We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Caravelle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our arrival started with Music and drinks and smiles. You can tell the staff enjoys working there and really wants to make your stay a great one. Our bags were waiting for us in our rooms. There was always something happening, yoga classes, trapeze lessons, tennis, archery (loved it), swimming, jetskis and more. The beach vendors which are allowed at the resort were not pushy or overbearing. You pretty much had to go up to them if you wanted anything. Being French it was a topless beach. And the beach was Excellent. I cannot say enough about the food. Unbelievable. The sheer size and selection of the buffet was magnificent. There were entertaining activities in the bar every night before dinner. And a grand finale trapeze show on the final night. Great!
Learn some basic french or bring your translator app. It will help. Don't shy with speaking French, they appreciate the effort.

Room Tip: If you don't get the ocean view you may still have a great view of the trapeze lessons and the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimBo_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    1,335
    395
    142
    70
See reviews for
1,936
858
219
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Amazing site, amazing kids club with Julie who really got my 2 years old confident right away, great food, food tennis class, a great vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boubounette88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have been going to Club Meds for all my life and.. have always returned. Thought, for once, I'd post a review…

Stayed (March 2012) at La Caravelle in Eastern part of Guadeloupe where weather is always great.

As usual for Club Med facilities, exceptional beach location - here, very quiet and sandy at one end, and remarquably suitable for windsurfing and sailing at other end. Configuration of beach also enables one to experience long walks along the ocean -twenty minutes- to nearest village (Ste Anne).

For tennis afficionados, superb facilities and, on this occasion, great pro facilitating tournaments and mixing up of guests according to proficiency levels. After one day, you easily find a few privileged partners for rest of week.

Buffets, as is usual for Club Meds, are plentiful and varied . Quality of food is quite exceptional for these kinds of resorts. In addition to main dining area, very quaint, secluded, and totally romantic smaller restaurant directly on the ocean at the end of the beach…for those who prefer quieter meals.

We had two very open and large rooms, for our teenage daughters and ourselves. Room service and cleanliness of high standard.

Club Med facilities are normally considered by some just a notch below comparable luxurious five star ocean resorts…except for those recently refurbished facilities such as Ixtapa (Mexico) or Les Boucaniers (Martinique)….but not a real issue,,

Club Med's real and unique ace has always been the variety of activities offered, and the enthusiastic quality of their staff (GO's), young and beautiful people from everywhere, who might stay on for half a year to two years at one facility before going on to other facilities…or "real" life…

The consequence is that you never experience the feeling of a resort with "long time full-time employees" who might, with the years, become "stale" or less enthusiastic about their job…

Club Med Guadeloupe is a must for family vacations… Our two daughters (12 and 15) immediately connected with a bunch of other teens on similar school breaks, and lived a full "summer camp" type week full of activities and new friendships..They are now connected by Facebook and are pressuring us to return next year...

Great for parents, too , it goes without saying… :-)

Room Tip: "Marie- Galante" beach units are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was there with my husband and our granddaughter, Kami. We had planned to do all kinds of activities with her but she quickly embarked on a journey with the "Mini Club", leaving us with a bright smile every morning and a few words of consolation: "You have to share me, Grandma; you get to see me all year long!" She won a medal in archery, we took many pictures of a happy little girl making friends and having an amazing time. A very special thank you to MARIE who is a very talented leader, funny, warm and keeping children organized through theatre performances and games; special thank you also to the TWO MARIE-MICHELLE who, with their hearts of gold, their humour and watchful eyes, kept the children safe and happy. I have nothing but praises for this wonderful team. When we left, Kami cried for a while, she didn't want to leave. Oh and yes, we also had a great time, my husband and me! Thank you.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet spot, the section "Grande Terre" is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarielleQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just returned from a trip to La Caravelle. I have been there several times. Had a great time as usual with a nice room and excellent food. The major change, for sailors, is that the Lasers have been replaced with Hobie Cats. I heard this was a Club Med-wide change. The wind and sea conditions require you to have real catamaran skills. The only downside to the place is a lack of American-style coffee.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arnie310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

First of all, you can't beat the location of this resort--perhaps the best sandy beach on Guadeloupe with a channel for catamarans to get out of the harbor area and a shallow bay at the far left end perfect for windsurfing. Next, the weather was just perfect--80's and a gentle ocean breeze.

As english-speaking with a little french, we were definitely in the minority (like 6 people), but never felt helpless.

If you are familiar with Club Med, they hire young people, train them, and send them to various resorts for running the activities. There are a variety of activities (included in resort pricing) at this resort: kayaks, catamarans, windsurfing, tennis, beach volleyball, aqua sports, archery and even trapeze. There is always multiple activities going on at one time, so you have plenty of choices. Some of these, you just show up at the event time or others where you reserve a slot. Either way, there was never a time when we couldn't do something that we wanted to do within a reasonable time. The GOs (gracious organizers), the young, mainly french people who teach and organize the activities were vary friendly and accommodating (with a few even excited to practice their English).

The food at the french Club Meds (in Guadeloupe or Martinique) is quite superb. It is all buffet style (there is a reserve-only, restaurant on site which was table-served), but it is quite possibly the best buffet that you will ever have. Almost every item seemed to be sourced fresh and prepared before your eyes, with separate stations for speciality salads, fruit, bread, multiple choice entrees, and dessert stations. The food was excellent. including excellently prepared foie-gras, breadfruits, and pates. Wine, beer, and most cocktails (premium brand liquor at extra price) are freely available at a beach bar or an open-air bar.

The french are still quite civil in that you don't witness many BB or internet addicts. Free wi-fi is only available in the open-air resort lobby or bar areas. C'est bien. There is a small computer room (3 PCs) available if necessary.

This is a family resort so there are mini-clubs for separate childrens activities. While we were just a couple, we were never bothered by any children activities or mis-behaving. We did understand that almost all of the children speak french, so that could pose a definite problem.

If you like perfect weather, french food, and lots of activities (or not), this is a great place. Our room was not the best (Basse-Terre building)-- small and a bit musty at first, so I would attempt to directly call the resort to get what you want.

We would like to personally thank several GOs: Phillippe, Victor, and Fred (boating), Marco (trapeze), and Elilene (windsurfing).

Room Tip: Marie-Galante are Ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We very much enjoyed our five-day stay at the Club. It is truly located at one of the most beautiful beaches in Guadeloupe. I was prepared ( after reading the previous TripAdvisor reviews) for the worst to discover the "bunker-like" reception area, only to see a truly-1970's bent giant concrete roof in the form of a manta ray, with huge openings on the beautuful gardens. Not something one would build now, but not out of touch either.

The restaurant and food was truly exceptional and of a very high standard, continuously varied, and fortunately with a more reasonable range of dishes and specialties than feared ( Club Med should offer a standard insurance policy against overweight for all its locations).

The sailing offering was excellent - it is the first year they have four catamarans available-, and the sailing team of GO's was +++. The morning hiking program was minus, with only two short walks of two kilometers, one left and one right, that's all.

The evening entertainmnent program in the bar were more decibels than content, but that could be due to our own rural petites natures....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPige0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Anne
0.4 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
924 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,296 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Sainte-Anne
8.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Caravelle

Property: Club Med La Caravelle
Address: Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Caravelle 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all inclusive resort on one of Guadeloupe's finest beaches. Located in the heart of the Caribbean, La Caravelle all inclusive resort is an ideal setting for a vacation retreat. Soak in the Caribbean sun on the golden beaches of Guadeloupe, experience island culture in the markets and shops of Point-A-Pitre, or treat yourself to the ultimate spa treatments at the resort's wellness center. With activities for both parents and children, La Caravelle is the perfect winter retreat for the entire family. Children, young and old, will be thrilled to take a class at the truly unique trapeze and circus school on the resort grounds. While the children try their hand at juggling, trampolines, or tight ropes, parents can enjoy a peaceful meal at one of the many beach side restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Caravelle Hotel Sainte-Anne
Club Med Ste Anne
La Caravelle Club Med
Club Med Guadeloupe
Ste. Anne Club Med
Club Med La Caravelle Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing