, come straight from Northern Europe or the northern US, you are almost bound to get a sunburn at Amaudo's (otherwise very nice) pool. Also, the place has a very nice bar-type area where they serve good breakfasts. However, that's it. You cannot buy a drink there, or a sandwich or whatever else you might fancy while lying by the pool. Another minor insufficiency are the TVs. Our TV old and around 17" (I think). These days, with larger flatscreens being so affordable, that's a bit cheap. Also, finding the place was a hassle. It wasn't too difficult to find the road that the hotel is on - but there are no indications whatsoever once you get to the hotel. We were told that an old sign apparently says "Amaudo", but even in daylight, you don't notice the sign, and even if you do, it is impossible to see what it says. Fix those things, and the place will be basically perfect. I should add that the two caretakers were very attentive and nice. If it wasn't for them, I would probably have given Amaudo four stars and not five. In any case, I would definitely recommend to the place to my friends and I would stay there again (although staying on the more mountanous other half of the island makes where most excursions go to makes more sense).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatevernameuwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is the best place on Guadeloupe! Our stay at Amaudo was so memorable...The rooms and grounds are so clean, with balconies overlooking the ocean..Ahh, the sweet ocean air..It's quiet and serene..The infinity pool is the most beautiful! So refreshing overlooking the ocean..The breakfasts are abundant with fresh tropical fruits, and awesome breads..The hosts Betty and Francis are ever so alert to your needs...While Betty is taking care of details, Francis is continously making you laugh..They truly go the extra mile in making your stay comfortable...Amaudo actually feels like a B&B more than a hotel....I would definately return...Oh..Ask Betty to set you up for a massage! She will come to you and she's great!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagemeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed at the Amaudo hotel for a full week with my mother. Every aspect was great: the room was beautiful and clean with a wonderful view, the infinity pool had an amazing view on the ocean, the breakfast was delicious. But perhaps what made this hotel different for us were the hotel caretakers Francis and Betty. Both were very welcoming and provided us with much useful information on the island. Francis took the time to sit with me and make a number of suggestions as to what was worth visiting, best beaches, etc.

One thing is that, as others pointed out, you do need a rental car to get around on the island and from the hotel. But this was fine with us since it provided the opportunity to get to know the culture better and visit different areas (something you don't often get to do when staying in a all-inclusive resort). We loved Amaudo and were a bit sad to leave their grounds and say good bye to Francis and Betty. But we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francois
12.5 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
132 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Metisse
La Metisse
#2 of 8 in Saint Francois
261 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux
Hostellerie des Chateaux
#3 of 8 in Saint Francois
231 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amaudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amaudo

Address: Anse a la Barque, Saint Francois 97118, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Saint Francois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Price Range: $151 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amaudo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AMAUDO , built in colonial style overlooks the bay "Anse à la Barque" situated at a short distance from the city center of Saint-François. Facing the sea and surrounded by well arranged gardens, this charming hotel is a haven of peace and comfort. The overflowing pool in front of the panoramic view invites you to relax and daydream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Amaudo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaudo Hotel St François
Hotel Amaudo Guadeloupe/Saint Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing