We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Sports”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Caravelle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Water Sports”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Our extented family group just spent 2 weeks at La Caravelle. The rooms though older were perfectly suited to our needs. In usual Club med style the food was fresh, delicious and interesting for the whole 2 weeks. But what set this resort apart was the sailing and windsurfing program. In 10 years of staying at this kind of resort this was the best place yet. The equipment was great and the crew were super helpfull and into thier job. These guys and girl were there because they loved wind sports. The instruction we got was really usefull for the beginers as well as the more experienced sailors in our group.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,335
    395
    142
    70
See reviews for
1,930
858
218
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were a group of 9, 5 adults and 4 kids of age ranging from 2 to 13 who stayed at La Caravelle for 1 week starting August 13th. I had stayed at this Club Med 15 years ago and remembered that vacation as very pleasant, good food, beautiful beach but very simple rooms and accomodation. That had been our last Club Med trip since after that, we tried other types of all inclusive clubs such as the Iberostar. Knowing that the Club Med in Guadeloupe had been renovated in the past years, we thought of introducing the kids to the Club Med. I was not expecting the standards of Riviera Maya 5 stars properties in terms of rooms, but I was very disappointed with the current state of the accomodation at La Caravelle. Very run down. The rooms are small, carpets needed to be changed and there was a huge smell of humidity. But one doesnt go to Club Med for the rooms...So, we were expecting more on the GEOs entertainment and on the "Club Med ambiance". Well, there was basically none. The Geos were basically not around and not really interested in making anyone participate in any activities. It was the last week before closing down till November and perhaps it is the reason why nobody seemed to really care about the guests having a great time. It started at the reception, where the people at the front desk are barely smiling. Same thing at the bar. Service is below average. Our kids played together, so they had still a lot of fun. Too bad it wasnt with Geos while doing activities. The beach is very beautiful and the water was very warm. Plenty of chairs for everyone. The food and the wine were very good as well. So, other than the beach and the food, this Club Med did not deliver on its promise to us. The Star Friends of Iberostar at all of the resorts we wentt to in Jamaica, Punta Cana and Mexico did a far better job than what we experienced in Guadeloupe. I was expecting this vacation to be a lot of fun for the kids with the Geos and that they would be able to experience the "Club Med", but that did not happen. We are not sure we would go back to a Club Med.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AssuntaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Positives
- the village is very well designed, since the buildings protect the main beach from the wind. This is actually the nicest beach of the island.
-The food is good and abundant
-The room is nice (we took the suite with sea-view)
Water sports very good, in particular for windsurfing: quite a big range of boards&sails and the bay is windy but without waves since it is protected by the reef
-Baby club from 2yr old onwards a big plus

Negatives
-If you do not speak a little bit of French it is hard to enjoy your holiday, just to give you an idea the welcome meeting on the day of arrival, where they explain how the village works, activities, etc it is only in French
- No internet available in the room, not even in the Suite, only wi-fi at the bar& reception, this is not in line with the category of the hotel
-other than CNN, the other 40 TV channels are only in French....

Unacceptable
-No lift: this is a family resort which accepts babies from 2yr old, how is it possible that there is only 1 lift and it was also broken for the entire holiday period? Going with the pushchair from the room (above all if you are on the 3rd floor and alone) to the beach or the restaurant could be a nightmare and can really compromise your vacation
In case you have little babies pretend a room on the ground floor, makes your life much easier.
-Not even 1 doctor in the resort: there are more than 600 guests and there is only a nurse 9-5pm with 2hrs off for lunch, and she hardly speaks English…. This is simply astonishing given also the number of families with babies. If you need a generalist doctor you need to go the nearest village which is only 15 min away, but there is no transportation and you need to book a cab... At least 2hrs in advance since most of them queue-up all day at the airport where there is the bulk of the business and would not accept a small ride from village-to-village! What if is it an emergency??

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaniRoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med La Caravelle, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments about your holiday experience at La Caravelle Club Med resort. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, food, room, watersports and the baby club.

In regards to your disappointment regarding the lack of English speaking, we are truly sorry. Club Med is a French holiday company but we try to do our up most to inform English speaking clients about our more international resorts that are highly recommended for UK customers. Unfortunately La Caravelle is not one of these resorts.

On behalf of Club Med, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family if one of the lifts was out of order at the time of your holiday.

Finally, we do provide the services on an onsite nurse to help GMs with any minor issues, but rest assured that, in case of an emergency, an ambulance would be called.

We now look forward to welcoming you again in one of our resorts in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Your Club Med UK team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neuilly sur seine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Not much to do in the club and on the island, but for the ones looking for a rest, with a wonderfull sight, beach, and with activities for chlidren, this is a very nice place to go.
Good spirit, great rooms (except the cheapest ones) and food. Service is below average (compared with other west indies locations), and in line with guadeloupe reputation. But the rest allow to forget this if one is not too demanding on service level.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pppNeuillySurSeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We traveled to Club Caravelle, Guadeloupe with another American family with a total of four children ages 11-16 for a week over the July 4th holiday. The staff at Caravelle was top rate and very welcoming. I can't emphasize this enough!! We went for "power" walks each day with the staff, participated in the water aerobics classes, played tennis and sailed. The majority of the GO's speak good English. Five other American families were at Caravelle at the same time so the club has a July 4th celebration just for us!! Our children LOVED the teen clubs and particpated in the trapeze and circus activites, sports, and theatre. One day they organized a teen excersion on a catamaran which our children loved. Over 25 teens participated in the camps each day and my children came away with tears when we left. My son celebrated his 16th birthday while we were there and they honored him by letting him pour the champaigne glass fountain (with apple juice). The Club is located on a lovely beach with plenty of sports activites. Although the beach is a "public" beach we did not find this to be a problem at all and we allowed our children to go where they wanted on the property. The rooms were clean and in well maintained. The property areas with the restaurants, bar and theatre areas were all lovely with views of the beach area. We had no trouble going to the second "sit-down" restaurant during our stay and there were no restrictions on how many times you made a reservation to do so. The food at the Club was tremendous with themes each night and many local and french specialities. We would go back and will tell all of our friends about this Club. Thank you to Bea, Albon, Julien, Daniel, Audrey, and the other GO's. We hope to see you again soon!!!!!

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms with our children. They were clean and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaA10019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We just came back from La Caravelle were we enjoyed every minute of our 2 weeks stay. The village is located on one of the most beautiful beach in the world and all the activities are close by.
The rooms are small but comfortable and the restaurants and bars are fantastic.
But what makes La Caravelle so special is the GO team.
They are available, friendly and very knowledgeable.
Special thanks to the Sailing team with Morgan, Isabelle, Philippe, Vlad and Adrien. Sophie, Clemence and Audrey were awesome at the Pool and we loved their water aerobics classes.
Gregory at the Circus was a true pro and was nice and patient with the kids, as was the rest of his team, Antoine, Virginie and Manu.
A special thanks to Virginie from the Tennis and Bea from Excursions who are both lovely and awesome.
Alban was really outstanding with the teens. He is a great professional doing a difficult job. The best we have ever met!
Amandine and Nora from Mini-club were really great with the younger kids and did everything to fit the kids needs.
Isabelle from Fitness is one of the best teacher you can find and she was adorable.
Irwan from the bar and his team will make sure you are never thirsty while the chefs of the restaurants make sure you are always full and asking for more.
Christophe and Evelina at the Boutique will help you look your best and were charming.
Last but not least, Daniel the General Manager assisted by Helene and Lionel did an incredible job at meeting all of our demands.
C'est chaud a La Caravelle!

Room Tip: There is a big difference between standard rooms and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Gs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The beach is really nice and there is no need to rush in the morning, to reserve your chairs. However, the rooms are outdated and not very cleaned. We were a group of friends (7 couples with children) and everyone had the same opinion. The food is excellent, and so is there "blush" wine. I will not go back, but we will definitely miss the fabulous beach!

Room Tip: Our travel agent sent a fax and call them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarieFrance70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Anne
0.4 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
923 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,296 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Sainte-Anne
8.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Caravelle

Property: Club Med La Caravelle
Address: Quart Carvelle, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Caravelle 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all inclusive resort on one of Guadeloupe's finest beaches. Located in the heart of the Caribbean, La Caravelle all inclusive resort is an ideal setting for a vacation retreat. Soak in the Caribbean sun on the golden beaches of Guadeloupe, experience island culture in the markets and shops of Point-A-Pitre, or treat yourself to the ultimate spa treatments at the resort's wellness center. With activities for both parents and children, La Caravelle is the perfect winter retreat for the entire family. Children, young and old, will be thrilled to take a class at the truly unique trapeze and circus school on the resort grounds. While the children try their hand at juggling, trampolines, or tight ropes, parents can enjoy a peaceful meal at one of the many beach side restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Caravelle Hotel Sainte-Anne
Club Med Ste Anne
La Caravelle Club Med
Club Med Guadeloupe
Ste. Anne Club Med
Club Med La Caravelle Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing