We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and Fun New Year Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie des Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Guadeloupe for the first time recently. We read the reviews for Hostellerie des Chateaux and thought it sounded perfect for a couple of Americans hitting a French Caribbean Island.

Michel, the proprietor, and his staff are amazing. They are patient and helpful. Michel waited up for us - we arrived late on our first night. He made us feel welcome and, generously, spoke English since our French is limited to the basics. Very, very basic. He helped us arrange a rental car, which is necessary given the location of the hotel on the island. You will need to be able to drive the few miles to Saint Francois for most of the restaurants, grocery, etc.

Breakfast is served daily around the pool, which is a great time to meet the others staying at the hotel. With only 8 total rooms, you will get to know your fellow travelers. Even though they were all French Speakers, most of them spoke English and were thoughtful enough to interact with us in English.

The beaches are as varied as you can imagine. There are rocky cliffs, white sand beaches and everything in between. There are crowded beaches that make you feel a part of a fun beach day and total empty beaches in which you won't see another person for hours. You can hike to beaches close by or drive to beaches close and far. If you are interested in a more "naturalist" scene or want everyone wearing suits "American style" (ie bottom AND top), you can find it. My husband and I went to beach after beach after beach and no two were the same.

The food at Hostellerie des Chateaux was amazing. We had 3 dinners here and they were our best meals in the island. That is saying a lot since we hardly had a bad meal (and that includes lunches from food trucks on the municipal beach in Saint Fracois). We never grabbed lunch at the hotel but the dinners were incredible. My husband enjoyed the "dinner du jour" each night while I ordered off the menu. The dinner du jour was usually fantastic island seafood. The beef carpaccio was a perfect appetizer. The pasta dishes were better than many Italian restaurants in the US. I had the pasta bolognese and carbonara. Fantastic!

We stayed in the Petite Terre room in the main building. It was large and had a king bed. I was so surprised by the size of the room and the very large bathroom. The location was perfect since it was just steps from the pool. My only caution is that you remember that this isn't the Ritz on Miami Beach. This is an older home in the Caribbean that has been turned into a restful, fun hotel. The staff cleans the rooms daily, so it was clean and comfortable - we were pleased.

There are many places to visit in the world and this one has now been checked of our bucket list. But, I see us coming back to get to know this island and our friends at Hostellerie des Chateaux even better.

Room Tip: We never saw the bungalows, but for a long stay, I believe they have an outdoor kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HLJKDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 233 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stumbled across this place whilst driving around the Island. We were in luck as we had the last room available.

We were in Petite - Terre which is a lovely spacious room right next to the Restaurant, with great bath, however on closer inspection the floor was badly marked, there were cracks in walls and peeling paint and varnish. The room needs attention.

That aside the owner was very welcoming and the food was really good. We loved the pool just a step away from our room. Breakfast was lovely and served on the other side of the pool.

We only stayed for one night as we were travelling the whole island. Please note Wifi is not available at the hotel and we needed to go down to the town to access .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_n_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

In late April (2013), my wife and I spent a relaxing week at Hostellerie des Chateaux. Michel, the proprietor, treats all his guests with warmth and provides help or assistance with planning trips to local destinations and activities. One of the big advantages of staying at the Hostellerie des Chateaux is that Michel is fluent in French and English (and German) and can help guests plan their day trips. Given that almost all the tourists come from mainland France and that the residents (shop owners, etc.) primarily only speak French, Guadeloupe may be a bit off-putting. Americans should note that Guadalupe is a department of France, similar to one of the U.S. states, and is not an independent country. Although, Michel’s multi-language fluency made our stay there much more enjoyable, our French phrasebooks and my wife’s high school French allowed us to get by outside Michel’s “compound.”

Hostellerie des Chateaux is a small hotel with the primary accommodations consisting of individual bungalows built by Michel after he acquired the property. The bungalows are pleasant and functional. One of the key features is an air conditioning unit that is extremely quiet (not the typical racket with hotel room air conditioners when they turn on and off). There is also a small outdoor kitchen area that we used sparingly. For me, another key amenity was the enormous pool located adjacent to the restaurant; the water was pleasantly cool and crystal clear.

For dinner, the onsite restaurant almost solely caters to the guests with a few locals “in the know.” We understand that a new resident chef was brought in soon after our departure, but during our stay under the previous chef, the food was excellent and included a mix of seafood, grilled meats, pasta, and variations of local dishes. The morning breakfast (included in the room rate) is served in the pavilion adjoining the pool and consisted of fresh fruit and breads, yogurts, etc. with cooked items upon request. The coffee was rich and flavorful (a stark contrast to most American hotels).

Tourists looking for upscale entertainment and accommodations probably should stick to other Caribbean destinations. Guadeloupe seems to be trapped in time a bit. Tourism to Guadeloupe peaked out in the 1980s or so and there are reminders of the downturn (closed hotels, restaurants, and a derelict feeling in portions of the towns). But for the somewhat adventuresome, Guadeloupe provides uncrowded beaches and restaurants. The residents are generally friendly, although I ran into some localism when surfing the reefs off Saint Francois. Key destinations for visitors should include a snorkeling or scuba diving visit to the Cousteau Underwater Reserve (on the west side of Basse-Terre) and a catamaran trip to the Îles des Saintes (islands off the south coast of Grand-Terre) that have great snorkeling and are home to a local species of iguana. You also might not want to miss the rum factory near Le Moule. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great stay in one of the bungalows. The bungalows are big and clean, and the kitchen in the back is handy if you want to stay home and prepare some food. The rooms are cleaned everyday, which we discovered is not so common in other hotels in Guadeloupe. The owner Michel is very helpfull, and speaks English. Overall, it is a well managed hotel in a good location. We can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travellingdutchie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is 15min drive from Saint Francois and 30min from St. Anne, so it is not a stonethrow. If you have a car and are looking for excellent peaceful hotel - this is the place!
The owner is a true householder, very friendly and open and super helpful.
The restaurant prices are okay but cook is good and atmosphere is very friendly.
The rooms are big and clean.
I can recommend it blindly!

Room Tip: We have been offered Petite Tierre and Dominiue, and PT was better I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veross333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

When traveling for just you, a couple or a small family this is ideal. You can feel the influence of France. On a beautiful beach, clean, food is excellent and they will adapt to your needs, pool, restaurant. Good hiking trails and owner, Michel, is a source of great help, We will come again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdcnyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean, functional and excellent food. 8 bungalows clustered around the pool and restaurant provides an intimate tropical setting for the property. Close to some amazing beaches a good hiking trials, plus some traces of caribbean history, provide plenty of opportunities to explore. Michel, the owner, is excellent and one of the most friendly and hospital hosts i have evr encountered. Bravo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francois
8.3 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
514 reviews
20.7 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#2 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Sainte-Anne
946 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Metisse
La Metisse
#2 of 8 in Saint Francois
268 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bwa Chik Hotel & Golf
Bwa Chik Hotel & Golf
#4 of 8 in Saint Francois
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie des Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie des Chateaux

Address: 1 Pointe des Chateaux, Saint Francois 97118, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Saint Francois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Price Range: $130 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 4 bungalows, 4 rooms in the main house and a restaurant around a large swimingpool in a tropical garden with a nice seasight. We are located near the reserve of Pointe des châteaux and the nices beaches in Guadeloupe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie des Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Des Chateaux Guadeloupe/Saint Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing