We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place-but lots to know”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place-but lots to know”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Some bits and pieces: Kitchen 1st - only a 1/2 size fridge, very small freezer compartment, only 1 small ice tray, no preparation cutlry(paring knives, cutting knives, cutting boards etc). No microwave, oven or blender. 4 cup coffee pot-no filters, only a John Wayne can opener! - BUT adequate storage and counter space and 2 burner stove works well - our villa had a huge serving opening from the kitchen to the deck that was great.
TAXIs - price will kill you 40-50 Euros form + to airport. 10-15 euros for 1.5 mile trip to St Anne - recommend you rent a car. Market in St Anne is 1.5 miles and has reasonable selection + prices - . If you can catch a bus to the La Toubana turnoff - its only .70 euros @ - then the walk up the steep hill. Euros only available at Airport - but you can get from ATM in St Anne. Beach is down a STEEP hill - but worth it - Paninis at beach=5 euros, beer=5.5 euros. Lots of lounges at beach. Pool is fantastic - limited lounges but never a problem.
Everyone SMOKES - beware - this is like Eupore in the 70's!.
Front staff is nice, but very unresponsive and speak little English - hope you don't need maintenace.

Overall - great - I would go back again

Room Tip: ask for ocean view(vs garden)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    345
    136
    53
    29
See reviews for
158
564
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Mainly for people who live on the island, if you are actually travelling, you'll find out that 3 days are more than enough: a la carte menu with not much choice, restaurant staff unfriendly and no service at the swimming pool unless you consider dying by dehydration. Rusty gym, No entertainment, pool and beach furniture old and unclean but since 2/3 of the hotel faces the Club Med you would enjoy the noise and the crazy signs during your stay... Restorative, forget it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel two weeks ago, and it had unfortunately much more minuses than pluses...
The best first is the location far from the center if you don't have a car but in a very nice place with a stunning beach just in the hotel.Room also was very good clean and enough big witha nice veranda.
For the rest this hotel has everything to be a really luxurious hotel but in fact it is not really the case mostly because he needs some serious refreshing in different parts..In more we didn't have any water for shower in our room during sometimes the day sometimes the night.. Food in restaurant was very not good and services in the beach absolutely not professional...
But the most terrible is that is that you don't feel in this hotel like in an hotel because it seems that everyone from outside could come everywhere in the hotel and make absolutely what he wants there...it is really the first time I have this feeling.
Frankly for the price of the room I would not recommend this hotel but I recommend guadeloupe and the city of saint anne very much. It is really a paradise !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mattew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Looks like paradise...

The entrance of the hotel already shows you the stay will be very enjoyable indeed...
Good reception, welcome drink, ...
We had bungalow 8, very nice view over the ocean, nice terrace, kitchen, but a bit noisy in the evening because on the other side of the water the Club Med beach is located.
Nice infinity swimming pool with pool bar; lots of sunbeds
Below (steep hill) at the -small- beach also lots of sunbeds and a bar to drink and eat snacks.
The restaurant is very nice also, maybe the card is a bit too limited.
You need a car to eat outside of the hotel, reach the town, ...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyVdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloevialcollet, Responsable commercial at La Toubana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your recommendation.

I hope you will come back at La Toubana soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

There are a lot of hotels on the island of Guadeloupe. But none of them are 5 stars, regardless of what they advertise. This hotel is a good choice because the price is right and the rooms are really small condos type accommodations. Plus it is located right on the cliffs overlooking the beach. The beach access is right down a small path and you are there in a minute. Restaurant is located right on the cliffs and has great views. The hotel needs some updating but that is normal for all of the Caribbean. Nothing gets done fast. It also seems to have a lot of locals coming and going as it doesn't seem like a private setting. But this hotel has a great staff and decent rooms and is a good choice. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloevialcollet, Responsable commercial at La Toubana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Merci pour votre commentaire.
Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We just returned from a 12-day trip to Guadeloupe, four nights spent at La Toubana. The hotel is lovely, comfortable, and elegant with a good restaurant and beautiful pool and small beach. The views are amazing and the staff at the hotel and spa welcoming and helpful.

We stayed in Bungalow 6 which we liked because of its convenient location and privacy (our balcony could not be seen from any of the others) as well as its sea view. The facilities are well-maintained: the linens were soft, the king size bed comfortable, the paint was fresh, the air conditioning effective, and the spacious bathroom had a lighted make up mirror and large tub. The reflecting pools and gardens are beautiful and the rooms are kept spotless.

We had dinner at the restaurant the first night, sitting at a table next to the pool overlooking the cliffs. It was quite good and we were sorry to miss the special lobster dinner that was occurring the evening of the day we departed. Our flight was early so we appreciated the opportunity to have an early breakfast.

We spent many hours relaxing on the beach area. We prefer shade and there were lots of good options that still allowed us to enjoy the incredible views and breezes. My favorite drink from the beach side bar was the mojito and the lunches were good. As some of the other reviews have noted, locals do come and use the beach (no doubt supporting the economics of having a beach side bar) so it was a little more crowded on the weekend.

In the interest of setting expectations properly: the swimming areas are quite small (both pool and beach) and there are too many rocks and coral to allow an adventurous swimmer to safely reach the open water from the hotel. The local beaches in Sainte Anne and Sainte Francois are also better for "bathing" than swimming so expect to relax on this side of the island and plan your open water swims for Basse-Terre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloevialcollet, Responsable commercial at La Toubana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your congratulation.
We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the suite overlooking the sea. It was more like a two storey town house rather than a room.
It had a kitchen, lounge, terrace, downstairs bathroom with shower, upstairs bedroom with on suite and balcony. It is all brand new and stylishly decorated. Kitchen had quality appliances, there is dish washer, washing machine, fridge, nespresso coffee machine, blender, toaster, etc. There is also it's own little garden.
The hotel has a small private beach that they have created. It is inside a small cove which means it is fairly quiet. The hotel guests have the use of the beach beds that are size of king beds with what you can describe as beach mattresses.
The hotel is not too far from what is considered one of the best beaches in Guadeloupe, Caravelle beach. It is sheltered from the waves in the swimming area and quite windy and suitable for kite and windsurfing around the corner. It is a public beach.

The only 2 faults I found with hotel were

1. Dish washer wanted us to load rinse aid and salt on top of tablets. Given that we were self catering and only staying a week, it was sort of expensive to buy all of that for dishwasher, so we just bought washing up liquid.
2. No water for 2 days. That was an issue indeed and not very pleasant one.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Anne
7.0 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 22 in Le Gosier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#5 of 22 in Le Gosier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Sainte-Anne
9.1 mi away
La Metisse
La Metisse
#2 of 8 in Saint Francois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toubana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toubana Hotel & Spa

Property: La Toubana Hotel & Spa
Address: 4 On N, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Toubana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms : 32 sea view bungalows including 6 Junior Suites Ocean view, 4 Junior Suites Garden View and 1 Suite Ocean spread in a tropical garden. (bungalow quadruple = Junior Suite)Occupation bungalow classic : 2 adults + 1 child OR 3 adults + 1 child. Maximum occupation 3 persons. Surface area ≈ 50 sqm. Occupation Junior Suite : 2 adults + 2 children OR 3 adults + 1 child OR 2 adults + 1 child + 1 infant. Maximum occupation 4 persons. Surface area ≈ 70sqm.Amenities :Bungalow equipped with kitchenette, bathroom with bath tub or shower, hair-drier, private terrace with long chairs, chairs and table. Room: internationnal dial phone, flat TV, individual air-conditioning, safe box, 220 V electricity, a king size bed or 2 twin beds. Seminars : 2 meeting rooms ; 12 and 30 people, air conditioned, projection system, WIRELESS on communal part. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Toubana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Toubana
La Toubana Ste Anne
La Toubana Hotel & Spa Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing